We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant - Generous hospitality and a must for a visit.”
Review of Le Clos Rabelais

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langeais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Clos Rabelais
Ranked #5 of 13 Langeais B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Brilliant - Generous hospitality and a must for a visit.”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We arrived at le Clos Rabelais to be greeted by Shaun and Sue, We parked the car and were immediately offered a drinkie and as we were in France we just had to have a glass of wine, followed by another. Following that the Magnums were passed around, no not a magnum of wine, (although I am sure we drank one)
We stayed in the "love Shack" AKA the Garden room, the bed was comfy with crisp bed linen and yes The Teddy to keep us company , also a choccie on the pillow in case of hunger in the night, not possible after the delicious dinner cooked by Shaun .
The evening was great fun as Shaun has a wicked sense of humour and kept us all entertained for the evening. The food was great and the wine was flowing. I would certainly recommend this to friends and family.
Plentiful Breakfast was served in the dining room by Sue with croissants brioche jams cereals fruit , tea coffee etc...
To enjoy the whole package you should stay for dinner :) I Will be packing my bags for another visit.
Thanks Shaun and Sue for a fab last evening in France.

Room Tip: Stay for dinner as you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rosakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    22
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
59
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We laughed our bits off during a very warm, fun and welcome stay at Le Clos Rabelais. Sweet and witty Shaun and warm and friendly Sue were wonderful hosts we won't forget very fast. The room is nice and clean, pretty English. The breakfast good and drinking wine and talking with Shaun & Sue is simply unforgettable. Langeais is a sweet, charming village you have to see!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernardus77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We were greeted by the owner, Shaun, who immediately made us feel at home. We had access to tea and coffee, beer and wine, cereal and fresh fruit any time we wanted. Our room was lovely (candy on the pillows) and white bathrobes waiting to warm us. We couldn't have been happier! His assistant was so wonderfully helpful too. We had a good, hearty breakfast and were made to feel like this was 'our home.' My luggage was lost so I didn't have my 'sound machine' which I need to sleep. He happened to have one and offered to give it to me. I carried it with me the rest of the trip and I was so grateful for his generosity. I would definitely recommend this B&B to one and all!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street. Although the morning traffic was said to bother some people, we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Me and my wife stayed here for 2 nights and we loved this place so much, we didn't want to leave. We'd got entire house for a guests and it was like a small castle from a fairy tale))) The house was well furnished, very clean with small touches of attention (like dvd-player, welcome wine and especially the Teddy bear))) Shaun and Sue were so friendly with a good sense of humor, they gave us all the information we needed. The breakfast was delicious and well served.
We would highly recommend this place and definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IgorKram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights during our trip to France and the location was perfect for walking into town and enjoying lovely Langeais. Upon our arrival, Shaun welcomed us with his warm personality and 2 very much appreciated glasses of wine!! He walked us around the grounds and toured the home and we were happy to be in a very bright sunny location. We stayed in the Garden Room which offered us more space (after staying in small hotels we were more than pleased with the size of the room). Shaun gave us a bottle of wine to enjoy at our leisure and after we settled in for a while, he hand delivered ice cream..which we so enjoyed..it was a very, very hot day! He provided many little "extras" in the room and bath area which just added to our wonderful stay.
His house staff (I cannot recall her name) was delightful and we enjoyed our conversations with her at breakfast and upon our return from our day trips. Everyone was very helpful with suggestions for excursions and sights to see. We definitely enjoyed our stay, Shaun was a wonderful host and we would be happy to recommend Le Clos Rebelais.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CtMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
china
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

What a great place to stay! We loved the hospitality from Shaun and loved that we were up in the gite at back of property. Very cozy and private. Shaun went out of his way to make our 3 night stay enjoyable. From a wonderful meal, hand delivered bottle of welcome rose wine to the cheeky banter, it was all awesome. To top it off, Shaun was also able to host us in his lounge room to watch the Lions v Wallabies rugby test. We have no hesitation in recommending this region of France to visit and would love to return to stay with Shaun again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank natandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2013

3 of us travelling together has a great time in our stay here. Shaun (with the help of Sue) looked after us very well, including some extra care for one of us who was quite sick. The rooms were large and lovingly furnished, and the dinners Shaun cooked for us were great, as was the conversation. We spent our two days here being treated like old friends who were catching up.

Add to that the be beautiful Langeais township, and this is a highly recommended stop in any journey through France.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg8y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langeais
5.1 mi away
Hotel des Chateaux
Hotel des Chateaux
#4 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
5.7 mi away
Chateau de Rochecotte
Chateau de Rochecotte
#1 of 2 in Langeais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
15.0 mi away
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
#1 of 1 in Beaumont-en-Veron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel de Biencourt
Hotel de Biencourt
#1 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Fleur de Lys
La Fleur de Lys
#3 of 13 in Langeais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos Rabelais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Rabelais

Property: Le Clos Rabelais
Address: 34 rue Rabelais, 37130 Langeais, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Langeais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Langeais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are on the edge of the town of Langeais, so the cafes, restaurants, shops and station are within a 5-10 minute walk of the house. The property is gated so parking is safe. The 15thCentury chateau, which has the only working drawbridge in France, is one of the most popular in the Loire Valley and there is a popular Sunday-morning market selling local produce should you be here at the weekend. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Clos Rabelais Langeais, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing