We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stayt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel de Tours
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Tours
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were very please with our experience at Grand Hotel de Tours. It is a very short walk from
the main train station. The staff was exceptionally friendly and the desk staff gave us dining and tour recommendations that were first rate.

Our room was very nice and, despite being so close to the station, there was absolutely no noise.

We will always return to this hotel. John Doyel

Room Tip: Room 412 was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnkdoyel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludivine C, Commerciale at Grand Hotel de Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear John,

Thank you for taking time to write a comment.

The Grand Hotel Tours is two steps from the station and located in the city center so you can also discover easily the historic area of Tours (10 min walk).

Our team is available to answer the different needs of our customers and give good recommendations (restaurants, shopinng etc...)
Thank you for all your encouragements.

Do not hesitate to ask for the room 412 during your next stay.

We hope to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel de Tours.

Ludivine Contreau
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

The hotel is located in the center, and it was great. And the hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating.
But the room was very small, and the air conditioning was central, and was working on heat when we wanted some coolness, so we tried to open the windows, and understood that they open to a very loud part of the street, so very little sleep we got that night.
Also, when the hotel promisses a double bed, I don't think that the idea is two twins pushed together

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludivine C, Commerciale at Grand Hotel de Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Alexandra,

Thank you for taking time to write a comment.

As you say, the Grand Hotel Tours is conveniently located in the city center in order to discover all the city on foot.

For the temperature of the room, all rooms are equipped with air conditioners that are programmed in heating mode to allow customers who want a higher level of heating access. For the fresh air mode,you can ask at reception. They manage the system by computer.

We change our last year. We choosed beds that gives us the opportunity to satisfy all our customers. We sincerely apologize that did not appreciate that.

We hope to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel de Tours.

Ludivine Contreau
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The twin rooms are very small with barely any space to walk around the bed. The bathroom is surprisingly bare for a 3 stars hotel. Very noisy location thought very convenient. Altogether okay but not for a 3 stars hotel price.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin65432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludivine C, Commerciale at Grand Hotel de Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Martin,

Thank you for taking time to write a comment.

We do not decide the number of stars awarded. The classification is based on objective criteria rather than subjective opinion based on stay in a room.

Our Classic rooms are approximately 13m ² has a bathroom that has not been renovated in Art Deco style but functional and clean. They overlook a pedestrian street, it is possible that some noise may disturb the most sensitive customers.

Hoping to have responded favorably to your comment,

Ludivine
Sales department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed there last night Friday the 13th ... maybe a bad omen of things to come. We've travelled all over the world and can readily state that this was THE smallest room we've ever seen. Barely enough room to squeeze around the end of the bed ... one of the amour doors couldn't open as it was so close to bed ... hardly enough room to sit at the 'desk' with bed so close ... the only place to set our second suitcase was on the floor which meant we had to avoid stepping on it when getting out of bed.

And what's with the lack of basic amenities like a bar of soap or shampoo? Instead they have an "all-purpose" liquid soap dispenser that is also intended for shampoo. How about an iron? You guessed it - not a chance. These guys are even so cheap they left ONE piece of note paper instead of a full pad. No ice, no coffee/tea maker in rooms, no portable fridge ... we shouldn't have to ask the front desk for these items.

Maybe one day French hoteliers will start to ask themselves why North American and other hotels in other parts of the world can offer their guests all these simple comforts and courtesies at VASTLY lower prices. But we won't hold our breath.

And perhaps the manager could consider actually changing some of these policies instead of lamely defending the status quo whenever he gets criticized.

Melina Cormier & George Scott

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludivine C, Commerciale at Grand Hotel de Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear George,

Thank you for taking time to write a comment.

You tell us having traveled around the world, however we are very surprised to find only one opinion on your profile's Tripadvisor .

Whatever the booked hotel in the world, you cannot get a suite for the price of a standard room.
Our Classic rooms are indeed the smallest rooms we offer and the most accessible in terms of price. Anyway, these rooms are 13sqm.

Courtesy trays are available only in our Superior and Suite rooms. However, you can request one at the reception 24h/24h, like irons.

However, we have two types of rooms more spacious and comfortable. We invite you to discover on our official website.

On the soap and notepad, thank you for drawing our attention to the inconvenience and pass your comments to our management.

Hoping to have responded favorably to your comment,

Ludivine Contreau
Sales department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

An excellent hotel in the heart of a beautiful city. Lovely family room, clean and comfortable. Nice central location near to plenty of good restaurants and shops. Perfect for a stop off on the way from Bordeaux to Cherbourg.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robmc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludivine C, Commerciale at Grand Hotel de Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a comment on tripadvisor.

The Grand Hotel Tours is two steps from the station and located in the city center so you can also discover easily the historic area of Tours (10 min walk).

Do not hesitate to book on our officilal website, we offer the best deals on the hotel website.

We hope to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel de Tours.

Ludivine CONTREAU
Comemrciale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The location was excellent for us on a stopover from 2 weeks in the Dordogne. We drove in to the city and straight in to the recommended Vinci car park. On exiting the car park on foot the hotel was right behind us! It couldn't have been easier (compared to lots of other stop-overs)!

The room was large, very clean and comfortable and we had a view over the station. The bathroom was very luxurious - amazing shower and black free standing bath. We kept the air con all night which we didn't find as noisy as if we were to open the windows and we were actually quite cold when we awoke! Our two children had twin beds which had been converted from a sofa bed I think. The double was absolutely huge - I think we could have all slept in it together!

The receptionist was very helpful and provided us with a map of the city and directions to restaurants and points of interest. There is lots to see so if you are only staying over night its worth trying to arrive here around 4pm so you have time to explore, people watch over a few drinks and enjoy a nice meal. There is a large ferris wheel and carousel by the river if you have children. Beware the ferris wheel is very expensive, I think 4 Euro's each!

McDonalds is just around the corner from the hotel which was very convenient for an English cup of tea and a very swift breakfast that suited all the family so we could be on our way to the Eurotunnel early in the morning. (And certainly cheaper than the breakfast at the hotel).

Room Tip: I would say rooms at the front with the station view are better based on other people's reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EMMA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludivine C, Commerciale at Grand Hotel de Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Emma,

Thank you for your nice comment on Tripadvisor.

As you say, the Grand Hotel Tours is conveniently located in the city center in order to discover all the city on foot.

We have a special rate with the secure Vinci parking few meters ago from the hotel, 8 euros for 24H instead of 11 euros.

We suggest several kind of rooms ranging from Classic Room to the Winston Churhill Suite, and family rooms, adapted to your budget.

Our team is available to answer the different needs of our customersand give good recommendations (restaurants, shopinng etc...)
Just next street, you can find restaurants fast-foods if you want to eat quickly.

The Grand Hotel Tours is two steps from the station and located in the city center so you can also discover easily the historic area of Tours (10 min walk).

Regarding the breakfast buffet which is in the average prices charged by our hotel colleagues, we are proud of the wide range of products. On the menu: coffee, chocolate, selection of teas, juices, breads and pastries, waffles or pancakes, fresh fruit basket, dried fruit, fruit salad, selection of cheeses, yogurt, deli tray, and eggs according to your taste: scrambled or hard-boiled.

We hope to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel de Tours.

Ludivine
Commerciale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent 5 days in Tours to visit the Loire valley and see chateaux.We arrived in Tours by TGV . the station is a minutes walk to the hotel. The staff were ver accommodating and could mostly speak English. our room was ver comfortable. Even though there were no coffee or tea making facilities in our room they were able to supply us with that on request. There was no fridge on the room and as we had our Quaker oats and fruit for breakfast they were able to keep our milk in th reception desk for us. They were able to recommend restaurants and activities for us which we're good too. They told us about the special event of the opening of the tramway. This event was a bonus for us. Everyone inTours must have been out for the party. Plenty of good street entertainment and big rock concert in the evening.Weather was great too. We were able to try out our French speaking in Tours as well as not any people could speakEnglish. the Musee de Beaux art was a particular appeal for me with some wonderfull paintings from thecollectionofCardinal Richelieu. parks and gardens were lovely.We were there in August.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank trish s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludivine C, Commerciale at Grand Hotel de Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking time to wirte a comment on Tripadvisor.

The Grand Hotel Tours is two steps from the station and located in the city center so you can also discover easily the historic area of Tours (10 min walk).

Our team is available to answer the different needs of our customers. Most of them speak a good english.

All superior rooms have a courtesy tray but you can ask at the front desk open 24H/24H. The same if you have food to keep cool.

As you mention, the tram arrived in Tours, and you can find a stop just closed the Grand Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our beautiful city and its attractions with this beautiful weather.

We hope to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel de Tours.

Ludivine
Commerciale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tours hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Univers Tours
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus L'Artist Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Tours Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Chateau Belmont
0.4 mi away
Best Western Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Tours Centre Gare
Ibis Tours Centre Gare
#24 of 87 in Tours
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de Tours

Address: 9 Place du General Leclerc, 37000, Tours, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Tours
Price Range: £58 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel de Tours 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel of Tours has been built in 1927 by the famous architect Maurice BOILLE and the decorator internationally Pierre Chareau. He has recently renovated, the hotel benefits of a contemporary decoration inspired of an Art Déco style of the 30’s.Ideally and strategically situated in the heart of the center of Tours, to 2 minutes walk of center Tours station of the Palais des Congrès of Vinci, Roman historical district and Cathedral which occur near to the hotel.The rooms are spacious, decorated, conditioned equipped of a TV satellite, a free access to Internet and services offered.The hotel is equipped with all the comfort to make your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel de Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tours
Tours Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing