We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky hotel, good position”
Review of Hotel George Sand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel George Sand
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Loches
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel may not appeal to everyone but we like quirky places, the staff were really friendly and it is a good position to explore the town. Did not eat here but looked OK. Plenty of free parking just behind the hotel. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Choose a back room for the view over the river but expect noise from the rushing water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johno9912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

Lovely spot by the river (though it was cold and damp the day we were there). This was an emergency stop on a drive to Calais from Santander due to Brittany Ferries strike. Not wildly impressed - lots of character, with spiral stone staircase but the room was badly in need of redecoration and only one light working. The food may well have been great - the restaurant looked fine, but at 26.5 euros for fixed price dinner we looked for better value and found it in the town. We got the impression that no staff actually lived there and were fairly indifferent as to the service provided

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheltonianCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Hotel George Sand is old and occasionally a wee bit smelly BUT it's a great place to stay if your looking for a clean, quirky hotel close to the centre of Loche. The rooms are basic but comfortable - the river rooms obviously have the best views and are quieter but our room that overlooked the road was fine - we looked up to the beautiful architecture of some of the oldest buildings in Loches.
The outdoor eating area is fabulous and I spotted a hummingbird making the best of the flower baskets on our first afternoon there. Staff were great - spoke a little English which was helpful.
We were two floors up a winding staircase with no lift but if you are reasonably fit and healthy this is not a problem. All in all a great stay.

Room Tip: River view rooms are nice and a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentMercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stayed here for two nights, a clean but simple hotel, quaint and for the price one can overlook the somewhat tired look of it. Beds comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful, - well, most of them - and speaking good English; I like to emphasize that as I am a foreigner in France and do not expect everyone to be fluent in English (and, Flossycat60 above, how about spelling ☺ ?) Food was good, but dinner for me was a touch pretentious unfortunately. WHAT is it with the dribbled sauces and frothed vegetables Masterchef style? And slate plates still going strong, why? Wine very good. All in all would stay there again during my next visit in Loches.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zizi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Great meal today, one of the best since being in France for 10 days. The fixed menu price for 3 courses was 12.5 euros which included a glass of wine, the duck was beautiful, so tender and the blackberry and blueberry tart with cream, was divine. We had booked a table overlooking the river, the service was perfect and I would go back in a heart beat. We also wished we had spent more time in Loches itself, Tours was horrible, like driving through a building site, don't waste your time, but Loches was pure charm. Very recommended, sorry don't know what the hotel rooms are like and perhaps they could be warm in the summer, but this was Autumn. There was also plenty of parking in Loches even on market day and we enjoyed every bit of food we bought from the market, the crepe restaurant in town was god value too. Would like to return one day perhaps.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

One of the best things during my cycle tours with The Chain Gang it is the hotels we stay...always a good surprise.
The George Sand it's no different. Very peculiar and unique.
The staircase is lovely, although terrible when trying to get to the top floor with you luggage. So remember to pack light when staying here.
My room, facing the river on the back, was very confortable and clean...and surprisingly silent (very good sound proof windows indeed).
The restaurant in the hotel also faces the river, and during the summer, you can have dinner litteraly "over" the river with daylight.
The city centre is a small walk from the hotel with lovely shops and cafés.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobPeixoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We didn't stay in the hotel but we ate here and had a lovely 4 course meal. We chose a bottle of champagne to go with it and the a bottle of burgundy, both of which were well priced. Lovely view of river but quite a lot of flies. I guess you can't have one without the other.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank FergieBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loches
0.6 mi away
Logis Luccotel
Logis Luccotel
#1 of 4 in Loches
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#3 of 4 in Loches
132 reviews
13.9 mi away
Le Cheval Blanc
Le Cheval Blanc
#1 of 1 in Blere
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Novotel Amboise
Novotel Amboise
#9 of 25 in Amboise
961 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel la Roseraie
Hotel la Roseraie
#2 of 5 in Chenonceaux
643 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Moulin des Cordeliers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel George Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel George Sand

Address: 39 rue Quintefol, 37600, Loches, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Loches
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Loches
Price Range: £36 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel George Sand 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel George Sand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Sand Hotel
Hotel George Sand France/Loches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing