We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Innovative and imaginative cooking”
Review of Au Coin Des Halles

Au Coin Des Halles
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Langeais
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
UK
Level Contributor
177 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Innovative and imaginative cooking”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Meals here are consistently good. The basic ingredients are excellent, and the use of subtle oriental / North-African flavours give a pleasant new twist to each dish. The basic menus are excellent value for money, with options for upgrading one course if so desired.
Restaurant closed Wednesday / Thursday.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daktari_on_safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    119
    21
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level Contributor
288 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Each Dish enjoyable”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The tempura frog legs actually melted in our mouths. They were so delicate, I only wish it was available as a main dish instead of a starter. Service, presentation, taste were all perfect. A wonderful way to cap a visit to Chateau Langeais.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PointerDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biarritz, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A l'impreviste”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Fabulous food, great service and offered us a table at 14h. Ate filet de sanglier, noix de St Jacques et pintade, each one beautifully presented and very gouteux. Bravo!

Helpful?
1 Thank Geordie154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We went to this restaurant for my birthday. The food was great and it was close to our B & B and was recommended by our hostess. The only thing I didn't like was the lighting was way too bright. I like ambiance with candles and low lighting.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lenorecrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very classy bistro cooking at its very best”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Popped in for lunch on market day and eat out in the charming patio garden. A great three course lunch showing a lot of skill and quality was washed down with a good local sensibly priced half bottle of wine. This place restored my confidence of French bistro cooking and only afterwards did I catch up with the reviews all of which pointed the same way. A really good honest restaurant that uses local produce and gets it just right. Don’t miss it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BatmanMarlborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Au Coin Des Halles also viewed

Langeais, Loire Valley
Azay-le-Rideau, Loire Valley
 
Langeais, Loire Valley
Villandry, Loire Valley
 

Been to Au Coin Des Halles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing