We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loire Valley Gem”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property

Review of LA MAISON MARISSOU

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
46 reviews
Des livres au cas ou....
Un autre regard sur la Touraine
Le Barbecue pour profiter des beaux jours et de la boucherie du village...
Château d'Azay le Rideau entre autre
La Loire à Vélo ou à pieds !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chinon, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
SarahLR20...
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loire Valley Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a wonderful week at La Maison Marissou. The sun shone for our whole stay and we made full use of the private garden, eating outside every night. The house is in a beautiful village which is an excellent base to tour the Loire. Chinon is within cycling distance and we would recommend you taking your bikes or hiring them locally. The house is beautifully decorated with very nice french furniture throughout. It ticked all the boxes for us and we would definitely make a return visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2014
Bonsoir Sarah,
It is with pleasure that I share with my sisters this lovely comment.
Eating in the outdoors after a long winter and a spring without a name, I understand perfectly your happiness.
Furthermore, the circuit of the Loire bike is very easy for everyone, so close to the châteaux and vineyards that make the reputation of this part of France.
I am pleased that the cottage, its scenery, and the garden charmed you, we may be lucky to see you again in the futur.
best regards
Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyMcGi...
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perhaps our best Accommodation in France ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It will be difficult to convey how wonderful our stay at La Maison Marissou was in a short space! We come to France often, usually renting gites all around the country. This was perhaps the best accommodation we ever visited. The house is equipped with everything you can possibly need. It is spacious (there were 5 of us) and located in a wonderfully quiet village full of friendly people, yet near the larger city of Chinon. Laurent, Martine and Francoise were truly friendly, professional and accommodating in every regard. The outdoors portion of the property was well kept and filled with beautiful flowers -- truly a tranquil oasis. Previously we had visited the Loire Valley east of Tour on two occassions -- we found this area more peaceful, beautifuln and less touristy. I would absolutely recommend this gite to anyone planning a visit to the Loire. We certainly plan to return. Thank you again, Laurent, Martine and Francoise. Joe McGinty - Louisiana, USA.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2014
Chère famille Mc Ginty.
Your comment is for us more than a compliment, because it is not your first time in the Loire Valley.
We put all our experience, our love in our home.
It is the image of what visitors from over sea can expect from a cottage village, with its butcher, baker's, small bars, and small market Tuesday morning ...
Merci beaucoup
Your host
Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous well-equipped cottage 1km from the Loire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a super week here, using it as a base to do some shorter family cycles.

The cottage is extremely well equipped with all you could need. The garden is sunny and secluded, and the undercover barbecue area would be great to eat outside if it rained. The house is on three floors, so the owners made up the attic room for the parents, and the kids slept on the middle level - bathrooms are on the middle and top levels. The middle level also open onto the garden, since ithe cottage is built against a small hill. The kitchen is large and new, and a large utility room is behind. Wifi was great and there were many good things, some of which we used: games, DVDs, satellite TV, sun loungers, countless books, etc.

Location-wise it is 1km from the main Loire cycle route. It is situated on a spur off the main route,that goes to Chinon. Huismes is a few kilometres from Chinon. Huismes is a small village, but there's the essentials, a small shop, boulangerie, etc. We cycled to Langeais from the cottage (19km one way), but since much of that was on a shared car-bike section, after that, we drove to car-free parts of the cycle track, such as Tours-Villandry and Souzay-Saumur, both of which were perfect.

The owners were very caring and attentive, but not intrusive - they are not based in Huismes, and we saw them at check-in and check-out with a couple of text messages in between.

Overall, highly recommended!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Beautiful cottage, great location
Liked least: On road parking, but if the bikes were on the car, we parked behind gates on the property.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2014
Dear Simon,
It is with great pleasure that I discovered your comment, we are very happy that your overall stay went well.
We wanted to share this house with you, to make you discover in the best conditions, landscapes, specialties of the village wines of the Loire castles by dixaine ... all so that this part of the Loire Valey, makes you want to come and see us.
Au revoir, à bientôt
Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
378Jennif...
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to stay for a week or longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

One if the best places we've stayed in France, beautiful accommodation with everything you could want plus more! Excellent quality and value for money.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2014
Bonsoir Penny,
When I wrote to you, you are certainly back home in Louisiana, and once again, thank you for the music CD, your son gave as a gift.
We are pleased to inform you pleased your stay with us, maybe next time when you visit France.
See you soon
Your host
Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Maastricht, The Netherlands
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Jul 2014
Bonjour ADk,
C'est avec retard, mais joie que je réponds à votre très sympathique rapport.
vous avez été nos premiers visiteurs, nous étions fort heureux de commencer avec d'aussi gentils clients.
Peut être à bientôt, il reste tant de vignobles à decouvrir.
Cordialement,
Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in February 2017
Google Translation
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2017
Merci beaucoup pour votre gentil commentaire. Nous avons été ravis de faire votre connaissance et surtout très heureux de savoir que vous avez non seulement apprécié la Maison Marissou mais aussi le village de Huismes qui mérite effectivement le détour.
Merci encore à vous !
Françoise, Martine et Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lepetitlo...
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
Google Translation
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2016
Belle maison pour clientes adorables ! Vous recevoir était un vrai bonheur et nous sommes enchantés que vous ayez apprécié le lieu et les ondes positives qu'il dégage ! Nous espérons vous revoir un jour prochain dans la Vallée de la Loire pour achever votre exploration de la région et vous "munir" de nouvelles confitures ! Merci encore à vous et bonjour à votre si belle Suisse.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing