We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau de Rochecotte
Nearby Hotels
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Haut des Lys(Villandry)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'auberge Pom'poire(Azay-le-Rideau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Ecureuils(Azay-le-Rideau)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel des Chateaux(Azay-le-Rideau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Balzac(Azay-le-Rideau)
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Val de Loire(Azay-le-Rideau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Grand Monarque(Azay-le-Rideau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
203
66
17
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
66
17
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstour grouploire valleybeautiful groundslovely chateauinsight tourbus tourrooms are spaciousactual chateaufresh airlocation is idealspecial occasionlike royaltythree nightsdelicious foodnice roomcouldn't do enoughhigh ceilings
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is a wonderful hotel on a lovely property. The grounds are beautiful. Our room, #2, was huge and very comfortable. The food was very good as was the breakfast. The staff was more than friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our way to Arcachon and another night on our way back. It was truly magnificent. The staff were great really accommodating and helpful. The food was absolutely delicious; the dinner was very special with locally sourced cheese and wine and breakfast was brilliant with delicious pastries made by the pastry chief that morning. The rooms were amazing and very luxurious and stylish. The grounds were beautifully kept with wild flowers growing amongst some stunning mature woodland. Also the outdoor swimming pool was a lovely place to cool off after our long drive. We had a fabulous stay here and felt very spoilt! We would highly recommend this place to anyone desiring a bit of luxury!

Room Tip: Both rooms we had were wonderful
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morph320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of a tour group. Our room was quite spacious and very comfortable and very nicely appointed. Our dinners were excellent. And our waiter recommended a Vouvray wine that we really liked. At all times the staff made us feel quite at home. The gardens and the terrace were also quite nice. I would return to the hotel any time that we might have an opportunity.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PatDarryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Stayed here late Aug 2012 with my wife and 7 year old daughter for 8 nights in room in adjacent building former stables to main chateau (1 min walk from main hotel entrance) Seriously lovely place, very very friendly English speaking staff that did all they could to help and accommodate. Very nice well equipped room, large bathroom (bath/shower)
Seriously comfortable bed and all you could ask for. Furniture mix of semi antique and more contemporary antique look-a-likes. Spotlessly clean. In main chateau two large dining halls (breakfast and dinner) and two salons for reading papers (French, Int. Herald Tribune and French magazines) one salon for having drinks and playing board games.
Outstanding breakfast and although not cheap plentiful and outstanding in choice. Swimming pool to die for, saltwater with only a hint of chlorine heated to approx. 22-25 degrees Celcius, outstanding for children and with plenty of room, sides and bottom of pool rubber lined. Separate pool house with toilets and showers.
This chateau hotel is a true gem, it i s a hotel first and foremost and secondly a chateau why it should be seen in that context - during the day not your stuffy and formal chateau hotel, but a very nice place to be, very down to earth yet professional staff. In the evening it caters to fine dining why then more formal. Location is good with a range of chateau options close by Villandry, Langeais. Tours is 35 min drive (motorway) and Chinon another 45 mins. Few/no shops right near by, nearest town is Langeais 10 mins drive away. I would come back here any time, worth the money and truly nice. – highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jacob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We booked through Booking Com and often feel we are given the worst rooms.

We were shown to attic room with no lift and when shown the room we were told by the member of staff 'this is of my favourite rooms'. She must have thought we were village idiots! Tired and faded and instead of three nights, we checked out after too.

The building is beautiful, but the decor style is a mix of lovely period furniture with modern 'tat'. The plastic pillars in the dining room with lights on the top with a massive bunch of artificial flowers in the centre of the room look just ridiculous. The room on its own with silk curtains would have been sufficient. The tablecloths and the napkins are made of acetate, a cheap nasty fabric to touch which takes away totally the ambience of a top restaurant which they portend to be.

Dinner prices are exhorbitant for this part of the world. The steak was delicious, but desert was sickly and quite nasty, we returned three quarters of the desert (priced at 14 euros) and they gave us a free coffee!

We feel they miss a trick with this hotel as the countryside and gardens are magnificent, but the atmosphere changes as soon as you walk into the tired decor of the hotel.

Their lunch menu had a 'plat du jour' priced at 21 euros and they said they had steak. They actually put 30 euros on my bill for this. It was not worth a fight at checkout, so we just left.

Room Tip: Dont go for the attic rooms, we were bit tired otherwise we would have swapped.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marsha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews