We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable hotel in a great location - the perfect stopover”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de l'Abeille

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de l'Abeille
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A comfortable hotel in a great location - the perfect stopover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

As mentioned in a previous review - the current road works made finding the hotel a bit of a challenge but well worth the effort! Our room was located on the third floor and I had been forewarned of the fact that there was no lift. Our room was delightful - with great attention to detail - and a super large bathroom. Two mini balconies gave us a birds eye view of the town and superb edifice opposite of the Banque de France - complete with magnificent drainpipes embossed with fleur de lys! The beds were comfortable and the sheets were crisp and cool - we felt more like guests of a family home. The receptionist was helpful with instructions and we were able to park later that evening just a few steps from the hotel with a chance to feed the meter for the next morning. It was a choice town to spend the evening in -walking through the old town with narrow cobbled streets full of interesting shops and restaurants and some fine architecture -especially around the cathedral. The location of the hotel was very quiet when you consider that we were in the centre of town. Breakfast was delicious with huge fine china coffee mugs/bowls, fresh fruit, home made confiture and very fresh bread and croissants. Individual butter dishes on our breakfast table - complete with embossed bee - a change from the usual hotel nasties - those iniquitous wraps of butter and jam. A second cup of coffee and we were ready for the last leg home. Great hotel and great service - we'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irretrebor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    127
    25
    8
    2
See reviews for
71
154
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Booked this on the strength of other reviews. Stayed one night on way to South of France.
Excellent room although air-con would have been appreciated on a warm sultry night.
One drawback are the stairs--- winding & steep so travel light if you are staying here!
Struggled to find the hotel as road works forced us to circle for 20 minutes before finding it. Parking only in the street & spaces were limited.

Room Tip: Try for a first floor room unless you want a work-out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed here with our dog as a stop over en route to Calais for one night in September. Parking was find - outside the hotel on a pay and display which even allowed us to pay for the next morning the night before ( just over pay and it gives you parking time for the next morning!). We were in Room 109 and knew what to expect as you can do a virtual tour of the rooms on their website. That said it was a pleasant surprise! The hotel and rooms have such character!
The decor is lovely and the room and bathroom were spotless. This hotel certainly deserves a much higher star rating but it will probably never get it due to the fact that it has no lift and they don't have a fully functional restaurant. It puts some other 4 star hotels to shame!! I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel in terms of value for money, location and character- it won't disappoint.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabuLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

within walking distance from the railway this bee-themed hotel is just gorgeous. Very surprised to see it only has two stars as it is a lot better than many three star ones we have stayed in.
Us oldies would like a lift, but in Europe we are almost happy to manage without them. And yes, the very clean and modern bathroom could be a tad larger. but -- Yes, we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

A truly fabulous hotel. We stayed with our two boys in adjoining room on our way to south of France. It really kick started our holiday. Beautiful rooms each so different with antique furniture and unique decor. Our boys would have happily spent a week there. Huge ensuite bathrooms!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pau1inamillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We booked Hotel de l'Abeille for a stop over on the way day to the South of France and also for our return. There were four of us (2 adults and 2 children 11 years and 2 years) when we booked a family room was not available so we had to book two rooms. This was fine but we stressed that the rooms has to be next to each other. The hotel accommodated our request and on our arrival we were given rooms 109 and 110. It was perfect. The rooms had a further outer door which meant we could leave our bedroom doors open and lock the outer door. This is perfect when travelling with children as they we could leave our doors open without the worry of someone wondering through.

On our second stay we had booked a family suite, however we were very disappointed, the room was beautiful and the bathroom was huge. However the set up of the room consisted of two rooms, in one room was a double bed and a small single bed and in the other room a single bed. As we were travelling with a 2 year old she had to sleep in a travel cot in the double room. This did not give us a lot of room once the cot was up and the dimensions could not work. After making enquiries with the reception staff we ended up changing rooms to two rooms however they did not have two rooms next to each other but they were on the same floor slightly apart. We took one large room (105) and room 109 was available again. This was the best option and worked out well. Besides the little problems on the return journey the staff were very helpful and tried their best to help us.

I would highly recommend this hotel it's cute and and in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We booked 2 nights in a small room but asked to see the larger room too. The small room was a bit small but still gorgeously decorated but we decided to stay an extra night so took a larger room; which was quite spacious.
Rooms had plenty of light and air and were quiet as the hotel is on the corner of the pedestrian street.
When we arrived we were given a welcoming juice drink, I'm not sure if only cyclists get this.
One night we had a picnic dinner on the rooftop terrace and I highly regimens it for the view, peace and quiet and sunset.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orleans hotels
0.8 mi away
Escale Oceania Orleans
Escale Oceania Orleans
#2 of 31 in Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel D'Orleans
Hotel D'Orleans
#3 of 31 in Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empreinte Hotel
Empreinte Hotel
#1 of 31 in Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Marguerite
Hotel Marguerite
#6 of 31 in Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel d'Arc
BEST WESTERN Hotel d'Arc
#10 of 31 in Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Orleans Centre
Mercure Orleans Centre
#4 of 31 in Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Abeille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Abeille

Property: Hotel de l'Abeille
Address: 64 rue d Alsace Lorraine, 45000, Orleans, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in Orleans
#5 Business Hotel in Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Abeille 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de l'Abeille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Abeille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing