We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic apartment in beautiful town.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Chinon, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
jor922
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment in beautiful town.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Thank you, Nathalie and Vincent, for a wonderful stay in Chinon. The apartment was perfect - very big and particularly well appointed - pots, dishes, knives, oil, vinegar, milk, shampoo, washing detergent etc. The location is right in the heart of the old town, and the house and area is very historical. We biked and canoed in the river, drove to the Villandry gardens and Chenonceau Chateau, and enjoyed the Chinon markets and nearby town and cave dwellings of Azay-le-Rideau. Our 5 nights were only just long enough. Highly recommend this house, and the hosts are friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Big, clean and airy rooms
Liked least: Carrying our suitcases up and down the narrow stairs!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco0603...
Abbotsford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and 2 children (17 and 11) I stayed at Maison Rouge in Chinon for 2 nights the 2nd week of July. The apartment was amazing and exceeded all our expectations. The building was built in the 1400's has been kept wonderful condition for its age. The apartment has been renovated and maintains a perfect balance between original character and modern convenience. The apartment has a modern kitchen and very large living/dining area. The master bedroom is large and beautiful. The 2nd bedroom was perfect for the kids.

The apartment is located in the heart of Chinon, allowing us to easily walk anywhere in town. It is also located directly beneath Chinon's Castle built by King James II in the 1100's. Visiting the castle, with its rich history, was a major highlight of our trip.

We would highly recommend this apartment to anyone visiting Chinon and the Loire Valley.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location/size/historical character/
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheran M
Todmorden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"beautiful medieval home"”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

although the house dates back to the 14th Century, inside, Natalie and Vincent have created an ideal self catering apartment with every mod con we needed (including a washing machine and dishwasher). This is a stylish apartment with a large kingsize room and smaller twin bedded room. It is perfectly situated in the centre of this beautiful old town and near to shops and restaurants. The stairs to this 2nd floor apartment are very old and not level, so not suitable for people with mobility problems. However, I would highly recommend this property and will definitely go back again. Cheaper to book through 'holiday lettings", rather than "Airbnb"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
slowtrave...
Bled, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful welcome and a beautiful and interesting apartment”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
4
people found this review helpful

The apartment was a real pleasure: a beautifully restored medieval home that is historically interesting yet has all modern comforts. It was a wonderful place to stay. We were in Chinon for a week and enjoyed the city, its history, castle and friendliness. It was a treat to eat fresh produce from markets in close by towns. We found that in January some of the castles near by were closed so we travelled a bit further afield to see other amazing castles. We are all looking forward to returning to this great apartment. Nathaie's warm welcome, attention to details in the home and assistance added so much to our enjoyment of Chinon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all wonderful
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shdow
Parker, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

La Maison Rouge is a delightful place to stay. When we arrived, the host, M. Vincent Richard, met us with a lovely bottle of wine, explained how everything worked, and answered all our questions about Chinon. He even helped us to rent a car for our stay, and when we left, drove us to the car rental facility. The gite is large, roomy, and inviting. It is well equipped and very pleasant. We hope to return and enjoy this charming place again. The stairs are a bit steep, so it is probably not a good choice for handicapped or small children. Seniors would be ok as we are retired and had no problems whatsoever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing