We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A garden retreat under the ramparts of Loche...”
other travellers have booked this property
garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
garden
private garden garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
69 reviews
garden
private garden
garden
garden
Loches aerial view
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
private garden
garden
garden
private garden
private garden
official entrance
Lilli
garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Loches, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Ingrid S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A garden retreat under the ramparts of Loche castle”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Loche is a town full of history and Sylvia's Villa a l'ancien Pigeonnier is nestled in the centre of it all, steps away from the castle walls. Town centre is only 5 minutes away, including several excellent bakeries. Inside the walled garden is a world of its own, filled with flowers, trees and vines, attracting insects and birds. Our teenage children were delighted to enter the garden via the winding steps within the dovecote. The meals we made in the apartment, we ate in that peaceful garden. Sylvia was kind enough to introduce us to plants and insects that we were unfamiliar with, and we left with some jars of her delicious jams. Thank you Sylvia for a wonderful visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A haven within a historic town.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
It was wonderful to see reunite this big family in my home, hear them go up and down between the different floors, and make the house full of life and joy !
Many thanks for the nice moments and exchanges between us…
Friendly,
Silvia & Lilli & Glenda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawasom...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay in the Loire”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

L'ancien pigeonnier was the PERFECT pied à terre for us during our visit to the Loire Valley. Silvia's attention to detail and her availability is second to none, whether it be concerning the lodging or helping us pick a restaurant.
The photos of her back yard are what convinced us to choose this location and it did not disappoint. It is exactly as it appears. Light dinners in our quiet secluded yard were perfect.
The apartment was spacious and very comfy and afford us all our creature comforts including a large soaker tub. The location is excellent for walking through Loches and within a short drive of most of the valley's Chateaux. We cannot thank her enough for her hospitality. We would highly recommend the Villa to anyone visiting the area.

Mille grazie Silvia

Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Chers Allan & Francine
vos mots réchauffent le coeur ! merci beaucoup pour votre sympathie et pour les nombreux échanges de ces jours... j'espère sincèrement de nous retrouver à nouveau ensemble dans mon jardin une autre fois..
Belles choses à vovus deux,
Silvia & Lilli
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma A
Lismore, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming appartment in beautiful Loches - highly recommended”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a fantastic stay with Silvia in beautiful Loches. The appartment was wonderfully appointed, yet with all the charm and quirkiness of the old building maintained. The location was very central to Loches, and was a wonderful base for exploring the gorgeous Loire Valley and its amazing chateau. The appartment contained everything we needed to make our stay a success, but it was the warmth and friendliness of Silvia (and Lilli and Glenda!) that really made our stay special. The garden was perfect for our two children to unwind in after a day spent exploring, while my husband and I enjoyed a glass of wine and sampled the local specialties. I cannot recommend either Loches or Villa a l'ancien Pigeonnier more highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charming appartment in a fantastic location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
Dear Emma & Peter many thanks for your warm and friendly review : it’s so great to know that my guests were been well here and they lived good and peacefull moments in my property. I love very much to share this little angle of heaven with them, welcoming people from all around the world ! I really hope to meet you again with your lovely children…
Silvia, Lilli & Glenda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joandutoi...
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
“Enchanted garden”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Wee stayed in the garden studio and loved it. Silvia (owner) very friendly and has compiled a lovely and well-organised guide to the surrounding sights (including the castles). We had lovely picnics in the garden and would love to return to explore the vicinity.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The garden.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2015
Kind enthusiastic couple, loving exchanges and natural life, that I’m ready to welcome any moment they desire !
Thanks for all,
Silvia & Lilli
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jandy P
West Malling
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation, perfect position”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a lovely weeks stay, the apartment was perfect for walking into the centre in the evening to eat. The Wednesday market is a must, so is coffee and pain au chocolat at a cafe each morning before going out for the day. The apartment was cosy, well equipped, the bed was very comfy, we both got so much sleep. Silvia was the perfect host, Glenda and Lilli were lovely, they added the finishing touches. I would highly recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2015
Dear Yvonne & Jon, your are so kind and amiable… I'm glad you were able to enjoy every moment of your holiday and I hope to welcome « chez moi » again !
All the best to you two,
Silvia, Lilli & Glenda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
osh0910
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of staying at Villa a l'Ancien Pigeonnier for 4 nights from 27-30 August 2015. We stayed in the studio 'Mauble' - an apartment which overlooked the wonderful garden. The Villa - located in central Loches is built between the first and second defensive walls of the old medieval royal city. With just a short walk (uphill on the way home) from the town centre - it is perfectly located to encourage you to get out and about on your feet and to visit the fab restaurants, cafes and the not to be missed markets on Wednesday and Saturday mornings. The studio was perfectly adequate for the two of us with a room containing a very comfy queen size bed, kitchenette, dining table & chairs and a couple of lounge chairs as well as TV, chest of drawers, small fridge, stove and microwave. In the other room was a great shower, clean toilet and a wardrobe with both hanging and storage space. Through a door is the communal laundry with washing machine, dryer, ironing board and iron.
We were met by our beautiful and friendly hostess Silvia and her pet dog Lilli. Silvia speaks English very well and nothing was too much trouble for her. Silvia makes the best jam - so if you stay there, or elsewhere - get some.
The garden is a great place to relax and unwind - with a glass or two of French red wine. It has a wonderful mix of fruit and ornamental trees and plenty of herbs you can pick at any time.
If we make it back to Loches - sometime in the future - we'll be staying at Villa a l'ancien Pigeonnier.
Thank you Silvia for making our stay so memorable.

Phil and Erica Daymond
Perth
Western Australia

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hostess, location, facilities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
Dear Phil & Erica you are special !! I’m realy touched from your incredible review, and you describe the places with a perfect wealth of detail, worthy of marketing person !
The next time you’ll come here I would like to cook for you an Italian vegetarian dinner, if you like…
All the besto to you two !
Silvia & Lilli
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asadman
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My wife and I and our dog Archie have just had a fantastic 3 weeks in the apartment at L'ancien Pigeonnaire. It is in a really good location with shops, restaurants and a supermarket just a few minutes away, and it was such a pleasure not to have to use the car all the time. There is so muçh to do and see in the area, and even though we were here for 3 weeks, we didn't manage to see it all! The châteaux that we managed to get to were well worth seeing, and we also enjoyed going to the lake beach at Chemilly. The things we enjoyed the most though were the town of Loches itself, and having our meals and generally just sitting about in the lovely, tranquill garden. We feel so lucky to have found Loches, and also to have had the pleasure of meeting and spending time with our fabulous apartment owner Sylvie, who lives on site. Never intrusive, Sylvie was always available when we needed advice about the area or anything else, and nothing was too much trouble for her. The welcome pack she gave us when we arrived was a lovely gesture, and her home made jams are to die for! Finally, the nights out we had watching live bands at Le Caravage in Loches were a real bonus. One day we will return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, garden and resort
Liked least: Nothing - apart from it was too hot!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
Dear Friends
I’m so touched by your words… They give me the impulse and the energy to do always better !
And it was so a pleasure to « make family » with you, always happy and smiling, enjoying you holiday at the best … We can see that you love each other and that you love life…
Sincerely, all the best to you two and to your kind little Archie !
Love,
Silvia & Lilli
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing