We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Tour De France”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Moulin de Saint Jean
Ranked #3 of 11 Loches B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This is our 3rd visit to the beautiful watermill, it's always just perfect, great food and home from home accommodation.
Looking forward to the next time,

Room Tip: Our room had its own separate lounge, very posh.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jayne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Le Moulin de Saint Jean
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed for 2 nights en route to our final destination in the Charente. It’s a beautiful water mill and has been authentically and tastefully refurbished and the rooms are nicely presented, with thoughtful personal touches.

We chose to have dinner on the terrace for one evening. The food was good value at 25 euros, although the chef mentioned in previous reviews is no longer there and I’m not sure it’s as good as it used to be. However the overall ambience of the place certainly made up for it. John is a great host and was happy for us to picnic in the garden for dinner the following evening because we had enjoyed a huge lunch. There is a welcoming but casual atmosphere here and we were made to feel comfortable doing whatever we chose to do. Some places would frown on DIY dinners if they provide dining facilities but not here.

A perfect place to stop over during a long journey.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CWils60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Unfortunately we only had one night at Le Moulin but what a treat it was. The setting is divine and even better than the beautiful website photos had led us to expect. On arrival we were cordially greeted by the English family who ran the place, even though they were in the midst of dealing with a minor plumbing disaster. We had the attic room which was very cute and comfortable and had a lovely modern bathroom. Getting up the stairs with our suitcases was a bit of a push though and the room would not be suitable for anyone with dodgy knees. It would also be quiet hot in really warm weather (not a problem when we were there) but the hosts had provided an evaporative cooler. In fact they went out of their way to ensure that our stay was as comfortable as possible. The old mill has been lovingly restored in country provincial style and each room is comfortable and relaxing.
At dinner and breakfast we looked out across the tranquil millpond whilst tucking into the very good food provided by John and his band of helpers. The night dinner which was not included in the tariff but very reasonably priced, was very good and was accompanied with regional wines. John is bit of a wine buff and knows a lot about the wines of the region. Well worth dining in as meal and the conversation with our host and the other guests was great and there isn't much else with in walking distance of the mill.
This is a great place to use as a base to visit Loches and the chateaux of the Loire. We really wish we had stayed longer and would certainly use this accommodation again if we return to the area in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My boyfriend and I often say how we wish we were back at Le Moulin de St Jean. (Sigh.)

This place is just idyllic! It really is set on it's own little island and is surrounded by water, which is instantly relaxing. John is a fantastic host - very friendly and fun - and we were lucky enough to also be looked after by his mum, Jean, too. Unlike in some B&Bs, you are not made to feel awkward at all, wherever you are in the house. John's wine collection is definitely one to be sampled and he is very knowledgable about the various local tipples.

The location is great. We did a day trip to Saumur and Chinon - sampling a few more wines - and it was really easy to get there and back. Loches is very pretty too and is only a 5-10 minute drive away. Highly recommended and I wish I was back there now!

Room Tip: We stayed in the top (attic) room which had great views from the skylight window.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel_Pettigrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We had a truly brilliant 2 nights at the moulin on the way back from our wedding in the south of france. It was a lovely spot to spend some of our "mini-moon" - great hospitality, lovely food, idyllic scenary and the lovely medieval town of Loches on the doorstep.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NickB210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I stayed there one night with my wife, Christine, daughter Jacqui, and our 2 grandsons, Ben 8 and Tyler 6. We were on our way back to the Chunnel from a week's holiday in The Dordogne, near Sarlat.

The location of this absolute gem of a B&B is VERY special - a 250+ year old water mill in a remote, village deep in the rural Loire region.

We were warmly greeted by the owner, John, and his mother, Jean. (Barbara is no longer part of the team - a substantial loss because of her undoubted culinary prowess - see previous reviews.)

Christine and Jacqui quickly became very big fans of La Moulin St Jean! I was only slightly less enthusiastic. I felt a bit like a guest in someone's home. Some people like that. I'm less comfortable with it.. My grandsons, on the other hand, felt free and very comfortable. I was a bit uncomfortable because I felt more like a house guest than a customer. I want to be able to order drinks and stuff without feeling I'm intruding!

If you don't suffer from my type of hang up, you'll have a superb time. John goes out of his way to make your stay very special. He provides lots of little touches - like free wine and water in your room, and his charges are extremely reasonable. There's a great guest lounge with loads of DVDs (and games for the kids) where we enjoyed pre-dinner wine. John has a terrific wine selection and he's very knowledgable.

We enjoyed strolling round Saint Jean - especially first thing in the morning before breakfast. Visiting Loches was an experience - interesting heritage combined with mediocre restaurants/bars/cafes. Otherwise, it was suprisingly dead!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Spent three nights at this wonderful B&B. Beautiful setting and extremely accomodating
hosts!! The meals were great and reasonably priced compared to other B&B's we have
stayed at. Our breakfast include wonderful breads, fruits, jams, and many other goodies. Each day we were provided with bottled water and small bottle of wine in our room. a small refrigerator outside our room was nice, as well as a terrific lounge area with a TV and reading material. We found ourselves returning early each day from our excursions to take advantage of the pool and relaxing atmosphere. The small village, where the B &B is located, is a wonderful place to take a stroll, especially after dinner. Barbara and her friend Jane (who was visiting and helping out) were so gracious, we felt as though we were part of the family after our stay. They were also very helpful in making suggetions of things to do. We will definitely return to this lovely B&B in the near future for an extended stay. This B & B is not to be missed! Ryan, James, and Barb

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryrySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Loches hotels
3.8 mi away
Logis Luccotel
Logis Luccotel
#1 of 4 in Loches
373 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel George Sand
Hotel George Sand
#3 of 4 in Loches
200 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 4 in Loches
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Domaine de la Maison Neuve
Domaine de la Maison Neuve
#1 of 1 in Saint-Jean-Saint-Germain
132 reviews
2.8 mi away
Les Troglos de Beaulieu
3.4 mi away
La demeure Saint-Ours
La demeure Saint-Ours
#6 of 11 in Loches
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin de Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin de Saint Jean

Address: rue Saint Jean | St. Germain, 37600, Loches, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Loches
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Loches
Price Range: £72 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Moulin de Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Moulin De Saint Jean France/Loches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing