We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed and reasonably priced”
Review of Le Lion d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Lion d'Or
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Chinon
oxford/chinon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Relaxed and reasonably priced”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Taken over recently by a young couple, this is not a tourist restaurant, and the decor is fairly low-key traditional French hotel. However, if you want a well-cooked, generously portioned interesting meal, with rapid but not pushy service, this is the place to go in Chinon.

The menu of the day is always particularly good value, and doesn't rely on the cheap staples (i.e. andouillettes!); wine by the glass, carafe and bottle at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaumont37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    31
    25
    23
    6
See reviews for
22
33
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Quality is low of the products used. Starters are large meals to obviously compensate for the bad quality. Service was poor as there was only 1 waiter. Glasses on the tables were dirty, no outside view etc. Overall very bad!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmeuwese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chinon hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Stayed as family of 3, for just one night, unplanned. The room was fine, although the double bed was 2 singles pushed together. We didn't have any of the problems others have mentioned with bad beds and linen - it was all quite acceptable. Likewise, despite having a room overlooking the square/car park, it was quiet enough for a good night's sleep.

We had our evening meal in the hotel for simplicity's sake, and it was fine as i recollect (we are not gourmets, however!). The service was very good (as it was with hotel reception). The breakfast... well, it was adequate, but I've had better (and worse). And they need to do something about the light in the b/f room - it's a bit gloomy and doesn't really set you up for an energetic day!

FWIW, 3 people = $160 for eve. meal, room & b/f.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BUNGAY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

The room was fine, but the food was easily the worst I've ever had.
The staff refused to reduce the bill and our party left in high dudgeon.
I personally find the idea of chicken(overcooked) with shrimp sauce from a bottle repellent, and unlikely to be called "chicken americain".

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaldEagleBungay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, MO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

By the time we arrived to Le Lion d'Or, we had seen plenty of hotels - Premier Classe included. I really enjoyed the apartment-style rooms they had. Two bedrooms, a living room, a kitchen, and a nice bathroom were all included.
The town of Chinon is gorgeous. The river near it is also gorgeous. I would definitely stay there again if I had the chance.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meelah2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We booked this hotel for one night. We stressed that we would need wireless internet, because we had a very time sensitive internet business operation that had to occur in the middle of the night.

When we arrived to a rather smelly room, we discovered that the internet connection would not work. There was WIFI, but it would not connect to the internet.

The front desk asked us to wait for the manager, who appeared after ten minutes. When we explained the problem, he told us the internet would probably be on again soon. When we tried to explain that we needed to be sure, he exploded and shouted "what do you want me to do?" When we said we needed internet service he became beligerant. We went to the room to remove our bags and he followed us and demanded to be paid or he would not let us out of the room.

We had touched nothing in the room, other than to lay down our bags. We opened our laptop and showed that there was no connection to the web. He finally calmed himself enough that we could get out of the room. We sat in our car in the public parking lot across the street, phoning hotels. He stormed out of the hotel, opened our car door and told us to get out off his property. We manged to get the door closed and locked, after which we drove away.

The Best Western Hotel in Chinon proved to be very nice. And, despite not being listed as having WIFI, they did and it worked.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timb0nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2008

We stayed in 8 different hotels whilst touring around France and this was one of the best, despite being half the price of some of the others. Our rooms in the modern annexe situated behind the older building were comfortable, clean and quiet. Hotel staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — No views from rooms in annexe bulding
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank RogerRacoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chinon hotels
0.4 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#8 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Plantagenet
Hotel Le Plantagenet
#6 of 15 in Chinon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Agnes Sorel
Hotel Agnes Sorel
#3 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Boule d'Or
La Boule d'Or
#9 of 15 in Chinon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel De France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lion d'Or

Property: Le Lion d'Or
Address: 10 Place Jeanne D Arc, 37500, Chinon, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Lion d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Lion D'Or Chinon, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing