We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very French,will stay again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Plantagenet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Plantagenet
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Chinon
Saix, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very French,will stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Nice big room, clean, probably expensively furnished, but not my taste in decor-that's just a personal thing. We didn't have breakfast but the menu looked good and included real PG tips. Another nice touich was that whilst rooms did not have a kettle, there was a communal complimentary tea+ coffee making facility at the foot of the stairs in our block and in the main building lounge. On street free parking just a few paces away from the reception. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike-at-saix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    124
    52
    11
    6
See reviews for
33
154
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
187 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Upon check-in, my wife and I were greeted by a lovely lady who spoke French with a British accent. We were given a room overlooking the garden which was lovely except that there was no a/c.

Breakfast was of good value too, you can eat and drink as much as you want! I particularly enjoyed the croissants and drank 3 cups of OJ.

My only complaint is that there is no a/c (it was a bloody hot summer night) so we had to sleep with the windows open and all sorts of bugs flew in.

Also Chinon is like a ghost town with most of the stores and restaurants are closed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlvinChanJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with some friends this last weekend and would recommend it to anyone travelling to the area. The rooms were full of character, very clean & the beds were really comfortable. Floor boards a little creaky which meant fellow travellers were audible in the morning however this did not concern me too much. The breakfast buffet was fantastic, lots of choice, lovely fresh/homemade produce & even though we were sometimes still eating after the time allocated we were never rushed or made to feel uncomfortable by the staff, on the contrary we were told not to hurry.

The little garden was very tranquil & a real sun trap, we had waitress service when some more friends joined us & again the relaxed attitude & approach of the staff enhanced the enjoyment of our stay at all times. The hotel is in a great spot, close enough to explore the lovely Chinon but enough on the periphery to enjoy peace & quiet especially when the bars are in full swing.

I am so pleased we stayed at this hotel & I look forward to returning.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Really nice little hotel with traditional rooms overlooking market square ( free car park most days). Very friendly staff - upon arrival we were offered free OJ & almond cake while we watched Mark Cavendish sprint home in the TDF stage on their nice widescreen TV!!! A good start!! Bit of a blip when we were first offered a room in the annex bit - up in the eves & all wood panelled & a bit grim. Quick word to reception & we were moved to a lovely room overlooking square - very French!! No restaurant at the hotel & those suggested by the hotel were all closed but we found a decent meal in the main square 250m away.

The breakfast was brilliant - good quality everything - from the juice(in its own cooler) to endless coffee & fresh bread & croisants. Hams & cheeses also loooked good though I need to be seriously hungry to set about these at 8am! Very pleaseant staff - lots of smiles and friendly help in response to any question.

A great place to stay if you're "doing" this part of the Loire or passing through as we were. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugozero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balcombe
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We arrived late but that didn't seem to matter and were ushered to our room above the courtyard which was full of rental bikes! The hotel didn't have a restaurant but the receptionist suggested a couple of places nearby to try and gave us a city map with directions. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. Breakfast was a selection from a gigantic buffet to suit all tastes - enough to keep you going all day. Out of 12 hotels, this was one of two to charge us extra for our 2 Jack Russels (who came with their own beds).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

An older style classic French Hotel with a nice ambiance and relaxed atmosphere. The room was clean and the bathroom was adequate ,although a shower curtain would have helped to avoid the floor getting wet. My companions rooms' did not seem to suffer this problem.Well situated for the town centre and the castle. Very helpful reception ( the Proprietors?)who gladly assisted with restaurants available. A good breakfast was proposed and given.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnexRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

A beautiful hotel with great charm.Our room was clean and well decorated with tea making facilities . The garden /courtyard was a delight and the breakfast in the garden annexe wasvery comprehensive and a great start to the day. Would advise anyone to use this hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chinon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Agnes Sorel
Hotel Agnes Sorel
#3 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
3.2 mi away
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
#1 of 1 in Beaumont-en-Veron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#6 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Plantagenet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Plantagenet

Property: Hotel Le Plantagenet
Address: 12 Place Jeanne D Arc, 37500, Chinon, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Plantagenet 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Le Plantagenet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Plantagenet Hotel
Le Plantagenet Chinon
Hotel Le Plantagenet Chinon, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing