We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau des Essards
Ranked #7 of 13 Langeais B&B and Inns
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed in the first floor suite, composed of two large rooms, each with a good sized bathroom. The grounds are beautiful, unfortunately we did not have time to take advantage of the pool. Minus points are that there was no television in the rooms and the breakfast was a bit light.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
307 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We needed a place to stay for a few nights while visiting some of the chateaux in the Loire. This was chosen because it looked good and had a swimming pool..well they were good reasons but the whole experience proved hugely more impressive. The owners have done a great job of preparing the chateau with stylish furniture, decor etc. So it's very comfortable. They are also very welcoming and ready and willing to provide advice about places to visit, places to eat etc. Actually when it comes to eating Madame is also willing to cook an excellent dinner with a selection of wines for a moderate price, we had booked that for our first night but chose to take that option again on our last night. Dinner is preceded by aperitif and nibbles, outdoors when the weather is good, with the owners (who speak excellent English). Thoroughly enjoyed our stay - recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedHeadPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We have stayed in many chateaux over the years but this was our first time there. The chateau is a very nice place. It lacks a bit the historic feel of some other chateaux since it is not as old but the place is nicely furbished. We actually rented the room which is featured on the picture. The location is very nice. They have a pool but it is not heated. I had the opportunity to chat with the owner who is charming and very helpful. The breakfast was adequate. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 120CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I believe the owners of Chateau Essard run this bed and breakfast not for the money. This beautiful chateau which they bought 2 years ago must have caused then a fortune to refurbish and maintain at her current state. Laurence is the gracious hostess who responded to my emails quickly, giving us good suggestions on winery and castles to visit, provided excellent level of service, always anticipating our needs, and a really good cook. Dinner was served with champagne and aperitif in the garden first, along with the other guests, followed by in room dining. We had superb 3 course meal, in addition to dessert and tea, all were well prepared. The chateau has an inviting swimming pool and a huge forest in the back where we saw deers running when we took a stroll in the morning. By the way, I only speak English, and Laurence speaks English very well that there weren't any problems in communication. My wife, 6 y/o daughter and I stayed for only one night which I regretted so much that we should at least stay for 3. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael-Wang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Chateau de Essards was a lovely place to stay. A winding drive way through the forest produced an impressive sight. We were welcomed by the friendly hosts, and encouraged to relax from the minute we arrived. The house is stunning, and the room and en-suite was large in size with a very clean French designed style. The grounds give impressive views, to the back of the house was an enchanting forest and to the front, views overlooking the valleys of the Loire. The swimming pool was clean and welcoming and we were encouraged to make good use of it both when we arrived and the morning of our departure. As we arrived on a Sunday afternoon dinner was provided, this was a wonderful example of French cooking, the hosts had selected two local wines which complemented the food.
To say we felt spoilt staying here would be an understatement. The Chateau provided a personal stay of luxury. We would have loved to stay for the summer.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william6684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langeais
17.1 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
3.8 mi away
Chateau de Rochecotte
Chateau de Rochecotte
#1 of 2 in Langeais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
9.8 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
18.6 mi away
Chateau d'Artigny
Chateau d'Artigny
#2 of 4 in Montbazon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
9.4 mi away
Le Grand Monarque
Le Grand Monarque
#3 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau des Essards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Essards

Property: Chateau des Essards
Address: 4 Rte de Saint-Michel, 37130 Langeais, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Langeais
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Langeais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Château des Essards is situated at the edge of the Loire - Anjou-Touraine Regional Nature Park, at the entrance to the vineyards of Bourgueil, Chinon and Saumur,close to the sights and monuments of the Val de Loire. Nestling in an immense forest area traversed by bridle paths, this gracious residence looks out over a pleasant river valley lined with antique water mills. In this restful environment, the Château proposes 5 charming, elegant and cosy guest rooms (including 2 suites for 4p). The rooms offer views over the luxuriant surrounding greenery which you will never tire of... In the heart of the forest, private manor house with swimming pool and jacuzzi, open to paying guests... Evening meals available - Please let us know the day before. A supremely peaceful hideaway in an enchanting landscape... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chateau des Essards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Essards Langeais, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing