We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant little place”
Review of L'Olivier - CLOSED

L'Olivier
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 13 September 2013

OK, I'm only giving this restaurant three stars but I do so with positive intent. We often stay in Orleans for a one night stop-over on our way to or back from various places in the south and this restaurant provided a perfectly good meal at a reasonable price with good service on the first night of our holiday this year. The snails starters weren't wonderful although we all thoroughly enjoyed the main course: I had a steak with foie gras which I really liked, the others had tiger prawns, steak hache and sea food pasta. For deserts the wife and me were reasonably happy with our tiramisu and our two daughters went directly across the narrow street to a creperie for theirs!! We sat outside in the pedestrianized street which is in a very convivial part of town. There are plenty of restaurants in this area so there's no need to book. If you choose this place and you want a pleasant meal with no fuss and no great expense and in a friendly atmosphere then you'll probably it perfectly acceptable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

We dined here when we were in Orleans in August 2012 and had such a good experience we came back a week ago, where we experienced something different.

In 2012 the service was terrific and the food was excellent.
Last week, the service was patchy and the food inconsistent. My daughter had the 18 Euro menu which was pretty good. Her steak with chevre sauce was fantastic and perfectly cooked. On the other hand, my wife and I chose the 26 Euro 'menu gourmand', but the options we chose from the menu were anything but. My sardine terrine was tasty, but didn't seem any more complex than a tin of sardines mashed up. Our entrecotes were stringy and full of gristle, and so thin our request for 'saignant' was a waste of time. My pudding of tarte aux pommes felt like it came straight from the freezer. Definitely not worth 26 Euros. The menu enfant is cheap but limited, and when the chicken nuggets eventually arrived, they were completely burnt on one side, which we only discovered when my daughter complained about them. So the kitchen deliberately hid the fact they'd overcooked them and sent them out anyway.

That's not good enough. L'Olivier needs to buck its ideas up and be more consistent if it want to compete in the centre of Orleans, where there's no shortage of choice. Last year I would have given it a 4-5 star review, but not now...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChrisMoody1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Enjoyed two nice meals in the restaurant when visiting Orleans in June 2013.

Situated in the trendy 'Rue Bourgogne' area this resto offers great fixed priced menus comprising stunning food at great prices.

16 euro per person for a substantial starter, steak main course and desert and great wine by the pichet for a few euros.

Couldn't ask for more!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MPB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daniel-Rabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

1  Thank JPILLZACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Olivier also viewed

Orleans, Loire Valley
Orleans, Loire Valley
 
Orleans, Loire Valley
Orleans, Loire Valley
 
Orleans, Loire Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing