We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bienvenue à la Genestine Cottage La Luzège the shared heated pool from the privat patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Bienvenue à la Genestine
Cottage La Luzège the shared heated pool from the privat patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chinon, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
JulieJohn...
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at Genestine at the end of June. We had found the property through Trip Advisor & we've got to admit we weren't disappointed. A beautiful Gite in a beautiful part of France.
It was fully equipped & if anything was not then it was a simple matter of ringing the owners who came round.
I would certainly recommend it & we hope to return soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Bonsoir and thank you very much for your report and for taking the time to comment on your stay. This is so nice to have this kind of feedback and we really look forward to seeing you again in the Loire Valley !
Amitiés from the Loire Valley
Françoise, Martine et Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianKF
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yet another great week in great accomodation”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is the second time we have stayed at one of Laurent, Francoise and Martine's properties, last year we stayed at La Marrisou in Huismes. Again this didn't disappoint, it is in a quiet tranquil setting and is beautifully presented with everything you need, it is clear that they take great pride in their properties. Having holidayed in France for a number of years their properties are by far the best we have stayed in and the attention to detail is amazing. The pool was great and kids spent a great deal of time in it. My parents stayed in the adjoining property which was just as impressive.

You are met by the owners who show you around and are willing to impart their knowledge of the local area, they also leave a small welcome hamper, and the Jam (that is homemade) was lovely. We took our own bikes but there were four bikes available to use, and access to the cycle route is only 100 metres away

I was reluctant to write a review as I want to make sure that we can get a booking there next year, and would like to keep this cottage a secret!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How well presented the property is
Liked least: nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
ouh la la ! thanks so much for this nice review ! we always feel better when faithfull customers tell us we are not disapointing them even with another cottage ! Of course we look forward to seeing you again next year, you and your beautiful and so nice family. .. For this, do not forget to make your reservation in advance and thanks again to not keep this cottage a secret !
A très bientot and amitié to all your family.
Françoise, Martine et Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette B
Westlake, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“This cottage is a tranquil treasure in the Loire Valley.”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is the second time we've stayed in the beautiful Cottage Genestine a la Bellivierre and we enjoyed every minute. Complete with all the conveniences, including a private swimming pool, this
cottage is a peaceful and pristine respite after a busy day of sightseeing in the Loire Valley. We highly recommend this location and can't wait to return on our next trip to France!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for your comment. It was a great pleasure to welcome you again to Genestine and share good times with you.
You enjoyed everything that the cottage can offer you and we are very happy for this.
Of course, we look forward to seeing you again a third time to La Genestine!
Please take care and all the best
Françoise, Martine et Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia L
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A lovely Gite in a lovely quiet area. It is very well equipped with everything you could need. It has its own pool and there are lots of seating areas around the Gite so that you can feel quite secluded. Laurent and his sisters were very welcoming indeed and Laurent spoke extremely good english. Chinon is the nearest big town and there are lots of things to see and do, some lovely places to eat, and the castle is worth a visit. Overall a lovely place to stay and we will e returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2016
Bonjour à tous les quatre !
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment about your stay at the Genestine. We are glad to know you keep a fond memory of the place and that you will be returning in the future. For the next time, promised, we will order the sun ! Your comment describes what makes us happy : offering a nice stay for travellers and the desire to come back to Chinon !
Merci again and see you again in the future !
Françoise, Martine et Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy H
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb gite 5 minutes drive from Chinon”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The gites are beautiful, exceptionally clean and superbly equipped. The hosts are lovely and are make sure all is well. At the time we stayed, there was wide spread flooding in the area and the hosts arrived at the gite to check we were OK and that my 84yr old mother was coping. The area is quiet and beautiful, the gardens would be lovely to just relax in on a sunny day! The gites are very comfortable and have everything you may want on a holiday, there was good information on the local area. The welcome pack was great and included a bottle of wine and some delicious jam. Thank you Francoise, Martine and Laurent we hope to visit again soon and bring some sun with us!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and quietness
Liked least: Nothing, except the rain and that wasn't the hosts fault! The stairs in the one bedroom gite are very steep if anyone has a mobility problem.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
Bonjour and thank you for your positive review ! sorry again for this bad weather during all your stay... but you had a unique environment with a "natural" swimming pool with water from the Vienne River ! Merci for your humour and your kindness and we hope to see you again in the future with your sweet mother.
Amitiés
Françoise, Martine et Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Marvellous Genestine - a great Gite in the Loire”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in La Genestine, a delightful, comfortable cottage in Beaumont-en-Veron. Quiet, peaceful and extremely well appointed, the cottage has easy access to the charming village of Chinon, historic Chateaux and vineyards of the Loire. Bikes are provided and they are a definite bonus. Owners Françoise, Martine and Laurent are friendly, warm and very helpful. Stay here, you will not be disappointed!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
Bonjour dear Cate and David and merci for your report regarding our cottage la Genestine. We look forward to seeing you again and share another good moment with you. Amitiés from the Loire Valley
Françoise, Martine and Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryHonol...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Five star comfort in gorgeous, tranquil setting.”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Two weeks ago, my husband and I and another couple spent a most enjoyable week in the cottage Genestine just a five minute drive from the historic town of Chinon. I have rented other gites in France and must say, the Genestine exceeded the other gites in every way imaginable. First of all, the owners met us at the cottage with a basket of goodies that gave us a perfect beginning to our week. Imagine being welcomed with a fresh baguette, butter, home made artisinale jams, a bottle of delicious local wine, etc (I'm salivating at the memory of these culinary delights!) The thoughtful welcome basket negated the need for an immediate trip to the local market for provisions. As well as being very thoroughly- equipped, the cottage was absolutely immaculately clean. Our week there flew by with day trips to visit historic sites, then a return to our warm, comfortable home for a relaxing evening. It was a pleasure to enjoy the Spring flowers in the courtyard, watch the birds begin their family in their house in the front of the cottage, and have leisurely bike rides in the countryside.....bikes being part of the Genestine's amenities! We're already planning to make a return visit to this idyllic home and look forward to enjoying the warm, caring hospitality of the owners. Thank you again, Francoise, Martine and Laurent for making our week in your charming part of France so perfect!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2016
Bonjour Mary,
We thank you very much for your report. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our cottage la Genestine and we are so glad we made you feel at home during your stay ! And you are right : it is really nice to discover the region in April. And, despite all the places that you have already visited, you still have things to discover around here, so we do hope to see you again in the future !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing