We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stop over en route to south of france”
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #36 of 87 Hotels in Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

booked this hotel on reviews for our half way stop over to the south of france , usually only stay in 4 star due to working very hard and like quality when im resting ! 2 star this hotel REALLY ! very clean , with loads of effort putt into styling of the rooms , we had 2 , both really individual and different, the shower in our room ( mum and dads ) ! wow quality full unit with jet massage and rain dance head , im in the building trade so know what things cost and the owners could have just cut cost and putt a very low grade electric shower in for about 1/4 of the cost , butt no the choose quality , absolutely would return to this hotel with out a doubt , with a bar this hotel easily 3/4 star.

ps the owners very helpful and speak excellent english. and lickle pizza restaurant 1 min away was excellent also , both hotel and pizza restaurant didnt seem to hate the ENGLISH which was a refreshing change for france , that soon changed when we hit south of france :(

Room Tip: think ours were 15 and 16 over looking car park to front ,
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DABOUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Italia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were able to get a room on a popular weekend and were warmly welcomed at reception. The room was a good size and clean if a little antiquated in its decor. Breakfast was good, plenty to choose from and top up with. Location is the drawback. Not easy to find (though good free parking when you do) and a rather too long walk to the centre of Tours. So, fine if you're willing to drive everywhere, not ideal if you prefer to walk. Being caught in pouring rain both evenings on the trudge back up hill no doubt accentuated this drawback! But the proprietor is very friendly so it has its plus side too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spcmec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed for a single night en route from Bergerac to Yorkshire and found a straightforward midrange typically French hotel.
The proprietor, who greeted us, speaks extremely good English and was very helpful in pointing out where we might like to eat-there is an Italian restaurant about 1 min walk away, but she also gave is a map and showed where the interesting areas of Tours old town and the restaurant areas are.

The room was adequate although somewhat ‘interestingly’ decorated and the bed comfortable. The above bath shower was hot and plentiful and breakfast adequate.

I guess this was an average hotel, and no worse than that, but just remember that it is in the back streets and on the other side of the river to all the real attractions in Tours. You will have a long walk or a short car ride to get to where the real action is.

Onsite free parking is a real attraction.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

So the reason we chose this hotel on our brief visit to Tours was because we were travelling around by car and needed parking. Parking was good. The hotel itself is fairly basic but there is little to complain about

Pros - as mentioned the lady on the front desk is wonderfully helpful and you receive a great welcome. Shower is good. It's in a lovely city, we liked Tours. Room is clean

Cons - room is basic. Bathroom not great apart from shower. Towels v basic. Toilet in small cupboard right next to bed. BIGGEST prob s no air on or even fan so v warm at night

It's a good 25 min walk to Tours and all uphill on way back. I am known for a v brisk walking pace and did not trouble me but others may find it a problem. As mentioned in other reviews few local options for eating. Pizza place was shut both nights we were there but Hey go eat in Tours as its lovely (try L'Academie de la biere near the Cathedral for no nonsense great value French food)

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JJOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The hotel needs some maintenance and air conditioning! The room was small we could barely move with two luggages. The bathroom is not bad, especially the shower, but the toilette is on a separate tiny room with no window or air. There's no lift.
On the positive side, the hotel is located in a very quiet area. There's only a pizzeria at walking distance and few cafeterias that serve lunch. Bus stop is few minutes away.
I'd recommend to pick up a more central hotel to enjoy Tours, which is a vey lively city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manus76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natacha G, Propriétaire at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013
Google Translation

Nous vous remercions d’avoir pris le temps de poster un commentaire au sujet de notre établissement. Le Feed-back de nos clients est très important car cela nous aide à nous améliorer. Veuillez noter que la satisfaction de nos clients est très importante pour nous. C’est pour cela que nous sommes totalement transparent en ce qui concerne nos prestations et l’équipement de notre hôtel. Lors de votre réservation via le site booking vous avez reçu et vous avez pu consulter toutes les informations concernant la chambre et les équipements - il était clairement stipulé le nombre de m2 de la chambre catégorie classique (économique) à savoir 18 m2 et que l’hôtel ne possédez pas de climatisation. Mais sur demande et à disposition vous pouviez profiter de nos ventilateurs. Nous avons pour le confort des clients plusieurs chambres avec les toilettes séparées dans la chambre. Nous ne pensons pas que cela pouvait poser un souci bien au contraire. Effectivement les toilettes ne disposent pas de fenêtre mais la salle de bain en possède une. Vous pouvez alors profiter de la lumière naturelle ce qui est plaisant. Pour l’ascenseur cela est précisé dans les informations importantes que nous n’avons pas étant donné que nous possédons un petit hôtel 2 étoiles avec seulement deux étages. Nous sommes alors étonnés de votre déception concernant ses quelques points que vous connaissiez avant de venir. Et donc nous sommes désolés que cela vous ai pas convenu. Alors lorsque vous titrez votre commentaire « pas aussi bien que prévu » je tenais à vous précisez que vous aviez tous les éléments au préalable pour la sélection de votre séjour. En espérant vous satisfaire une prochaine fois.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here in mid-June on our way to the southwest of France. Very pleasant hotel in a quiet residential street with off-street parking at the front of the hotel. A very friendly lady on reception - if you are checking in after 9 o'clock then telephone ahead and they will give you a code to open the front door and tell you where to collect your room keys. The breakfast room is small but looks out to the back of the hotel onto a garden. There is a very handy Italian restaurant, Pizzaria Gianni, just 50 metres down the street. It was very busy when we got there at 9.30pm and the service was slow but the owner came over and apologised that they were short-staffed that evening and gave us a complimentary aperitif which was a nice touch. We had a good meal there and it seems to be popular with the locals. Our room was very modern with a terrific bathroom and large shower cubicle with a high tech shower - wonderful! I would certainly be happy to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teleworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We booked into this hotel as we had been staying in a cottage and decided to leave a day early due to the conditions at the cottage. My partner looked hotels up on the internet and Hotel Italia came up.
We were greeted by a lovely lady who advised us where to eat, very informative and helpful. We had booked two rooms so my mother in law and partner had a ground floor room. My partner and me had an upstairs room overlooking carpark. There was no noise from the street and the hotel has shutters so you can sleep in without light shinning through the windows. There was no hair dryer or facilities to have a cuppa but we asked and were given all that we needed. The room was big enough for two adults with a super relaxing bed, clean sheets and comfy pillows. The bathroom was amazing. Power shower with massage facilities and a self closing toilet seat!

Wish we had booked in for the week now.

The restaurant round the corner was amazing too. Very busy but didn't have to wait for food to arrive too long. Had complimentary drinks as well! The food was hot and very tasty. Well worth a visit. Unfortunately, the owner didn't open for breakfast!

Thank you for a lovely quality nights sleep and good luck on the birth of your son in July

Daisy, Tania (murchie), Dotty and Pete
From
England xx
xx

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daisyg96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tours hotels
1.4 mi away
B&B Hotel TOURS Nord 2 La petite Arche
1.2 mi away
Ibis Tours Nord
Ibis Tours Nord
#31 of 87 in Tours
296 reviews
3.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Tours Parc Expo Saint-Avertin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Tours Centre
0.8 mi away
Hotel Castel Fleuri
Hotel Castel Fleuri
#12 of 87 in Tours
161 reviews
1.8 mi away
Au Relais Saint Eloi
Au Relais Saint Eloi
#9 of 87 in Tours
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Address: 19 Rue Devilde, 37100, Tours, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 87 Hotels in Tours
Price Range: £43 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Italia 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for both business and for tourism, the hotel is close to major attractions in a quiet area. Want to peace, the 15 rooms offer quiet and beautiful harbor of goods agreements. Lovely and comfortable, the Hotel Italia is characterized by a veranda where you can take your breakfast. They all have bathroom and private health, TNT television and free wireless internet access. Located 30 mn's drive from the castle of Loire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing