We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage Domaine de Matounet 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage Domaine de Matounet 1
Domaine de Matounet Domaine de Matounet
Heated Pool In Summer
Piscine Chauffée En Eté.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Cottage Domaine de Matounet 1
Domaine de Matounet
Domaine de Matounet
Heated Pool In Summer
Piscine Chauffée En Eté.
Pool Heated
Terrace cottage
Barbecue on the terrace
Another view of the cottage
Outside the cottage
Game room outside
Game room inside
First bedroom (double bed)
Second bedroom (double bed)
Third bedroom (2 Bunk beds for 4 people)
Main room
Kitchen
Main room (the ceiling height 7 meters)
bathroom
Castle of loire valley (bridore) picture take from the cottage
Domaine de Matounet
Lake 300 meters from the cottage
Domaine de matounet (view from the castle of bridore)
Castle of bridore (build in the beguining of 14 th century)
cottage
Free tennis court (300 meters from the cottage)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Loches, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Crisps7
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Had a lovely week staying in Matounet. Jean David was extremely welcoming and very helpful. We loved the house and loved the area - a great base for travelling around the Loire area. We would particularly recommend Chenonceaux, Beauval Zoo and Amboise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
Hello Christina,
thank you for your review - it was great to have you stay” goes a long way. Say hello to your. Say hello to your friendly family on my part. Jean-David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Journey61...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect family holiday”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We all agree that this was one of the best family holidays we've ever had. My husband and I arrived for eleven nights with our three children, aged 15, 10 and 8. Jean-David greeted us warmly, speaking in perfect English. He provided all bedding and towels and gave us a guided tour of Gite 1. Gite 1 is full of rustic charm. It was a cow shed belonging to Jean-David's late father before Jean-David renovated it. It was very well equipped and easy to cook in. The fridge was a good size. The cooker and washing machine were easy to operate. The lounge could do with more comfortable chairs but for eleven days, it was fine. A lot of the art work on the walls was by Jean-David's grandparents. The decking overlooking the pool was a lovely place to sit and watch the kids playing in the pool with the sun setting behind the chateaux beyond.

The heated pool was amazing, warmer than the indoor pool at our local leisure centre! Thanks to Jean-David's daily toil, the pool was clean as well as warm. The kids were playing in it until 9pm some nights. The backdrop (the Chateaux of Bridore) was stunning and we learned that Jean-David's Aunt lives in the chateaux. Afternoon tours of the chateaux were possible and we may well fit this in next time.

There was ample space to play cricket in the evenings. The kids borrowed bikes and cycled round the neighbouring lake. They also got stuck into table tennis , pool and table football in the spacious games room.

There is bags to do in this area. Chenonceaux is an unusual chateaux in that it stretches across the River Cher. Hiring a rowing boat for a few euro to row under the chateaux is great fun. Jean-David recommended a nearby lake for canoeing. We found there free parking, giant inflatables on the water and a man-made beach. Loches is well worth a visit. We enjoyed wine-tasting at the Berger brothers, 37270 Saint Martin Le Beau. Laurent Berger is an excellent host, speaks perfect English and is great with children. The family occupying Gite 2 cycled from Loches to Tour and back one day.

We would like to return one day. Merci Jean-David.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2016
Thank you very much for your nice review. I hope carol to see you again one day in Domaine de matounet with all your nice family. Take care and see you soon.
John David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nr3shires
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful relaxing retreat”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed the most wonderful stay in this beautiful rural area of France with our 2 girls aged 13 and 15. John David - the owner was the most delightful, helpful and fun host. The accommodation was excellent with stunning views of the chateau at Bridore (just a short walk away) and a deck to BBQ and dine overlooking the pool. The pool was wonderful and maintained at a lovely temperature. We also enjoyed playing tennis everyday at the court which was a short walk away past a beautiful fishing lake. The games room provided lots of entertainment too with the ping pong table, mini pool table and table football. We also visited Amboise (beautiful) and did a Segway tour of Loches including the caves which was superb. All in all a truly wonderful holiday (forgot to mention the delicious fresh bread delivery every morning which I will miss).

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSagaseta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Miss ”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

When we arrived and drove down towards Gite 1, we all knew it would be a great week in a tranquil location with beautiful surroundings.

We spent a fantastic week in August in the beautiful Gite. Our 4 children (4,6,8&10) loved the fact they could run around, play in the games room, ride the bikes, play badminton or football and the best thing for us was the knowledge they were safe and still in sight.

With a good size outdoor pool (not heated) there was always something for them to do.

We stayed in Gite1 which is a barn that has been converted to a high standard with great facilities.

Jean David was very welcoming, and advised us on places to go and visit.

Would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dogtordol...
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Magical Location”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent a wonderful week here with our two teenagers and three year old. The gite is a beautiful converted barn, well equipped and comfortable, with everything you could reasonably need.

The children all loved the pool. This is unheated at present but I gather will be heated by next year. There is also a large games room with table tennis, table football etc and lots of games and sports equipment which is great for rainy days. There is another gite on site as well as the owners' house but because of the way gite 1 is set out you are not really aware of the other gite. The seating area looks over the pool which is great for keeping an eye on younger children. There is lots of space for football, badminton or just running off steam!

Jean David and his family were excellent hosts. Always happy to answer any query or recommend local activities or attractions but never intrusive. Little touches like a delivery from a local boulangerie, on the house, makes this place very special.

For us the best thing about the gite was the location. The countryside is beautiful during the daytime but really comes alive at night. On warm nights we sat out and listened to and watched owls which seemed to be everywhere. The lack of other houses nearby means that the stars are bright and we saw several shooting stars on one particularly clear night. It was worth keeping the children up late to experience all this and I'm sure that they will remember it for many years to come.

I would recommend this gite without hesitation and hope to visit again soon.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Harpe...
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tranquility in France"”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Without a doubt, our stay at Domaine de Matounet was the highlight of our recent trip to France. Jean David was the most gracious of hosts and his lovely country cottage met all of our needs and expectations. We rented the three bedroom cottage which was perfect for our family. The view of the castle from the family room is one that we will not forget! Kena David and his entire family were welcoming and gave us great tips on what to visit/where to eat/shop. Jean David even went the 'extra mile' for us by helping us find a local doctor when my wife and daughter both caught the flu. His adorable son became our son's best friend in France as well.
If you are seeking a second home while in France, this is it! We appreciated the sereness of the location, the beautiful views, the ability to eat meals together as a family on the days when we didn't want to go out, and to see the stars at night in the majestic countryside. We will definitely return! Please don't miss this charming cottage and the incredibly charming Mouveau family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Jean David and his family
Liked least: the days it rained :)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrWo0509
Eberndorf, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“just relax and come down!!!”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent nearly three weeks in August 2014 at Domaine de Matounet 1! It is a wonderfull base to explore the beauties oft Loire Vally! The cottage was very comfortable and clean! Jean-David and his family are very welcoming, cordial, congenial, pleasant and helpful but absolutly unobtrusive hosts! The local products he left to taste for us were very tasty!
Our kids, 5 & 9, loved the fantastic pool, where swimming aids and toys were available, as well as the soccer field, the volleyball place, the table tennis and the big space to play & run!
The cottage is surrounded by delightful landscape and is so easy to „come down“ and get new energy!

WE TRY TO COME BACK TO MATOUNET in August 2015 and would recommend the property to our friends & relatives!!!
Jean David merci pour ta hospitalie! Tu as une mervellieux place- so ca!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our lovely cottage, the surrounding and our hosts
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing