We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Diderot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Diderot
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Chinon
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

Lovely hotel in the Loire Valley. The village of Chinon is quiet, but centrally located. We parked 5 meters from the hotel, in the Rue Diderot on the back of the hotel, where there was free parking which was very convenient and easier than to drive to the front of the hotel. Beautiful XV century house. Excellent staff. We had a nice room with view of the garden/terrace. Small, but comfortable bathroom. Good beds. Everything was very clean. It was wonderful to have breakfast on the terrasse under the bananier. Home made confiture, good cofee, lovely pastry and bread.
We also had an aperitif on the terrasse before dinner, so we got to taste some Chinon wines recommended by the staff. We ended up buying 6 bottles that we brought home. The owner recommended a great seafood restaurant 4-5 minutes by foot from the hotel.
We will definitely come back, next time hopefully by bike.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    161
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
120
514
27
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rolleston-on-Dove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2009

What a wonderful place to stay, the service is second to none with an old fashioned care that is missing from so many 'chain' hotels.
The rooms are basic but very clean and you are no more than a 5 minute walk from the centre of town.
As all the other reviews suggest, make sure you don't miss breakfast, the jams are excellent.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neets79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borden, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

My wife and I had the opportunity to stay at the Hotel Diderot for a single night on the way from southern France to Normandy. Our only disappointment was that we did not have more time to enjoy this quaint inn as well as its surroundings. Upon entering the enclosed grounds, located on a secluded street in Chinon, we were immediately impressed by the diverse array of blooming flowers, bushes and vines carpeting the inn and its courtyard. The in itself exudes warmth and charm. We stayed in a room on the upper floor and it was spacious, immaculately clean and beautifully decorated.

The chateau in Chinon was within walking distance. After spending a couple hours looking at the reconstructed chateau we had dinner in a restaurant recommended by the innkeeper.

A highlight of our stay was the breakfast, served with the specialty of the hotel - jams prepared on site. There were a dozen kinds of jam and we tried several - all were delicious. A recipe book for the jams was available and my wife is inside as I am typing this review trying out a couple of the recipes.

The inn keepers were as friendly as the environment they provide. Although I speak enough French to get by, their English was much better than my French. Although we try not to impose our language on others, the inn keepers were very gracious about speaking in English. This is not something we take for granted and appreciate the gesture.

Overall, the Hotel Diderot was as good if not better than advertised by the Rick Steves guidebook (he gives them a glowing report) and we certainly would come back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BurnsHollowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

We found the Hotel Diderot to be comfortable and charming. If you want the features (and blandness) of a big city, multinational hotel chain, then the Hotel Diderot is not for you. However, if you want simple charm, friendly service, beautiful surroundings (and the best jams imaginable), then it is for you. Our room, in the block adjacent to the courtyard, was simple, light and airy, and of reasonable size for a French hotel. The Diderot is a great base for exporing this part of the Loire and there are plenty of very reasonable resaurants and cafes in Chinon to eat in the evening. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the selection of home-made jams at breakfast simply astounding. (unusually for French hotels they could even cope with my gluten free requirements at breakfast).
We would not hesitate to stay there again - but booking in advance is VERY advisable, as it is extremely popular.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swarf_the_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2009

We stayed one night. the welcome was gracious and efficient. Breakfast surrounded by all that jam was first class. Excellent location for chateau visiting in the area. This is not a 5 star hotel with elevators and 24/7 service but then it was a 15th century priests house. Rooms are individual and there are ground level ones for those who don't want to tackle stairs.
Thoroughly recommended , we would stay again and for longer. Next time maybe the cat will talk to us. Merci Laurent and your staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SKItourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

This is a classic case of the people making the difference. From the moment you arrive at Hotel Diderot(and are met and greeted in the courtyard!), you are made to feel like the most important guests staying there!
We stayed in the main building which is just beauitful and found our room to be so relaxing and comfortable. The bathroom is perfectly big enough....(great shower with lots of hot water!)
We took our bikes and the hosts could not have been more helpful in recommending various tours.
In addition, every night, they would recommend restaurants for us to try local fare and rang ahead to check availability for us.
..and then there is the jam!.....You will never see so many different flavours and they are all just scrummy when loaded onto fresh bread and croissants.
We would thoroughly recommend Hotel Diderot. It is amazing value....far more than 2 star

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Butterfly75London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamitos, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2009

Two girlfriends and I enjoyed a quick getaway to the Loire Valley and the Hotel Diderot was the accomodation highlight of the trip! Francoise and the rest of the staff were very kind and accomodating... couldn't have asked for anything more. The room was spacious and well kept and breakfast by the roaring fire was a treat! They have a multitude of homemade jams (that were delicious!) as well as fresh chevre with walnuts and honey to slather on your baguette.... delicious! Chinon is a lovely town and I look forward to returning to the Diderot!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynbose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
4.7 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Agnes Sorel
Hotel Agnes Sorel
#3 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
17.1 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#7 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
23.6 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
12.2 mi away
Hotel de Biencourt
Hotel de Biencourt
#1 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diderot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diderot

Property: Hotel Diderot
Address: 4 rue de Buffon, 37500, Chinon, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Diderot 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of old Chinon, nestled in the quiet and historic neighborhood of the Saint Mexme collegiate church, Hotel Diderot welcomes you into a 15th century limestone mansion, restructured in the 17th and 19th centuries. Hotel Diderot is famous for its marvelous breakfasts, offering a dizzying selection of homemade jams, delicious French breads, brioche and croissants, locally produced fresh goat cheese, honey and fruit juice. Close to the fireplace in autumn, or on the shaded terrace as soon as the warm weather arrives, the first meal of the day must be as unforgettable as the night that preceded it. Gluten-free breakfast available on request. Here you will find peace and tranquility ; you will experience the warm hospitality of a " tourangelle " residence, in the land of Renaissance writer Francois Rabelais, amidst the splendid vineyards of the Val de Loire, the landscape dotted with magnificent castles and unique gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Diderot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diderot Hotel Chinon
Hotel Diderot Chinon, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing