We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, quirky hotel - we will return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Au Sans Souci
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Chinon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was actually our second visit. The owners are friendly and helpful, the bed huge and comfortable. pgbDublin has said it all. We are already booked to return.

Conveniently (for us) located on the D road through Chinon.

Do not be put off by it's odd location in an industrial estate - it is surrounded by flowers. And don't miss the fake palm tree. I've never seen the coconuts lit up but maybe next time....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jglush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

Friendly owners, who are extremely hospitable. Everything was perfect, rooms, bathrooms and breakfast. Spotlessly clean throughout. Good range at breakfast, in a bright breakfast room. Small patio to the side for relaxing.
Fast, free WiFi. Very secure parking, gates locked at 22:00, guests open with room key.
It is outside of the town, but we will definitely return and have no hesitation recommending.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pgbDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The owners of the Sans Souci hotel should be justly proud of their excellent management of this hotel. They have a knack of seeing to everything professionally and calmly. It's very appreciated when the welcome is polite and you really get an impression that you are in helpful hands. The situation is quiet even though the hotel is by a road, and it is possible to sleep with the windows open. The room was very clean and the bathroom spotless.Breakfast was copious and everything was topped up regularly, so you weren't disadvantaged by coming down later. Parking is free and gated after 10 or 11 at night. Thank you for making our visit "vraiment sans souci".

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Zharko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

one of the best hotels i stayed in on my 30 day drive through the french country side. it is about 2k from the center of chinon and you would need a rental car to use this hotel. i arrived at around 1300 from my last stop at blois. the owners are very nice, they are very helpful , i was able to check in and they helped me with the sites in chinon room my room was on the top floor. their is no lift but after eating all the great french food the walk up would do me some good. the room which was a double bed was very large compared to the hotels i had allready booked. it also had a very large bathroom with a bathtub. this was a very pleasent surprize comparded to the budget hotels i had been staying in.they had some of the smallest bathrooms i have have seen i did not pay for breakfast but many peopl;e seemed happy eating in their dinning room. parking is easy and safe as they have a automatic gate.i stayed in 10 hotels and this is the best hotel for price and comfort. it is also within walking distance of a very large electric shopping center which is like a walmart in the us has everything you would need for your very pleasent stay at this hotel when I return to chinon, for the size of the city which also has one the the best street markets i would return to this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrrocko69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Welcoming (even to a couple of soaking wet cyclists!), clean, helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast an amazing spread
Note: there are three cats and a dog living onsite (friendly)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wandereringkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chinon hotels
1.9 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#7 of 15 in Chinon
193 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon
#5 of 15 in Chinon
450 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Agnes Sorel
Hotel Agnes Sorel
#3 of 15 in Chinon
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
921 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De France
2.0 mi away
Saint Jacques
Saint Jacques
#10 of 15 in Chinon
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Au Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Au Sans Souci

Address: 1 allee Jacqueline Auriol | ZA Plaine des vaux N°2, 37500, Chinon, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chinon
Price Range: £48 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Au Sans Souci 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Au Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Au Sans Souci Chinon, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing