We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice people”

Pierre et Bertrand Couly
Ranked #4 of 35 things to do in Chinon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Winemakers for generations we welcome you to our brand new winery at the entrance to the town of Chinon,built partially underground and covered by terrace of vines. Within a vineyard landscape you will discover the Chinon wine appellation by tasting our different wines.
Huddersfield
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“nice people”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We dropped in here on our way home to the gite for a wine-tasting close to home as it were. Being the 1st of May many such places were closed but they were open and doing a pre-booked party tasting. All very jolly but were were able to taste a good variety of wines from different years and as a result left with a case of selected goodies. Had a good chat with the young man about his time in New Zealand and why his family's wines are better. They are certainly good value.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank StefanMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    22
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cravant, France
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent wine producers”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

They've developed an iconic look chai. Their wines are excellent and you can miss the pinky red building opposite Leclerc in the business quarter. Bi-lingual staff who are always happy to give you a tasting and discuss their wines. Price wines slightly above average, but their wines are delicious. exhibition area as well organised by Paris based Nathalie Béreau.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mixiewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon with Sommelier at Couly Vineyard and Winery”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had been in the Loire Valley several years ago, biking the back roads. Unfortunately, it's difficult to do any serious wine-tasting while on a bike trip. So this time, we asked a guide to help us identify wineries that poured characteristically Loire Valley wines. Our most memorable stop was at Pierre et Bertrand Couly.
We tasted six wines, all well described by an articulate and charming employee of the winery. The wines were all accompanied by freshly baked baguette and delicious rillettes and rillons. Merveilleux!
One drawback to visiting wineries in the Loire Valley is that it's not possible to take more than a bottle or two home. The added benefit of Couly is that the winery has a cache of its wines in a warehouse in California, which allows for its wines to be shipped to US destinations at a reasonable price.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Prosprey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
1 review
“Lovely Visit in the Loire Valley”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We toured the winery in October which is a beautiful time of year to visit the Loire Valley. The owners of the winery were very pleasant and talked to us a lot about the history of the winery and how the wine is made. We ordered a case of rose and it was very easy to have it delivered to the states as they have wine already with the distributer in the U.S. We found this to be an advantage over the other wineries where shipping to the U.S. was not possible or overly expensive. I would recommend a visit to this winery.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent introduction to Loire Valley wines”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We visited the Pierre & Bertrand Couly winery in Chinon as part of a weekend's wine tasting in the Loire. After a tour of the facilities (we went during harvest time - second week in October - so there was lots to see!), we had a wine tasting session with Veronique, who was incredibly knowledgeable, friendly and spoke fantastic English. We tried 5 wines, and were also provided with some delicious local snacks. As a coeliac, I was incredibly impressed that my specific dietary request had been noted and there was a loaf of gluten-free bread for me! We were travelling around France on the train so unfortunately couldn't buy too much wine, but there was no pressure to so do by Veronique and generally the atmosphere was very relaxed and thoroughly enjoyable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pierre et Bertrand Couly also viewed

Chinon, Loire Valley
Saint-Germain-sur-Vienne, Chinon
 

Been to Pierre et Bertrand Couly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing