We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April 11th, 2014 stay”
Review of Hotel Diderot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Diderot
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Chinon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

On Friday April 11th, we stayed at the Hotel Diderot in Chinon with 7 people including two kids. Our time was perfect, the reception from the start and the hospitality was exceptional. we arrived late and the staff was able to make a reservation for dinner and old a table for us. The owner make his own fruit jam for breakfast, unbelievable. I will recommend this hotel also for their rates and quality of the room. All bathroom in the rooms are completely new and perfectly remolded. This is the best experience we had in our trip this year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franck K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Bonjour Franck,
Delighted to have replied to your expectations, and how not to take pleasure in welcoming such a nice family.
I hope you will not wait 10 years to come back to see your favorite winemakers.
Greeting to all your family.
Best regards
Laurent, Martine et Francoise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Diderot
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Hotel Diderot is a wonderful hotel! Laurent, Francoise and Martine are wonderfully gracious, kind and helpful. Breakfasts are delicious!! The hotel is charming. The rooms are pretty and very quiet. We stayed 2 nights and didn't want to leave. If you are in Chinon stay at Hotel Diderot!

Room Tip: Our room was at the top in the building to the side. The room was very pretty, a very nice bathroom...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

William Bonjour,
How do you not to be happy after your comment?
We are delighted to have responded to your expectations, and then, with clients so nice, it's very natural!
See you very soon to Chinon, for even more fun !
Your Host
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

From start to finish our stay at Hotel Diderot was nothing short of amazing! We were greeted by friendly staff who were full of knowledge on the area and willing to help in any way they could. The room was charming and clean with an awesome view of the gardens out the window and the bathroom was modern and immaculate with a huge bath!
Breakfast was an absolute winner, the homemade jams were exquisite! I recommend mirabelles and fig l'oranges.
We particularly enjoyed coming back to the hotel and drinking the local wines from their bar in the sunny garden area. I would definitely recommend this hotel as a must for any traveller planning a trip to Chinon.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JennaCoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LD4CHINON, Owner at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Bonsoir Jenna,
What a pleasure to read your report! and the picture is great, but now the white roses to your window, which were in bud are all open now!
I hope the rest of your holiday in France went well.
It was a pleasure to meet you, your enjoyment of life, your sympathy.
Say hello to Sydney and Parramatta road from me!
thank you very much from all of us.
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

What a wonderful little hotel! Quaint, charming, comfortable, great location, excellent hosts...what more could you want? My sister, 15-year-old niece, and I spent two nights at Hotel Diderot in late March and wish we could have stayed longer.

Atmosphere and comfort are equally important to me, and Hotel Diderot did not disappoint in either. Our recently refurbished rooms were charming, and the small private bar and breakfast room (located in the 14th-century, lower level of the hotel) were equally attractive. The breads, brioche, and croissants at breakfast were delicious...and made even more memorable by the astounding array of homemade jams.

The location was great...just a short walk from Fortress Chinon and several nice restaurants.

Hosts Laurent, Martine, and Francoise were friendly, helpful, and happy to offer advice on things to do and places to see. And Boubi, the handsome resident cat, makes a handsome mascot...even if he does prefer to be admired from afar.

I hope to return to the Loire someday, and if I do, I will definitely stay at Hotel Diderot.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spcadogsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LD4CHINON, Owner at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Allison,
You're back at home after a few weeks in France ...
You liked all our house, and all our services. It is with pleasure that I share your comments with my team, including our boss Boubi the cat our mascot !!!
Of course we will be happy to welcoming you again in the valley of the Loire.
Best regards
Martine, Francoise and Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This beautiful little hotel surpassed my already high expectations. We travelled with our 13 year old daughter who stayed in the room next to ours per our request. Both our rooms were decorated tastefully and both had newly renovated bathrooms which was a real treat. The public areas of the hotel were also a delight with exposed beams and a log fire in the breakfast room. Breakfast was such a treat with yoghurt, fruit, coffee/tea/hot chocolate, croissants, baguette and breads and of course the famous jams made by Laurent. Everything was delicious, we needed many more days to try even more of the many varieties of the jams. We were lucky enough to be able to park inside the hotel grounds but the alternative parking is very nearby. The hotel itself is located a very easy walk to a number of restaurants and of course the fortress. Chinon is so worth a visit as a base to drive around the region and also for the many places to visit in the medieval town itself. We look forward to coming back to the Diderot as we were made to feel so welcomed by Laurent, Françoise and Martine and their staff.

Room Tip: Room 15 was beautifully decorated and had a gorgeous rain shower. Room 16 was tucked away in the co...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter_jane_sing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LD4CHINON, Owner at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Cher Jane, Peter and your nice daughter
Only greedy, gourmands, can write a report like your's and it represents half of your comment! !!!
Thank you for trusting us for your accommodation in Chinon, I hope your trip was a success in Europe.
Merci beaucoup and may be see you soon in Chinon or Singapore!
Your host
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed in this Hotel for one night and were disappointed we could only spend one night there. Laurent, Françoise and Martine were the most gracious hosts. The hotel was clean, comfortable and charming. The beautiful garden was immaculate. We were made feel very welcome and the breakfast by the roaring fire was magnificient. The homemade jams and artisinal breads were the highlight of the breakfast which included fresh cheeses and yogurt. We cannot wait for the summer fruit harvest to try the recipes found in the hotel's cookbook. We will be returning to this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: The lower floor rooms with the exposed beams are wonderfully charming.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLWVMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LD4CHINON, Owner at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Chère Cindy and family
You have a wonderful family, you release a natural happiness and we are always pleased to welcome the sun in our little hotekl !
I hope that the secret recipe for brioche is quite easy to translate!
we hug you all very much.
best regards
Martine, Francoise et Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Very nice place, nice exposed beams in room with real antique furniture. Staff extremely friendly. Good selection for breakfast. Centrally located to discover the area. Loved it. Fireplace at breakfast very nice.

Room Tip: Room 1 was very well decorated and comfortable. Room 5 seems to be the biggest one but did not visi...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_French_Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LD4CHINON, Owner at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Bonjour French Canuck,
It is very nice to read your report, and that you liked our "old house", We put our whole heart, because she deserves it!
a très bientôt
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
0.5 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#6 of 15 in Chinon
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De France
4.7 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Agnes Sorel
Hotel Agnes Sorel
#3 of 15 in Chinon
153 reviews
17.1 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 4 in Villandry
293 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon
#5 of 15 in Chinon
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diderot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diderot

Address: 4 rue de Buffon, 37500, Chinon, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chinon
Price Range: £66 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diderot 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of old Chinon, nestled in the quiet and historic neighborhood of the Saint Mexme collegiate church, Hotel Diderot welcomes you into a 15th century limestone mansion, restructured in the 17th and 19th centuries. Hotel Diderot is famous for its marvelous breakfasts, offering a dizzying selection of homemade jams, delicious French breads, brioche and croissants, locally produced fresh goat cheese, honey and fruit juice. Close to the fireplace in autumn, or on the shaded terrace as soon as the warm weather arrives, the first meal of the day must be as unforgettable as the night that preceded it. Gluten-free breakfast available on request. Here you will find peace and tranquility ; you will experience the warm hospitality of a " tourangelle " residence, in the land of Renaissance writer Francois Rabelais, amidst the splendid vineyards of the Val de Loire, the landscape dotted with magnificent castles and unique gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Diderot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diderot Hotel Chinon
Hotel Diderot Chinon, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing