We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the BEST stay of our entire European vacation of 32 days!”
Review of Logis Saint Mexme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Logis Saint Mexme
Ranked #4 of 24 Chinon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kyoto, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“the BEST stay of our entire European vacation of 32 days!”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I'm just sorry that TripAdvisor doesn't have a 6 star rating system since this B&B richly deserves 6 stars!. Consider yourself lucky if you get to stay here! No need to repeat all the wonderful things that everyone else had written..Believe me, it's all true and all the praise has been earned! (This is not always true with review for other places, I have found!) We had the super sized suite facing the church. Our sitting room was so large my wife thought we were in the lobby of the "hotel". The suite fronts on narrow lane and church parking lot. Since I had read that it could get noisy at times, I was a bit worried! The noisiest thing that happened was a lady quietly walking her dog and an old man sitting in front of the church! Plus, the windows have shutters that can be closed to keep the room totally dark in the early morning for late sleepers. The stereo system with lots of great CDs made us feel right at home! The mineral water in the frig is free and just Euro 1 for the various juices! A great and appreciated service! The bathroom was very modern and larger than some of our entire rooms at other B&Bs! Jean-Michel speaks the best English of any French person I have ever met in France! This is his and Helene's work of love! They really enjoy helping travelers get the most out of there vacation to Chinon and France! I would go back to France just to stay here..Hopefully, next time it will be for a week, not just one delightful night!

Room Tip: Go for the large suite..you won't be sorry you did! It's FANTASTIC!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spencer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
99
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed here for the first 3 nights of our month in France. Couldn't think of a nicer way to start our holiday, particularly after a very tiring trip from Australia. The B&B is only a short walk to central Chinon, which is a lovely old town to explore. Our hosts, Helene and Jean-Michel are very friendly and obliging. We decided to have a picnic in their backyard one evening and they set up a table, gave us some plates and cutlery, as well as some fruit and delicious home made chocolate cake! They provided good guidance and suggestions on where to find things and things to do, restaurants to go to, etc. There are very nice restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

If you like intimate settings, this is the place to be. The suite Saint Mexme, overlooking from its romantic balcony a 16th century chapel, and in itself part of the convent's original 16th century compound, is very spacious. The large living room with a comfortable récamier and an overstuffed armchair, is further furnished with exquisite antiques and all the comforts of your own home -- a fully stacked bookcase with numerous books about the region, a large selection of classical music cd's etc. The bedroom is also furnished with tasteful French antiques, the full bathroom is expansive with a private toilet. The breakfast room overlooks the private walled garden. The owner's attention to the smallest detail is so refreshing and most appreciated. The daily assortment of multi-grain breads, baguettes, mouth-watering croissants, fresh fruit, yoghourt, put you immediately on the right footing to start your day exploring the city of Chinon and the beautiful region. Highly recommended for a multi-day stay to visit the more eastern part of the Châteaux de la Loire region. You won't be disappointed.
A word of caution: book ahead, this place appears to thrive on word of mouth recommendations, and remember, no credit cards are accepted.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGD54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We spent four days in Loire Valley in mid-October. We could not be happier with our charming bed and breakfast in Chinon. Both rooms are charmingly furnished, extremely functional, and scrupulously clean. There is a small refrigerator in the hallway stocked with juice and water, and of course to chill the champagne we carried from Eparnay. The breakfast of juice, coffee, baguette and other breads, yogurt, fruit and cereal was offered at the time of our choosing in a sunny dining room with a view of the garden. They were kind enough to help us with reservations, directions, and a technical problem with our car rental company.

Room Tip: The jardin room is spacious and has a nice view and a shower. The suite is has a comfortable sittin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travlnbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My husband & I spent 6 nights at the beginning of October in this charmingly restored ancient building decorated in a chic antique manner with tastefully patterned wallpaper and a variety of second-hand furniture & fittings which blended in well with Helene & Jean-Michel's decorating style. Our room (accessed by a spiral stone & oak tread staircase) was the Chambre Jardin which, obviously, over-looked the private and well-stocked walled garden... a sunny oasis when the sun shone! We loved the decor of our spacious bedroom and the quirky, colourfully tiled shower/toilet room. I found a few moments to browse thro' Jean-Michel's small collection of hundred yr-old leather-bound prayerbooks arranged on a tiny wall shelf in our room - beautiful! There was an adjoining, but separate, single bedroom that could also accommodate an under five-yr old on a small sofa bed. There was the usual tea/coffee tray available with access to free bottled water from a small fridge on the landing and reasonably priced fruit juices. Helene was a charming hostess who spoke excellent English and was discreet & helpful to us and our fellow guests. The breakfasts (served in a lovely room facing into the garden thro' a rose garlanded window) were the usual Continental type with a range of croissants, bread, fruit. yogurt, jams & honey - enough to give us a good start to the day!. I liked the various crockery sets we were served from ultra modern to antique. Helene was fastidious about changing towels daily and the bed linen twice during our stay.... even tho' we said we'd be happy to be eco-friendly and have less changes! We met Jean-Michel at the weekend (and son Baptiste) who were charming too... Jean-Baptiste recommended his favourite Chinon restaurants, l'Oceanic, a fish restaurant, and Les Annes 30 (of which details under their websites) where we had excellent meals. Edgar, the pug-like family dog, is young and enthusiastic about meeting visitors, but is kept well under control and is not allowed to make himself a nuisance! There is easy access to a wide range of restaurants, cafes and shops within a few minutes walking distance of Logis Saint Mexme and parking nearby was no problem at any time & perfectly safe even for our obviously GB car. All in all Logis Saint Mexme, and Chinon itself, is a great place in which to spend a few days, or more, with an abundance of eating places requiring only minutes of walking and central to visiting the Loire region and its gardens & Chateaux. Thank -you Helene & Jean-Michel for making our stay so enjoyable!

Room Tip: Both rooms are good... if you want more space for sitting around in your spare time go for the suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaterinaTonbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Hospitality, Comfort and Location. Small B&B...you could only find through other travelers sharing their experiences. The other reviews set high expectations and they were met. The walled gardens are private and relaxing. Beds comfortable....spacious rooms and cheerful decorating. Just a totally fun experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erfield5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Our family of three stayed here for two nights at the end of June. I only wish we could stay longer. Our room was spacious and charming, with very comfortable bed, small TV, tea/coffee station, and a small private bathroom looked cheerful and new. Our son had a separate room that was perfect for one. There was a small refrigerator, shared by all the guests at the end of the hallway of the 1st floor. The wireless internet worked near the windows and in the garden.
A sunny dining room had two round tables, all set for breakfast. I loved the selection of different breads, pastries, and croissants Héléne had for us each morning, along with a small bowl of fruits, plain yogurt, milk, tea, coffee, jams and butter. There was a separate cereal station with at least five different cereals in the corner.
French bulldog Edouard is still young and hopes you will drop something from the table; Héléne tries to keep him away from the guests. We enjoyed his youthful energy.
Héléne, the youngest hostess we ever stayed with, is helpful, friendly and professional. From the moment I contacted Héléne, she provided helpful information, emailed me a document about nearby attractions, history, and culinary. She sent us excellent driving directions that came very handy.
Although there’s no private parking at this B&B, there’s always parking to be found on the street just outside the door.
This B&B was my personal favorite; I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chinon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
910 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#7 of 15 in Chinon
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon
#5 of 15 in Chinon
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Plantagenet
Hotel Le Plantagenet
#8 of 15 in Chinon
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Boule d'Or
La Boule d'Or
#11 of 15 in Chinon
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis Saint Mexme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis Saint Mexme

Property: Logis Saint Mexme
Address: 115 rue Jean Jacques Rousseau | 115th Jean Jacques Rousseau street, 37500, Chinon, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Saint Mexme Church, Helene et Jean Michel welcome you at Logis Saint Mexme in Chinon along Vienne river in the Loire Valley. We have renovated the old abbey buildings to accommodate two large and charming guests rooms. Here you will enjoy the hospitality of our Touraine region the land of the French "art de vivre". Choose between the large Jardin Bedroom (30M2) with view over the garden or the Saint Mexme Suite (Lounge and Bedroom) with its windows over the abbey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Logis Saint Mexme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logis Saint Mexme Chinon, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing