We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Diderot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Diderot
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Chinon
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on our way down to the South of France.
Chinon is a beautiful little town with many lovely restaurants
The hotel was beautiful with a pretty terrace.
Breakfast included an unusual and extensive range of home made jams!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LD4CHINON, Owner at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Bonjour Julia H
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
La France, hiding in the corner of each route and lovely scenery, you have to find it!
I am glad that Chinon was a real discovery for you, well situated on the road of your vacation, but deserves a longer stop, to discover its medieval charm.
See you soon or next year !
kind regars
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    161
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
121
515
27
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed in early April 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed my 3 nights, remember the delicious selection of jams and walnuts and cheese breakfast, the very friendly and helpful service in advising me of car trip tours into Loire Valley : Ambiose, Blois and Aziz le reduie .. not to forget the Chinon castle behind the old town and up on the hill.. driving my hire car into the car parking and the old town was difficult! .. very tight driving by Australian standards .. thoroughly recommended place to stay in Chinon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank mcb208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LD4CHINON, Owner at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you my friend from Sydney!

What a pleasure to read your comment.
It's funnyI imagine your driving in our streets of the medieval city. It's true everything is different in your country, larger spaces, I remember it very well.
I'm glad you had good memories of all the places you have visited. Remember, no, there is still plenty to see and do. and I will be happy to give you my address!
regards from Chinon
your host
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Park, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Hotel Diderot is a beautiful, charming hotel in the heart of Chinon. The restaurants and historic sites are nearby. The hosts Francoise, Martine and Laurent are wonderful. They are extremely helpful and welcoming. Our room was very nice. We arrived after a hot day of biking and the hosts welcomed us and our bikes. I highly recommend this beautiful, hospital hotel to all travelers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LD4CHINON, Owner at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Bonjour Dan A
At the time I wrote you may have to be back home in Florida.
We thank you for this very nice comment, especially to share it with the world!
Since your a stop over, the weather changed much, the days are less hot and it's easier for everyone!
We hope to welcome you to again.
Martine, Francoise et Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel was a very good experience. Everybody around the hotel was very accomodating, friendly and helpful.
Our room (No. 16) was very nice and recently renovated.
The breakfast was very good. They use different local suppliers for bread, juice, coffee, cheese etc. Delicious! Should we return to the Loire Valley, we would definitely stay at Hotel Diderot again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mossi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Owner at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Bonjour Mossi63
You have traveled hundreds of miles to live this experience!
You are also Europeen, yet our lifestyles and cultures are completely different.
This is why we travel, to live, meet, eat, drink things, which was not usual for you.
I'm glad you liked it.
Merci beaucoup
Your host
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I am a traveller from Singapore who stayed at Hotel Diderot a month ago. It is both charming and immaculate, and I enjoyed my stay there thoroughly. The highlight of the hotel must be its breakfast, which includes an assortment of bread, apple juice, goat's cheese, yoghurt and different types of honey and jam, all delicious and locally sourced. The family running it too were so lovely. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swt9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LD4CHINON, Owner at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Bonjour Swt9999 !
I'm sorry but I do not recognize your login name ...
In any case, thank you to give a greedy aspect of our house ....
We want to share with all of you, our visitors, our best local products, those we are Selected products in small quantities, and imposible to find in supermarkets or over sea.
that's why you travel, to taste, to see, to live, to meet other cultures and habits ...
Thank you for being one of our Ambassador!
Kind regards
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My daughter and I had the good fortune to stay overnight at this delightful, peaceful and charming hotel set in pretty gardens tucked away in the picturesque town of Chinon. We were made most welcome, arriving very hot after a day's cycling and nothing was too much trouble - including the reviving glasses of cold local beer served us on the flower-festooned patio on arrival. Everything was explained in excellent English, our elegant room spotless and the breakfast delicious - we have never seen such a selection of home-made jams! Great attention to detail and loving care is taken in every aspect making a stay here a real treat and we hope to be able to return again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LD4CHINON, Owner at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Karyn Bonjour,
Indeed, at the time that you are coming with your daughter the temperature was hot, and as you've done all your way!
The house with its garden has remained cool ... and with a local beer is better !
for your greedy pleasure! Today, I cooked blackberries jellies, and I am not sure to have enough at your next visit!
Merci beaucoup for this nice comment, to give the envy !
your jam maker
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We recently stayed at Hotel Diderot with our elderly parents and our teenage daughter and just had a wonderful experience.
The staff was warm, welcoming and helpful, the garden is manicured and full of charm, and the rooms beautifully decorated and clean. The town itself has unique medieval character and good wines.
This was just perfect. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelg14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LD4CHINON, Owner at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello Michel,
it is I who thank you for choosing our small family home for your stay in the Loire Valley.
there are clients that we never forget, for their kindness, and interest in new experiences ...
take care of you all
kind regards
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
4.7 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Agnes Sorel
Hotel Agnes Sorel
#3 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
17.1 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#7 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
23.6 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
12.2 mi away
Hotel de Biencourt
Hotel de Biencourt
#1 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diderot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diderot

Property: Hotel Diderot
Address: 4 rue de Buffon, 37500, Chinon, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Diderot 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of old Chinon, nestled in the quiet and historic neighborhood of the Saint Mexme collegiate church, Hotel Diderot welcomes you into a 15th century limestone mansion, restructured in the 17th and 19th centuries. Hotel Diderot is famous for its marvelous breakfasts, offering a dizzying selection of homemade jams, delicious French breads, brioche and croissants, locally produced fresh goat cheese, honey and fruit juice. Close to the fireplace in autumn, or on the shaded terrace as soon as the warm weather arrives, the first meal of the day must be as unforgettable as the night that preceded it. Gluten-free breakfast available on request. Here you will find peace and tranquility ; you will experience the warm hospitality of a " tourangelle " residence, in the land of Renaissance writer Francois Rabelais, amidst the splendid vineyards of the Val de Loire, the landscape dotted with magnificent castles and unique gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Diderot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diderot Hotel Chinon
Hotel Diderot Chinon, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing