We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfeito - Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Plantagenet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Plantagenet
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Chinon
Curitiba, PR
1 review
“Perfeito - Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Estivemos no hotel em janeiro de 2014 e fomos atendidos maravilhosamente bem, as acomodações são excelentes o café da manhã com produtos da região estava delicioso e nos levou direto para o clima de uma pequena cidade francesa. Preço bastante competitivo se comparado a outros hotéis do interior francês Altamente recomendado.
Saudações do Brasil.

We have been guests in this hotel in january 2014, service was simply perfect, the room was very comfortable and large. Breakfest with some regional products brought us directly into the atmosphere of a small french village. Prices are compatible with other hotels in the french countryside. Highly recomended!
Greetings from Brazil.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    124
    52
    11
    6
See reviews for
33
154
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
the pas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We are traveling thru the Loire valley and came upon chinon. This little hotel is a gem. The owner is wonderful and very helpful. Compared to paris the size of the room is huge and the showers are hot. There is a lovely courtyard with the breakfast area. I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herbinplaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had a family reunion in Chinon. Sister lives in France, us en route to Sarlat, then Forcalquier for Easter.
My sister found this great place, on its way up to multi-star standards. Huge room, great bathroom, very comfy bed. Very convenient for the centre - and especially the market, which is right outside in a leafy square! Aperitifs in the adjacent cafe under the same ownership.
And then a comprehensive breakfast to set us on our way.
Definitely on our list as a resting place when travelling north or south.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trencherman1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

A good place to stay and visit Chinon. Easy parking out front and beautifull rooms. We ejoyed a good stay with our dog and had a wonderfull time. We will visit again next year. Breakfgast was plenty and lots to choose from. just what we needed.


  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Citotel Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night in September. We had an attic-type room in the extra building (not the main one), and it was dark (and poor lighting) and musty. My husband had a horrible problem with asthma so we didn't get much sleep. Both the room and the bathroom were very dated. It was OK, but I probably wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Citotel Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed one night, and the Charm and Chateau of Chinon overrode any disappointment with this hotel. The room was clean and much larger than many others where we stayed. The large windows overlooked the fairly quiet street, a small park, and the river. As with other hotels on this trip, there was no lift, which we knew in advance. We had a lot of trouble with the key for the room- we had to ask twice for help- the staff was very friendly and happy to help. We turned the air conditioner on- I guess the room had heated up from sun all day before our arrival. For some reason, the unit was over the door and as it ran, it dripped water on the carpet. After taking a walk and visiting the chateau, we arrived back to the room to find wet carpeting. We simply turned off the unit and left it off. The bathroom was much larger than most, but dated and the tub/shower was a bit difficult to climb in and out off. It was very clean and well-kept up, however. The furniture and general decor were pleasant, but unstylish.
All in all an adequate, clean hotel, but out of all the places we stayed on this trip, the last one I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliFeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed for 4 nights here during a trip to the Loire Valley. The hotel is one of the best we have ever stayed in in France because the standard of service and the comfort, cleanliness and facilities of the rooms are wonderful. The breakfast is to die for - we stayed in an Ibis hotel on stopovers and only got a croissant and coffee and cereal whereas here you have home made crepes, cakes, jams, fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, fresh fruit juices, different types of bread and croissants, plus cheese and even smoked salmon and mackerel! It sets you up for the day at only 10 euros. The manager is delighful and the staff all speak good english and can't do enough for you. There is free WIFI, a lovely garden to relax in and a nice lounge with international tv channels and a well stocked bar. The hotel is also very well situated for the town's attraction with everything within walking distance and free car parking in the square opposite. I can't speak highly enough of this hotel and we will certainly return as we were made to feel so very much at home.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 42 on the ground floor overlooking the garden - it has a very modern bathroom and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babsstockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chinon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Agnes Sorel
Hotel Agnes Sorel
#3 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#7 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
#1 of 1 in Beaumont-en-Veron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon
#5 of 15 in Chinon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Plantagenet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Plantagenet

Property: Hotel Le Plantagenet
Address: 12 Place Jeanne D Arc, 37500, Chinon, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Plantagenet 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Plantagenet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Plantagenet Hotel
Le Plantagenet Chinon
Hotel Le Plantagenet Chinon, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing