We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnifique!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Diderot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Diderot
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Chinon
Certificate of Excellence
Los Alamitos, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Magnifique!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2009

Two girlfriends and I enjoyed a quick getaway to the Loire Valley and the Hotel Diderot was the accomodation highlight of the trip! Francoise and the rest of the staff were very kind and accomodating... couldn't have asked for anything more. The room was spacious and well kept and breakfast by the roaring fire was a treat! They have a multitude of homemade jams (that were delicious!) as well as fresh chevre with walnuts and honey to slather on your baguette.... delicious! Chinon is a lovely town and I look forward to returning to the Diderot!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynbose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    161
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
121
515
28
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

My husband and I stayed here in March on our honeymoon. We planned to just stay over only one night but we loved the hotel and town so much we decided to stay for 3 nights! The rooms are simple but lovely. There are different size rooms... as you would expect in a house. The first night we stayed in a smaller room but wanting a bit more space we moved for the next 2 nights to a larger room overlooking the drive and it was perfect. It was only 10 Euros more per night and I think that was a steal! The location is perfect just a short walk to shops and restaurants. The town was quaint and perfect for a relaxing weekend. We spent a couple of days sitting outside cute cafes in the sun and enoying reading and drinking wine in the courtyard in front of the hotel surrounded by beautiful flowers and a lazy cat. Perhaps one of my favorite things about the hotel is that they make their own jams and each morning there is an amazing selection of homemade breads and jams. I must have tried 30 different jam combinations! Yum!!
I highly reccomend making a stop over at the Hotel Diderot.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoLoSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2008

As Christmas and the cold weather approach us here in Virginia, my wife and I are reminded of our lovely stay at the Hotel Diderot, Chinon, France, in warm mid-May of this year. Traveling on a tour of provincial France with a small, congenial group with Odysseys Unlimited, we enjoyed the ancient city of Chinon and the charming Hotel Diderot.
The 17th century mansion, set within a graveled courtyard at the end of a quiet street near the Place Jeanne d'Arc, is a beautiful old building with roses and other plants enclosing the flagged terrace at the entrance.
We enjoyed a very comfortable room for two nights, with a delicious breakfast each morning of excellent pastries, a generous offering of a variety of homemade preserves, hot coffee or tea, even goat cheese and walnuts!
The friendly hosts spoke excellent English, and politely humored our "fractured French." We enjoyed wine on the terrace in the late afternoons, and received excellent recommendations for local restaurants.
All in all, we had a memorable visit, and plan to return privately to Chinon, and another stay at the Hotel Diderot!

  • Liked — The historic mansion and the wonderful hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about!
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Basstenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north shore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2008

We stayed her two evenings as part of a biking trip and had a fantastic time. The three owners are siblings who share their great knowledge of wine, food, french culture willingly and made the stay outstanding. The variety of preserves that are made from flowers and fruits in the garden are amazing and delicious.
This is a great spot if you want to experience the beauty of the Chinon region. Its very special and we would return in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — inconsistant rooms, some great, some not so much
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank topsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2008

We have stayed at the Hotel Diderot twice, most recently for 2 nights in April, 2008. We have traveled extensively in France, and the Diderot is one of our favorite hotels. The owners are very welcoming and have created a warm atmosphere in the hotel. The hotel wraps around a courtyard filled with flowering plants and palms, where it is a pleasure to have breakfast or just sit and read. The rooms are beautifully decorated in French country style and are clean, quiet and comfortable. Some rooms are located at ground level with direct access, which is particularly convenient for those who prefer to avoid stairs. Breakfast is a highlight of the stay because of the fine breads, cheeses and homemade preserves offered.

The hotel is located at the edge of the historic area of Chinon. The town of Chinon is very historical and has many fine medieval and renaissance buildings and strong associations with Joan of Arc. It is also perfectly situated for touring the chateaux of the Western Loire.

When we returned to the hotel this year, it had been 3 years since our previous stay of one night. But we were welcomed like old friends. The hotel is a labor of love for the owners, and it shows!

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MarcusPeregrinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2008

The room was small and smelly...musty! When we inquired as to another room, we received a brusque answer that there were none available. We were also informed that they were after all a 2-star hotel...as if "what do you expect!".
Having allergies to mold, we sat outside in the garden at one of the patio tables...only to be informed that those tables were reserved for paying bar customers. In the days we were booked there, we never saw anyone at one of the tables!
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Liked — the cat
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank girlsGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
241 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2008

We had never heard of the town of Chinon before this trip. But we were looking for a good location to visit several chateaux and this fit the bill. Not only was the location desirable, but the town itself turned out to be delightful with a beautiful old section. The hotel was quiet and decorated in beautiful antique furniture. The staff spoke English and their recommendations of local restaurants were very helpful. I would definitely recommend paying the extra fee to park within their courtyard as parking is difficult in Chinon.
The ONLY difficulty we encountered was their rule against eating in the room. Normally this would not have bothered us in the least, but I have been placed on a strict diet by a nutritionist for a health problem, and in our three week visit to France I had been relying on eating at least one meal per day in our room to accomodate these restrictions. So this was a bit of an inconvenience for us. Even with this minor inconvenience we wholeheartedly recommend this beautiful hotel to you.

  • Liked — Beautiful furniture, internet access, excellent bathroom, English-speaking staff
  • Disliked — Their breakfast was very expensive
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RamblingRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
4.7 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Agnes Sorel
Hotel Agnes Sorel
#3 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
17.1 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#7 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
23.6 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
12.2 mi away
Hotel de Biencourt
Hotel de Biencourt
#1 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diderot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diderot

Property: Hotel Diderot
Address: 4 rue de Buffon, 37500, Chinon, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Diderot 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of old Chinon, nestled in the quiet and historic neighborhood of the Saint Mexme collegiate church, Hotel Diderot welcomes you into a 15th century limestone mansion, restructured in the 17th and 19th centuries. Hotel Diderot is famous for its marvelous breakfasts, offering a dizzying selection of homemade jams, delicious French breads, brioche and croissants, locally produced fresh goat cheese, honey and fruit juice. Close to the fireplace in autumn, or on the shaded terrace as soon as the warm weather arrives, the first meal of the day must be as unforgettable as the night that preceded it. Gluten-free breakfast available on request. Here you will find peace and tranquility ; you will experience the warm hospitality of a " tourangelle " residence, in the land of Renaissance writer Francois Rabelais, amidst the splendid vineyards of the Val de Loire, the landscape dotted with magnificent castles and unique gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Diderot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diderot Hotel Chinon
Hotel Diderot Chinon, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing