We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Weekend Stay in the heart of Tours”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel de Tours
Ranked #16 of 88 Hotels in Tours
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Superb location right by the Station in the heart of Tours -the staff were very friendly and hospitable, rooms clean with everything you would expect, Breakfast extra but a very good buffet in a pleasant and light dining room. I'd definitely stay again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludivine C, Commerciale at Grand Hotel de Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear David,

Thank you for taking time to wirte a comment.

As said, the Grand Hotel Tours is two steps from the station and located in the city center so you can also discover easily the historic area of Tours (10 min walk).

Our team is available to answer the different needs of our customers.

You can enjoy a hearty buffet breakfast in the dining room from 6.30 am to 10.30 am and to 11.30 am on Sundays.

On the menu: coffee, chocolate, selection of teas, juices, breads and pastries, fresh fruit, dried fruit, fruit salad, cheese selection, yogurt, meat tray: hams and eggs to your liking: scrambled, hard or boiled.
Breakfast is served in your room on request with an extra charge.

We hope to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel de Tours.

Ludivine Contreau
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (946)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel de Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 946 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Great location. right near station. Lovely old building but room was small. Limited view into an internal courtyard. And rate expensive for what it was. Nicely refurbished although room didn't appear to be new. just refreshed

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank aquitania3300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludivine C, Commerciale at Grand Hotel de Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comment.

As your precise, the Grand Hotel Tours is two steps from the station and located in the city center so you can also discover easily the historic area of Tours (10 min walk).

The rooms have been recently renovated in the spirit of the 30s and we suggest several kind of rooms ranging from Classic Room to the Winston Churhill Suite, and family rooms, adapted to your budget. September and october are very busy months for Congress which explains the higher price. Our Confort rooms have overlook to a courtyard, they are very quiet.

We hope to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel de Tours.

Ludivine CONTREUA
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

A beautifully refurbished hotel perfectly located for train travelers. We chose this hotel for its proximity to the station and the wonderful vibrant centre of Tours. We were not disappointed. Big spacious rooms, beautifully renovated stylish bathrooms. The staff were very friendly led by Pauline who is a bubbly helpful person.

Room Tip: Third floor room was terrific with great balconies.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank clj03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludivine C, Commerciale at Grand Hotel de Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comment.

As you precise, the Grand Hotel Tours is two steps from the station and located in the city center so you can also discover easily the historic area of Tours (10 min walk).

Our rooms have been recently renovated in the spirit of the 30s and we appreciate that you have enjoyed our decoration.

Our team is available to answer the different needs of our customers and give good recommendations (restaurants, shopinng etc...)
Thank you for all your encouragements to Pauline, she will be very happy.

We hope to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel de Tours.

Ludivine CONTREAU
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Location is brilliant, room is fine, not very new but you got almost every thing you need, wifi, a/c, and the receptionist is nice. A bit street noise but it would be ok once you close the window.
旅館的位置相當的好,就在車站大門左前方,附近有速食店和餐廳,因為離車站很近所以距遊客中心也很近。有空調,電視,wifi等等,旅館內部裝潢也滿典雅的,櫃檯人員態度也不錯,12點多去check in就可以讓我check in了,省去我寄放行李的麻煩。

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ChineMingDu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludivine C, Commerciale at Grand Hotel de Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comment.

As you say, our hotel is conveniently located. The Grand Hotel Tours is two steps from the station and in the heart of the city center. It is possible that some noise may disturb the most sensitive customers.

All our rooms are decorated in the spirit of the 30s and we assume that choice to offer a different hotel as chain hotels.

Our team is available to answer the different needs of our customers and give good recommendations (restaurants, shopinng etc...)

We also offer a secure and free wifi.

We hope to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel de Tours.

Ludivine CONTREAU
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were very please with our experience at Grand Hotel de Tours. It is a very short walk from
the main train station. The staff was exceptionally friendly and the desk staff gave us dining and tour recommendations that were first rate.

Our room was very nice and, despite being so close to the station, there was absolutely no noise.

We will always return to this hotel. John Doyel

Room Tip: Room 412 was very nice
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnkdoyel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludivine C, Commerciale at Grand Hotel de Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear John,

Thank you for taking time to write a comment.

The Grand Hotel Tours is two steps from the station and located in the city center so you can also discover easily the historic area of Tours (10 min walk).

Our team is available to answer the different needs of our customers and give good recommendations (restaurants, shopinng etc...)
Thank you for all your encouragements.

Do not hesitate to ask for the room 412 during your next stay.

We hope to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel de Tours.

Ludivine Contreau
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The hotel is located in the center, and it was great. And the hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating.
But the room was very small, and the air conditioning was central, and was working on heat when we wanted some coolness, so we tried to open the windows, and understood that they open to a very loud part of the street, so very little sleep we got that night.
Also, when the hotel promisses a double bed, I don't think that the idea is two twins pushed together

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludivine C, Commerciale at Grand Hotel de Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Alexandra,

Thank you for taking time to write a comment.

As you say, the Grand Hotel Tours is conveniently located in the city center in order to discover all the city on foot.

For the temperature of the room, all rooms are equipped with air conditioners that are programmed in heating mode to allow customers who want a higher level of heating access. For the fresh air mode,you can ask at reception. They manage the system by computer.

We change our last year. We choosed beds that gives us the opportunity to satisfy all our customers. We sincerely apologize that did not appreciate that.

We hope to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel de Tours.

Ludivine Contreau
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The twin rooms are very small with barely any space to walk around the bed. The bathroom is surprisingly bare for a 3 stars hotel. Very noisy location thought very convenient. Altogether okay but not for a 3 stars hotel price.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin65432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludivine C, Commerciale at Grand Hotel de Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Martin,

Thank you for taking time to write a comment.

We do not decide the number of stars awarded. The classification is based on objective criteria rather than subjective opinion based on stay in a room.

Our Classic rooms are approximately 13m ² has a bathroom that has not been renovated in Art Deco style but functional and clean. They overlook a pedestrian street, it is possible that some noise may disturb the most sensitive customers.

Hoping to have responded favorably to your comment,

Ludivine
Sales department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tours hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Univers Tours
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus L'Artist Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Tours Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Chateau Belmont
0.4 mi away
Best Western Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ronsard
Hotel Ronsard
#8 of 88 in Tours
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de Tours

Address: 9 Place du General Leclerc, 37000, Tours, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 88 Hotels in Tours
Price Range: £63 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel de Tours 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel of Tours has been built in 1927 by the famous architect Maurice BOILLE and the decorator internationally Pierre Chareau. He has recently renovated, the hotel benefits of a contemporary decoration inspired of an Art Déco style of the 30’s.Ideally and strategically situated in the heart of the center of Tours, to 2 minutes walk of center Tours station of the Palais des Congrès of Vinci, Roman historical district and Cathedral which occur near to the hotel.The rooms are spacious, decorated, conditioned equipped of a TV satellite, a free access to Internet and services offered.The hotel is equipped with all the comfort to make your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel de Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tours
Tours Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing