We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Porcherie

Cottage and Pool Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage and Pool Area
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Cottage and Pool Area
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge / Diner
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom One
Bedroom One
Bedroom Two
Bedroom Two
Games room
Games room
Gym
Gym
View across garden
Cottage
Cottage
Pool 11 x 4 Metres
Fish pond
Flower box at opening to drive
View across meadow
Le Grand Pré in the Autumn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
La Chatre, Indre, Berry, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Wendy S
Clacton-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I booked this gite after reading the reviews and we weren't disappointed. Just perfect for us a family of five and so clean, (no funny smells to get used to) we quickly felt at home.
It was great to have the heated pool as we were still able to swim even on the rainy days.
The view from the pool and patio is stunning as was the night sky.

You are quite close to the owners home but this wasn't a problem only that I was more conscious of the children's noise/behaviour!!!
Both Tracey and Phil were always happy to help.
Would go again and highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R
Polperro, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent quality and good value for money”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

For those who want a quiet, relaxed holiday this is the ideal location set in the French countryside. Spotless gite with the benefit of heated swimming pool, games room and gym and, while we were there, two very entertainig frogs in the pond!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Simply lovely in all repects.”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This gite is in a class of its own - beautifully restored by the very talented and hard-working owners - and is ideally situated for anyone who is looking for a peaceful rural location not too far from all the shops and things to see. The furnishings and equipment are first-class, and it's good to be able to use the pool and the gym/games room. There is more to do and see around La Chatre than you might think - and it's worth going a bit further to places like Argenton. Thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the gite and the pleasant hosts.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermIslan...
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best holiday Gite we've ever stayed in”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a fantastic week at La Porcherie in August. Phil and Tracey were incredibly friendly and helpful (but very discrete) and we immediately felt at home and relaxed. The brilliant weather allowed us and our two sons (14 & 12) to make the most of the pool and the addition of the games room and use of the running machine & exercise bike were an added bonus. La Porcherie itself is immaculate, with everything thought of and a lovely welcome pack (tea, coffee, croissants, jam, milk, etc.) made it even more welcoming. Nothing has been forgotten and for the times when we needed a break from the sun, there was internet & English TV to entertain our boys. We've already booked for next year and are very much looking forward to it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful surroundings!
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of the week!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJBB77
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Incredibly relaxing”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

What a fantastic week! We were blessed with brilliant weather which meant we could take full advantage of the pool and admire the wonderful views. (The photos don't do it justice).
The gite was was clean and tidy with everything we needed. We didn't venture too far during the week, just some food and wine shopping before heading back to the gite.
Even though the gite is in a quiet hamlet La Chatre is only 10 minutes drive so you don't feel isolated. The best of both worlds.
The games room was a welcome addition and allowed my husband and I to have our yearly table tennis battle!
We enjoyed it so much we've already booked to go again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing