We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing, fun holiday in a lovely property and...”

Review of The Dairy

The Dairy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Dairy
Heated swimming pool in terraced garden room Double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The Dairy
Heated swimming pool in terraced garden room
Double bedroom
Swimming pool and sun terrace
Swimming pool with view over countryside
Swimming pool
Sun terrace
The grounds
Table tennis under covered barn
Medieval Loches (twice weekly market)
Dining room and mezzanine
Seating area of double bedroom
Single bedroom
Dressing area of single bedroom with ensuite shower
En-suite
Dining room
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Loches, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Zoe B
1 review
“Relaxing, fun holiday in a lovely property and gardens”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a wonderful holiday, perfect location to just relax and get away from it all. Well looked after by the hosts. Great property with everything we needed. Lots of family fun in the pool and playing table tennis.
Plenty of places to visit nearby, but we were all content just to chill, time just flew by. Thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful and relaxing location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
We are delighted that you all enjoyed a relaxing holiday at La Vieille Ferme and look forward to your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H&TNorwic...
Norwich
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“First Class Family Holiday!!”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is our 5th stay at La Vieille Ferme and once again we had the most wonderful, relaxing holiday. Our daughters are 23 and 14 and they too enjoy the swimming pool, glorious sun patio, boules, table tennis and badminton. The gites are beautifully renovated and everyone enjoys their own space for eating al fresco. The facilities are excellent, the grounds are kept in an immaculate, pretty condition and the interior of the accommodation is just as good. Although placed in a very tranquil part of France, there is still lots of lovely places to visit, whether you're couple, travelling with friends or family. Some great Markets, Chateau's, Zoo, Safari Park, rivers for swimming and fabulous local restaurants with great menus. All in all a fabulous place and all our family would recommend!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
We are delighted you enjoyed another lovely holiday with us at La Vieille Ferme and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyB197...
Sherborne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Welcoming hosts with a super gite set in lovely grounds in quiet village made this a perfect holiday.”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed in The Dairy during the last week of July and had a wonderfully relaxing holiday. Derek and Angela are the perfect hosts, making us feel very welcome and providing everything we were seeking within the gite and grounds. The gite was super, lovely and clean and perfect for the three of us. The grounds were also very well maintained and the swimming pool was lovely to come back to after day trips. The local town is a short drive for supplies and the village of Clere du Bois is ideal for a relaxing holiday in a rural location. There was plenty to do in and around the surrounding area and we hired bicycles for the week to explore the local countryside which has some great wildlife. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return again very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole setting.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather S
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Loved this cottage ( there are 3 others which take different sized groups).
Lovely welcome. Everything we needed and more. We arrived on Sunday night and were offered provisions because the shops were closed.
Comfortable bed. Fully working kitchen. Nice walkin shower. Fantastic pool ( heated). Beautiful gardens.
Off road parking.
Fairly steep stares in our cottage.
We stayed two weeks which was just right to relax and explore the area.
Angela and Derrick were very helpful with maps and general information about what to see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Steep stairs
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
Delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you loved the beauty and tranquility of the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkiMort...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderful 2 weeks”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent 2 wonderful weeks here. Angela and Derek are great hosts. The cottage is very comfortable. The pool is perfect. We had a few very hot days but hardly noticed them as we cooled off every few hours. The village is beautiful and quiet and all the highlights of the Loire Valley are in easy reach - everything within an hour drive or so. You need a car but parking is provided. Other guests were English speaking and there is a very friendly atmosphere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Steep stairs to the main bedroom
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and managed a good mixture of relaxation and exploring the local area. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect!”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We originally booked to stay at the Dairy for one week but so enjoyed our time here that we extended our stay for an extra 2 nights. We fully agree with all the other positive comments on here - great location, superb swimming pool, impeccable attention to detail everywhere. The gardens were beautifully tended and created the perfect ambience for relaxation.The Dairy was equipped to a very high standard and the double bed was extremely comfortable! Derek and Angela were excellent hosts being both helpful and knowledgeable. The village is attractive and quiet, however there are a number of lovely towns and villages within easy reach and the Chateaux of the Loire are a short drive away. We would thoroughly recommend La Veille Ferme to anyone looking for a very relaxing break in a delightful area of France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and Tranquility
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Vieille Ferme and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe A
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Small Piece of Heaven in the Loire”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have just returned from one of the most relaxing holidays we have ever enjoyed. Angela and Derek French have created a small piece of heaven in the Loire with a four gite luxury conversion of former farm buildings in the lovely village of Clere du Bois. A car is essential but all of the chateaux are within easy driving distance and mostly on traffic-free roads through beautiful countryside. If you are looking for an authentic French holiday experience, this is the place to go. Mr and Mrs French live on site and are attentive, helpful and incredibly welcoming hosts without ever being intrusive. Based on the number of people who return repeatedly, it would seem that many other guests have had a similarly wonderful time there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcoming nature of the owners and overall comfort of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at La Vieille Ferme and hope to welcome you back on a future occasion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;