We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Price, Great Service”
Review of Hotel du Manoir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du Manoir
Ranked #27 of 88 Hotels in Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I stayed there for 3 nights in early August with my wife and daughter.

The good:

The staff were all very friendly, welcoming, helpful. They truly seem to enjoy being the gracious hosts for their guests. Mme. Christine, especially, excelled at providing great service and made us feel very welcome and valued as a guest. Mme. Laurence speaks English fluently (but no one else does), but we still had no trouble communicating with the staff, getting directions, recommendations, etc.. It does help if you speak a little French, though. The staff was very willing to give directions, make a dinner recommendation and reservation, and to call for a taxi.

The hotel is a short walk from the street where most of the restaurants are located, a short walk from the Office of Tourism (this should be one of your first stops), an ATM (across the street from the Office of Tourism), and the train station (probably too far of a walk with luggage, though, so you might want a taxi).

The rooms are a decent size.

The breakfast was good (but expensive at 9 euro's/person).

The hotel lobby and garden are beautiful. Just what you picture in a small town in France.

Free wi-fi

The bad:

No air conditioning, but this is the story almost every where in France. The French simply say that it doesn't get hot enough to need a/c in France, but don't believe them. It gets hot and humid.

Breakfast is expensive at the hotel.

If you stay here:

Have dinner at Le Touron. Laurence recommended this restaurant, and it was one of the highlights of our trip. Excellent food, excellent service, excellent atmosphere. Traditional French cuisine without pretense.

They do not take American (swipe only, no chip) credit cards. You will find this many places in Europe, even if your credit card company tells you that American cards are taken "everywhere."

Overall, I would definitely stay here again. When we left, Mme. Christine and one of housekeepers walked us out to our taxi and stood there waving as we left, as if we were family. We'd never experienced such gracious service at a hotel before (and probably never will again).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravlinGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

Very small room but ok, the bathroom was also ok but had a bathtub with no curtain (I hate this... Avoiding a flood when taking a shower is a challenge!). Also, we were at this hotel with a group of friends with whom we were cycling around the area. Since we all arrived at tho hotel at the same time, hot water was quickly over and some of us had to take a cold shower. Nice breakfast provided, the service is good. If you are looking for a budget solution, this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scalpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This hotel is rated well by some but I do not agree. The rooms are average, parking is hard to come by and the quality is just not there. Rooms are noisy. The staff are friendly however. I would not recommend this hotel and you should not go out of your way to visit this hotel. In spite of the hotel did enjoy our visit to Tours.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Con_Thai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We loved staying this hotel for its location close to the Tours railway station and the great service of the hotel's staff. The hotel manager, Simone, was consistently helpful with all inquiries, including recommending our best restaurant in Tours, Le Theleme. The rooms are small, but in every other regard, we loved this hotel.

Room Tip: Grnd floor rm 6, a triple, is worth the extra $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SFtraveler60_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Spent two nights at Hotel du Manoir at the start of our holiday in the Loire. We arrived on a Ryanair flight, took the airport bus (5€) and then it was just a 5 minute walk. Our room was very comfortable with everything we needed. The breakfast was fantastic with fruit, cereals, lots of different breads, pastries, jams, cheeses and so on – must be one of the best we have had in France! The hotel is located in a side street and within easy walking to all the sights. A perfect place to stay when visiting Tours

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaizieLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

I run a small solo operated French travel agency specialising in custom built, independent tours in France. Tours is an ideal destination for the traveller who wants a short time out of Paris in the provinces and does not want to drive. An hour and a quarter out of Paris, Tours is the centre for trips to the castles of the Loire and is an interesting city in its own right. I visited in September 2009 but have booked people there since.
Hotel du Manoir is excellent. It is two and a half blocks from the main rail station and so within easy distance on foot of restaurants, tourist office (where trips depart) and cultural sites. Owners are unfailingly courteous, friendly and helpful. The breakfast is outstanding for a small hotel. There are many more esteemed hotels where I have not been able to get freshly ground and brewed decaf coffee for breakfast. There is fresh fruit, yoghurt, cheese, cereal and an interesting and changing variety of patisseries and spreads.
Rooms are a good size, scrupulously clean and very comfortable. Monsieur will park your car in the very tight front yard of the hotel. He mended my computer overnight and presented it to me at breakfast next morning. I have probably booked about 12 lots of clients here and they all have loved the hotel and really appreciated the service, the comfort, the breakfast and the convenience. Many of these clients would normally be three or four star hotel clients who were delighted. Well recommended on every count.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aboutfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We stopped at Tours on our way back to Calais with four fractious kids and a fractious couple of parents! We wandered around and decided to stay the night. Looking in our Rough Guide we found this little gem and happily got two rooms big enough for us all.

It was lovely, quiet, friendly, clean and a haven for us after a hard day's travel.

We got a good deal for us all and it included three free breakfasts. No matter what you usually think about hotel breakfasts: have this one! It was a lovely range of meat, cheese, eggs, yoghurts and pastries. Top of the range and all organic - a real treat and genuinely delicious, not a packaged thing in sight (apart from some of the jams).

Can't recommend this highly enough, we'll be back.

When you eat out in the evening take a good walk around the old town before choosing, lots of great and unusual places. Don't forget many don't open until 7pm though.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank overthemill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tours hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#9 of 88 in Tours
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus L'Artist Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colbert
Hotel Colbert
#4 of 88 in Tours
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ronsard
Hotel Ronsard
#7 of 88 in Tours
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Val de Loire Hotel
Val de Loire Hotel
#30 of 88 in Tours
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Univers Tours
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Manoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Manoir

Address: 2 rue Traversiere, 37000, Tours, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Tours
Price Range: £51 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Manoir 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet street of the city center, the hotel is a 5-minute walk away from Tours train station. Our 20 rooms all have en-suite bathroom and TV. All floors can be easily reached with our lift. Paying parking spaces are available upon previous request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Manoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Manoir Hotel
Du Manoir Tours

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing