We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”
Review of Ibis Styles Chinon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Chinon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We thought the service was terrible. We were only greeted once, by the night porter. In reception, although you were invited to 'help yourself' to tea and coffee, you had to ask for water for the kettle and when we asked for milk, we were charged for it. At breakfast, staff seemed more focused on laying tables for lunch than clearing tables- every day we walked into the restaurant to see messy tables. Every day we had to ask for food to be replenished and even for cutlery; needless to say, crockery was never cleared from your table. Rarely have we experienced such poor service, certainly not in a 3 star hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    220
    76
    28
    10
See reviews for
109
203
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Yes, the rooms have been very nicely renovated bu we stayed here during a hot spell. The lack of windows and absence of air con was annoying . With ventilation only possible by opening the patio door, this is a design failing. Nor did it help that the duvet was heavy and there were no sheet/blanket alternatives. Consequently we did not sleep well and the trendy design touches in the room were lost on us.
We were not happy with the restaurant service either - the staff did their best but they were young and under trained. At our evening meal we were asked for our room number 3 times by the waiters! The food itself was very good however. Next morning breakfast buffet items were not replenished and we had to ask for several items including coffee mugs , bowls etc. So... a few moans..... but, as others have said, it is an attractive hotel in a pleasant location. The new Ibis Styles are quite expensive ( we paid £100 a night) and aspire to be upmarket from the old Ibis but our experience with this one indicated that there is some way to go yet.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Togtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed here as part of a tour of France. We were expecting another "stopover" type hotel and were pleasantly surprised. It is a lovely hotel and we had a great view of the chateau from our balcony. The food was very good and the staff were brilliant. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms above the ground floor have balconies, Our room was to the rear so had a lovely view to the ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tubeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

Just stayed four nights with a group. Lovely hotel but seemed incapable of catering for two vegetarians, even with advance notice. One dinner consisted of some plain boiled rice and a few green beans. Such a pity as the hotel was otherwise very nice. Gave up last night and brought in our own food.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmedcalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed here for work for 3 weeks - A long stay, but the hotel was comfortable and staff friendly. The free wifi was essential.
Rooms have been updated and modernised -The hotel is in a quiet location just a short walk across the bridge into Chinon town centre with it's restaurants, shops and bars. Ground floor rooms don't have a view but higher floors either have a view towards the town and fortress or open countryside

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This hotel is across the river from the main part of the city and castle, but it is extraordinarily comfortable and quiet with new beds, balconies and in some rooms great views of the castle. An even greater surprise came with the two meals I ate at the restaurant. I couldn't believe they'd been prepared by a restaurant chef. They were that good. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a chateau view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chinon hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel De France
0.4 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#8 of 15 in Chinon
185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Plantagenet
Hotel Le Plantagenet
#7 of 15 in Chinon
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
912 reviews
4.1 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
497 reviews
3.1 mi away
Manoir de la Giraudiere
Manoir de la Giraudiere
#1 of 1 in Beaumont-en-Veron
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Chinon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Chinon

Property: Ibis Styles Chinon
Address: 11 rue de la Digue Saint Jacques, 37500, Chinon, France (Formerly Le Chinon)
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Chinon 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Styles Chinon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing