We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a wonderful spot!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of LA MAISON MARISSOU

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Des livres au cas ou....
Un autre regard sur la Touraine
Le Barbecue pour profiter des beaux jours et de la boucherie du village...
Château d'Azay le Rideau entre autre
La Loire à Vélo ou à pieds !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chinon, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Tansay
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What a wonderful spot!”
Reviewed 9 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I have rented a number of gites in France over the past 12 years. This was one of THE best! The home itself was beautifully updated, while maintaining its heritage charm. The kitchen was wonderful -- we cooked a number of meals at home (ground floor for North Americans or RDC in France). The sitting room on the first floor (second floor to North Americans) was really comfortable and that's not always the case in rental properties we have found. The chesterfield and chairs were definitely comfy for sitting and reading at length one rainy afternoon. There were a variety of games and DVDs also provided. The corner desk was a great spot to catch up on the computer (internet access was very quick). We chose the attic floor as "our" space with terrific skylights that let in refreshing breezes (and the sounds of the countryside). The bed was comfortable and the shower/toilet room on this floor was great for us. The stairs are tricky -- you do need to keep your wits about you on the 2 spiral stair cases in this gite. I wouldn't suggest this property for anyone with mobility issues or with small children.

My husband's sister in law and her daughter joined us for part of our stay. They were very happy in the first floor bedroom and had a bathroom of their own. The village itself even tho' only 15 minutes from Chinon had everything you could ask for: a great little pub, boulangerie/patisserie, epicerie, boucherie, and a restaurant. Sitting in the town square for a drink, listening to the bells chime from the church across the way, smelling the fragrance of the beautiful flowers, knowing we were just a block away from our home away from home...well it doesn't get much better than this.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: great kitchen; comfortable sitting room; bathroom for each bedroom; location is perfect!
Liked least: getting out of bed in the attic bedroom -- mind your head!; the parking spot off the street is rather tight -- but there's no problem parking on the street.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2015
Chers Amis,
You, well explained, our home, our village, where we were for the weekend with our parents.
We have modernized the facilities, you enjoyed, style, decor, ambiance very French of our house.
You will be always welcome, and we keep good memories of you.
We wish you great discoveries, around the world.
Laurent and his sisters
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebHadley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Luxurious Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at La Maison Marissou last summer for 1 week and wished we could have stayed longer. The stone walled house has been renovated to a very high standard with a beautiful colour scheme. We were a little concerned at booking time that the owners are French and we couldn't pay through Trip Adviser, but they are a delightful couple. Our car broke down whilst we were there and they couldn't have been more helpful. The village is very pleasant and easy on the eye with a market and decent butcher and baker. A reasonable knowledge of the French language definitely comes in handy and I would recommend taking out the cleaning supplement to ensure the incredibly high standard is maintained. Overall, a joy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stylish decoration and the private, sunny garden.
Liked least: Large roof space bedroom a little hot for me in July, although fans provided.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2015
I remember very well the broken car radiator.
Indeed what history, long insurance contact, timely unbelievable support. and finally the solution of the small garage in the village, which allowed you to hit the road.
Thank you for choosing us, and to facilitate trade, we now have the payment via Tripadvisor.
I wish to your beautifull family all the best
kind regards
Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie2112...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday base: La Marissou exceeded all expectations”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We spent a week at this beautiful cottage in the delightful little village of Huismes in August. From the first email contact to handing back the keys (sadly) at the end of our stay, owners Laurent, Martine and Francoise were professional, helpful and kind. The cottage has been lovingly restored and furnished, and, unlike many holiday rentals, feels like home. The village shops, bar and auberge are a 5 minute walk and the historic town of Chinon a short drive away. Don't miss market day at Chinon.

We were attracted to this cottage because it has two double bedrooms suitable for adults, and we were not disappointed. Each bedroom is comfortably furnished with good quality beds and has its own well-appointed bathroom. Yes, the cottage is over three levels, but we had no problems with the stairs and we are "mature" travellers. The garden is delightful with plenty of places to sit and relax and we made daily use of the covered BBQ area. Martine keeps the cottage spotless and everything works. Bravo! The wifi was the best we experienced in 10 weeks of travelling through Europe. The kitchen was stocked with basics and we appreciated the chilled wine and Laurent's famous jams. Yum.

This is a lovely part of the Loire Valley. Not quite so touristy as some parts of the Loire, but with beautiful chateaux within easy reach. We rented a car at the TGV station at Tours and recommend a car (or bike) for ease of sightseeing.

Don't hesitate to book this exceptional cottage. We guarantee you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: We could not fault it
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2015
Bonjour mes Amis,
Your comment is very laudatory!
I do not know what to say; you have all described, our village, shops, rooms, garden, barbecue area, cleanliness ... you do not even have forgotten jams!
This year, thanks to you will be a great year, we indeed decide to manufacture our jams because the purchase request is important.
Thank again see you in the futur in the Loire Valley.
Sincerely
Your host
Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberta R
Hamilton, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were welcomed to our accommodations with a bottle of local wine (Vin de Ligre), homemade jams and basics to start our week off. The cottage had all the modern conveniences and was nicely situated in a charming village called Huismes. The WiFi connection was great, and the beds were comfortable. For those over 60 (we are), keep in mind that there are 3 levels, and the stairs to the attic bedroom are a bit difficult, but we managed. Everyone in the village was very kind and friendly, as were Martine, Laurent and Francoise. They suggested that we part at their hotel in Chinon on market day there, and provided lots of information about the area. My only regret is that we didn't have enough time there. I would have loved to rent bicycles and do some cycling. Perhaps another trip?!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: location in small village and modern conveniences
Liked least: stairs to attic bedroom
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2014
Hello from Huismes, which have taken the colors of winter.
Thank you for your comment regarding the equipping and the comfort of la Maison marissou.
I have never thought you had more than 60 years! and so great! I orgnise you for your next visit, bike rental and many scenic trails to ride. If you do not have the courage, you can rent electric bikes !! I tease you !!!
I wish you a merry Christmas and a happy New Year.
kind regards
Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail L
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodation in wonderful Loire Valley”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

What wonderful memories we will always have from our stay here. Laurent and his sisters Martine and Francoise were wonderful and welcomed us to their beautiful family gite. It is in a gorgeous little village, complete with an award winning butcher, a delicious belangerie/patisserie, a tiny mini-mart and a wonderful cafe/bar. The accommodation, built from local stone was beautiful, tastefully decorated with a gorgeous garden. Very neat and clean...the kitchen was so well equipped, the BBQ in the outside pergola was great. Each of the two bedrooms were room with generous ensuite bathrooms. Set on three levels, with a lovely lounge and country style kitchen with homemade jam on the large wooden table to greet us...just gorgeous. We stayed with another couple and had plenty of room. The family seemed to have thought of everything we could possibly need for our stay. Hired a car, which we would recommend as the surrounding area is well worth visiting - lots of picturesque and historic chateaux and wineries to see. Everyone in the town, which is an easy and short walk away were very friendly, especially Stephano in the Jeane D'Arc Bar, who we shared lots of evening laughs with while we all practiced our language skills. We have no hesitation in recommending this place for an amazing experience that will stay forever in your heart. Thankyou

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2014
Bonjour from foggy Huimes today
What a joy to read, and what nice comment for all the small village of huismes.
I repond late, because we had a lot of work this late in the season, and little problems of health, we keep our mom home now.
We hope to see you again, for your good humor and zest for life!
Best regards
Martine Francoise et Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah S
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We enjoyed a wonderful week at La Marissou in the Loire Valley.”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were warmly welcomed by Laurent and his sister Martine. The gite had everything and more that made our stay comfortable. The kitchen was very well equipped and they even had a bottle of wine chilled in the fridge for us. Everything was very clean and there was a nice undercover outdoor bbq area and garden. It is situated in a beautiful little village. A short walk down the road there is a butcher, patisserie, restaurant, small grocery store and a bar. Whilst little English was spoken in the village, we had fun trying to communicate with the locals, who made us welcome in the shops. We enjoyed a drink at Stefano's bar every afternoon and both the patisserie and butcher had amazing food. You definitely need a car so you can visit all the nearby towns, wineries, chateaux, restaurants etc. My husband and I were travelling with another couple and the gite easily accommodated two couples. The kitchen and laundry are on the ground floor, the lounge, one bedroom and bathroom on the first floor and another bedroom and bathroom on the top floor. The wi-fi worked well. I can highly recommend this gite to anyone who wants to experience a small village in France. Thank you to Laurent and his two sisters for making our stay stress free.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
Hello Deborah
I do not know if it's the fact that you are Autralien, but you left a wonderful memories in the head of the people from the village.
The bar's terrace of Stephan looked empty since your departure, there are still "millefeuille" in the la Patisserie, and the butcher's Shopwindow is full of good meat, ready to be grilled on the barbecue !
We had a very good contact during your booking, and we had excellent contact during your stay.
Thank you for your good humor,
Hope to see you soon.
Martine, Françoise et Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retired-p...
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best holiday home we've stayed in”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This gite near the Loire River is the most comfortable and well equipped holiday home we have stayed in, and as the photos show - it is beautifully furnished, the kitchen has every utensil and dish you could want, the garden is very pretty, and there is a covered BBQ area big enough for 8 people to relax round a table. Everything was spotless. Laurent and his sisters were helpful and charming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and outside eating area, although would most like the salon if the weather was bad
Liked least: Staircase to top floor is narrow and steep
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2014
Bonsoir Chers Amis,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice comment.
We are pleased to have answered your expectations, and even more!
Maybe we will have the pleasure to welcome you on your next visit to the Loire Valley?
thank you very much
give my regards to England
your host
Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing