We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service, good atmosphere”
Review of La Part des Anges

La Part des Anges
Ranked #1 of 65 Restaurants in Chinon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tours, France
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good atmosphere”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We ate here in April, just after Easter, so hardly the tourist season in full swing. However, the restaurant was full and people were being turned away - always a good sign.

My husband enjoyed the foie gras and the St Jacques (perhaps a sauce may have added to the dish), whilst I had the asparagus with roasted garlic and a lovely sauce (mmm!) followed by the pork belly, very tender, also in a good sauce and served with a carrot terrine. Desserts were good. Good local wine list.

The service was great. All was very good and we will return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stanleyalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    118
    17
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
2 reviews
“Delicious”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We chanced upon this small restaurant and liked the look of the set menu, both content and price. As it opened we asked for a reservation and as it happened that was luck as it was full from 7.30 and turning people away. A delightful one sitting meal served at a sedate pace, all delicious and reasonably priced. I totally recommend it and will return when next in Chinon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnmacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING DUO”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Having always been told never to trust a thin chef, that myth was exploded after our visit to this chic and neat gastro hideaway in Chinon. He is "Front of House" she is "Dans le Cusine"! Just how the two of them manage to keep it all together, with service accurate and efficient is scarcely believable! I had house=made Foie Gras and then Poisson du Jour. Something un-pronounceable but delicious! Others had delicious mushroom soup, black tomato salad with a savoury galette, followed by a delicious pork dish. Desserts were equally moorish!
Good range of wines. No wonder she is so slender! The place was almost full - yet all was calm in the kitchen.

We would certainly revisit if in the region.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trencherman1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cravant, France
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Totally delicious”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We know most of the restaurants in Chinon as we live full-time in France, and close by. La Part des Anges stands out for quality, creativity and affordability. It's a gem. Quite small, but like the food, the restaurant is perfectly formed, with some space upstairs as well as downstairs, and in the summer, a few tables outside. It's run by a husband and wife team. She's the chef and he does an equally great job at front of house. We've been there a few times now and each time, the experience is bang on the mark. Good wine list. Consequently it's one of our favourite places. We're lucky to be able to go whenever we like - and do. But for any holidaymakers coming to Chinon, please put La Part des Anges on your hit list. You'll have a great time. Reservation advised. 02 47 93 99 93

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mixiewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This One”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Our first thanks must go to the staff at the Hotel Diderot for recommending La Part des Anges. What an absolutely terrific find at a very, very good price.

As mentioned in earlier reviews, this tiny restaurant is run by a husband and wife team that really do a great job. He runs to front room, from taking orders, recommending dishes and wines, and collecting the fees. She produces the kitchen magic.

My wife, daughter, and I each had the 3 course lunch with a nice bottle of wine for 78 euros. The starter provided with the compliments of the house was a delicious pureed lentil soup with a very delicate cream topping mixed with just a touch of balsamic. This strange sounding combination, served warm in a large shot glass, was perfect.

Our main courses were a grilled white fish served on top of a bed of rice enriched with coconut milk and a brief squeeze of lime and a slow cooked melt in your mouth veal served with light browned potatoes and crisp vegetables. Both were terrific. For deserts we shared two cheese plates and a warm pear tart.

Although we are here for only 3 days we will return before departing for Paris.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RGT6416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Part des Anges also viewed

Chinon, Loire Valley
Chinon, Loire Valley
 
Chinon, Loire Valley
Chinon, Loire Valley
 
Chinon, Loire Valley
 

Been to La Part des Anges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing