We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of La Heraudiere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Heraudiere
Ranked #3 of 23 Tours B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed 5 nights and were sorry we had to leave. Dominique and Virginie are the most attentive hosts, providing us with very good information about the best places to dine in Tours as well as help with our need to do washing and find a local post office as we had been on the road for some time.
The accommodation is fastidiously renovated, an excellent mix of old and new and very comfortable in a quiet area of North Tours. Virginie's breakfast helped set us up for the day with fresh bread, croissants, homemade jam, homemade yoghurt and a wonderful "cafe au lait". We also enjoyed several lengthy conversations with other guests over breakfast as the dining set up encourages this.
We were able to park inside the imposing fence which was very handy as parking on the street was sometimes hard to come by.
Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Robin025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    36
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
63
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We were only able to stay one night and wished we could have stayed longer. The room was beautifully decorated and clean. Breakfast was perfect and exactly when we were ready to eat. We had our own private entrance that exited to a beautiful yard.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulm, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

At the end of June, by the way a very good season to see the Loire castles, we spent 4 nights at this delightful B&B.
Virginie and Dominique are very good hosts. The breakfast with homemade jams , joghurts and very nice croissants and bread is a good start for the day.
We got fanstastic advices where to dine and where to spend the days.
So we went to the most beautiful and interessting castles around Tours.
Tours itsself is worth to spend there almost a day.
We recommand this place as a tipical french historical house with a lot of family history.
We will come again .

Monika & RÜdiger from Germany

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My parents and I stayed at La Héraudière for two nights. We had a wonderful stay and would definitely return. The guest house is situated approximately 10-15 minutes from Tours centre - located in a tranquil neighborhood. The estate itself is set in a forestry garden surrounded by nature. Below are the detailed breakdown of experience-

Arrival: We had emailed in advance to arrange for pick-up and were glad to see Dominique welcoming me us with a smile waiting at the train station upon arrival. Check-in at the guest house was quick and without hassle.

Room: We had reserved the Saint-Martin room (for my parents) and Léonard de Vinci room (for myself). Saint-Martin was spacious with a table inside that we could relax and sip tea during the afternoon - it also had a magnificent view to the front yard with roses blooming during the late-spring early-summer. Léonard de Vinci was on the second floor in an adorable attic setting - it was warm and inviting like staying at a friend's house in the countryside. Both rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, and the washrooms were spotless.

Meal (breakfast): The breakfast consisted of croissants and several types of bread, home-made yogurt, home-made jam, cereal, milk, orange juice, and tea. Our favorite was pairing the home-made yogurt with the home-made jam!

Meal (dinner): We had booked dinner at La Héraudière for one of the nights. Dominique and Virginie were fantastic hosts - our dinner lasted for almost 3 hours because we had such a great time chatting. The evening commenced with a bottle of champagne, then three course meal (with wine), and ended with dessert and tea. Virginie makes delicious food!

Transportation (into the city): Since we didn't have a car, we took the public transportation into Tours centre. There was a bus stop approximately 3-5 minutes of walking from La Héraudière. And the bus ride into the city was about 15 minutes.

Overall, we really enjoyed the time at La Héraudière and would without doubt recommend it to our friends. Dominique and Virginie were friendly and helpful and made our visit to Tours a very special and memorable one.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank Frances604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauting, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

La Héraudière is a beautifully and very tastefully restored historical country house in a large garden. It splendidly retains its historical character while the restoration has brought all the comfort the traveller needs. The character of the building and the rooms is ideally complemented by the traditional french breakfast with home-made confiture and first-class bakery.
Staying there, you get a beautiful feeling of french traditional hospitality in most charming surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Valentin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night while travelling through France, we didn't receive a warm welcome but were instead shown to our room and given a list of things that were forbidden. The room is very comfortable and nicely decorated but there is no TV and WIFI doesn't work in the room, you need to go downstairs to the lounge for this.
We were told we were not allowed to use our iPad at breakfast as the table wasn't big enough (3 people were sitting at the table which easily seats 8) and upon leaving were told we had not paid our bill (in front of other guests). We had in fact prepaid months before.
Virginie needs to take a few lessons in hospitality and the 5.30pm check-in time needs to be reviewed, any other hotel or B & B in the world lets you check-in and get settled by at least 3pm.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BijouxBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propriétaire at La Heraudiere, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
If you wish to check-in at 3 pm, if you wish to watch TV and if you wish to put your iPad in the middle of the table instead of enjoying the French breakfast with the other guests, please choose a large international hotel instead of a bed and breakfast "chez l'habitant". Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My husband and I were delighted to stay at this lovely B&B in the busy city of Tours. We were welcomed by the friendly owners, Virginie and Dominique. Dominique spoke excellent English and was quite helpful in recommending places to eat, and see and even gave us a couple of rides. It's located across the river from the downtown.

The B&B was immaculate and quiet! Our room and private bathroom was lovely, spacious and completely renovated with all of the modern conveniences, while retaining the ceiling beams that date back hundreds of years. The breakfast was typical French, with fresh breads and homemade jams, as well as homemade yogurt and granola.

Truly a lovely place that I would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tours hotels
1.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Chateau Belmont
2.0 mi away
Hotel L'Univers Tours
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ronsard
Hotel Ronsard
#8 of 88 in Tours
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mercure Tours Centre Gare
0.9 mi away
B&B Hotel TOURS Nord 2 La petite Arche
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus L'Artist Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Heraudiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Heraudiere

Property: La Heraudiere
Address: 60 rue Ronsard, 37100, Tours, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Tours
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
la Heraudiere bed and breakfast ( 5 rooms), a splendid house inside the city of TOURS, full of character and typical of the Touraine region (the Loire Valley castles), offering a warm, easygoing and relaxing atmosphere, extends a warm welcome to its guests, all year round. Private parking in a large garden. Easy connection with downtown by the tram or the bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Heraudiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing