We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best cycle trips you can take”

Loire a Velo Cycle Path
Ranked #9 of 40 things to do in Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Everywheree
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“One of the best cycle trips you can take”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The Loire a velo is a well signposted, easy to ride route through chateaux country. The towns are beatiful, the wine is excellent, the food is too, and you can't go wrong with a short or long trip along this beatiful river.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank WineCycling2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    25
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“An asset to the region”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We have used the Loire a Velo paths on several occasions and found them to be safe, well signed and a pleasure to cycle along. I am a timid cyclist usually, but here you can set off for the day, with a picnic packed, and travel miles on safe pathways dedicated to the cyclist. You travel along the banks of the Loire, seeing towns and chateaux, in complete peace and safety. It's a fantastic asset to the area and one that brings us back again and again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Gracie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seaham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pedalling in the rain”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The path is so well sign posted and the accommodation and eateries are expecting you. Go for it. Hope for good weather, commune with nature and enjoy the stops.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank SeahamGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“What a wonderful asset to the region”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We have spent 6 days cycling on the path, travelling from Nevers to Beaugency, and all things permitting we want to do more next year. Last year we went from Nevers to Sancerre in 2 days and this year from Sancerre to Beaugency in 4. Beautifully maintained, almost no public roads, interesting scenery and towns en route, we have decided that in future we will cycle the other way (upstream) since we think the prevailing wind will more than outweigh the advantages of going downstream. Improvements? Clear a few trees now and then so that there are more views of the river in overgrown sections. Give more information in the excellent Loire a Velo book about town villages and attractions within a couple of miles of the route.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Black_Doris36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Velo+ scheme in Orleans well worth using”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Orleans has 'city bikes' like those in London and other cities. €1 per day to register and then the first 30 minutes are free. You just collect your bike from any 'station' and then return to another elsewhere in the city. If you go over the 30 mins, the next 30 are just 50cents but the stations are located all over so it is easy to exchange your bike for another and start another 30 mins.

From the city centre there is easy access to the bike path along the Loire, we only cycled a short way (15 mins out and 15 back) but would love to go back and follow more of the path.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank susiemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loire a Velo Cycle Path also viewed

Orleans, Loire Valley
Orleans, Loire Valley
 
Saint-Jean-le-Blanc, Orleans
 

Been to Loire a Velo Cycle Path? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing