We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Plantagenet
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Chinon
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The Le Plantagenet hotel in Chinon is in a good location and offers everything that you would expect from a hotel Although not 5 Star the hotel is clean in a good position and offers a great breakfast smoked salmon homemade jam good coffee just what you need to start the day
The rooms although not large are adequate good comfortable bed
The staff are courteous which was very helpful.

Room Tip: A room at the front of the hotel if available opening on to the street would be my choice again
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenhall1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    128
    56
    11
    6
See reviews for
34
161
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Sweet charming little hotel with a small garden and clean well maintained rooms. Good breakfast also in a small room beside the garden.Friendly ambiance, warm welcome and a well organized group check in on arrival. Well recommended by me.Only negative was that no amenities are provided like shampoo, moisturizer etc

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the tiny garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelEnthusiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This typically french hotel tries it's very best to please. A group of us attended a wedding in Chinon and we stayed here for 4 nights. The rooms were very comfortable and exceptionally clean. The bathroom was newly fitted - great shower and warm.
On the down side, the walls are very thin - you can hear all activity from the adjacent rooms.
But overall, a great stay - made by the attention of the staff and the great location of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We just left after three nights. We had a nice stay and the owners were very nice, especially Hermine....their adorable Yorkshire Terrier. We had breakfast there all three mornings, the offerings were good, coffee delicious. My bf had a nice chess game with the owner last night. My only suggestion is shower curtains. The tub was an absolute delight but I like my showers. Rooms are clean but small. Location was perfect. Chinon is a very small town and its off season so it was reallllly quiet. the rain didn't help. I would definitely stay again. Thank you Martine!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaGirl0454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Just back from a lovely stay in Chinon where we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on a Groupon France deal. Staff were very friendly and offered advice on where to visit. Room originally allocated did not suit us so we asked to change - no problem and received a lovely room in the main hotel, quite large with bathroom and all nice and clean. Yes, some of the decor is a little dated but we witnessed work in progress to renew. Breakfast was superb with a huge choice. Easy and free parking across the road - watch out for Thursday's which is market day on the car park ! Would we visit again - Yes.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We stayed here 3 nights in 2010.
The rooms are a bit old fashioned but it is still a fantastic hotel. Bathrooms were very clean, well-maintained and the beds were absolutely very comfortable.
I slept in a room at the back of the hotel and it was very quiet, I slept like a baby.
Breakfast was truly wonderful. A lot of choice and all very good of taste.
Owners and staff are very friendly and the communal room is very cosy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Location is okay, but most hotels in Chinon have a fairly good location. Did not feel very welcome in the property. We stayed 3 or 4 nights. We had several days the DND on and still the staff went into the room to clean. Showering was sitting in a bath tub. The worst was when we settled the bill. We were originally told a much lower rate and the party we were traveling with had a different rate as well. The owner coldly said we do not have this price; oh well you had told us upon arrival. That was the end of it. We paid the entire bill and left. Would I recommend it or come back again.....everyone should avoid it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldEnjoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chinon hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De France
0.4 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#7 of 15 in Chinon
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon
#5 of 15 in Chinon
414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saint Jacques
Saint Jacques
#9 of 15 in Chinon
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Boule d'Or
La Boule d'Or
#11 of 15 in Chinon
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Plantagenet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Plantagenet

Property: Hotel Le Plantagenet
Address: 12 Place Jeanne D Arc, 37500, Chinon, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Plantagenet 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Plantagenet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Plantagenet Hotel
Le Plantagenet Chinon
Hotel Le Plantagenet Chinon, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing