We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great service, great location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Saint Honore

Le Saint Honore
Ranked #52 of 578 Restaurants in Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Great food, great service, great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great food in a cosy location with great service. Special attendance by owner and chef, can warmly recommend! Fantastic food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FredaSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    50
    11
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
la Chartre sur le Loir
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was the fourth time that we have taken friends to this charming and intimate place in the shadow of the great cathedral of Tours. Here you will find the genuine French restaurant that we all dream about. A passionate chef proprietor and his courteous wife who make you feel at home in this gastronomiic treasure. On this occaison there was a special lobster menu as well as the normal "carte" and the a la carte choices. I am happy to see a small list of choices - more than a dozen dishes in each section makes me suspicious of Brake Brothers freezer to microwave cooking.

I ate a delicious and unusual tomato, basil and couscous sald and wonderful rabbit with rosemary; my companions. Both chose the lobster menu and there were clean plates all round. Surprising desserts of fruit and herbs, thyme with apricots and basil with strawberries. Home made nibbles, a very good amuse bouche of cream of mesclun and home made petits fours with coffee. We drank a first class white Chinon that I had not tasted before.

This is a small and special place, so booking is essential if you want to enjoy the ambiance and interesting decor of kitchenalia. Not cheap but real value for money from this meticulous chef who uses only the best of fresh, regional produce. Charming service from a very young waitress who understood the details of all the dishes. Worth a detour!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank docgarlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Intimate and, indeed, "incontournable"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Le Saint Honore might be able to seat 16 people. Benoit, the chef and proprietor, personally waited on us and explained all the food. Our innkeeper from La Maison Jules said that he is also a hunter and a fisher and grows his own vegetables. We started with a beautiful appetizer tray, with cheeses (a Parmesan lollipop) and olives and what I am sure were homemade millefeuille breadsticks. After that was a tiny rillon - pork fat. Then we had a wreath-shaped appetizer, made from a fish I think he called Lisette, with arugula, cilantro, and coriander. I had the beef tournados, which came from beef that have roamed wild in the Camargues since time immemorial. Dessert for me was la Marquise, a fabulous chocolate cake. The one I had a few days later my favorite restaurant in Paris was firmer and not quite as delectable. My husband had a pear stuffed with sorbet. Then we had mignardises, including a sort of orange-flavored marshmallow and some chocolate items. Superb, utterly comfortable, and a breathtaking walk back to La Maison Jules, past the flying buttresses of St. Julien and the 18th c. aura of Rue Racine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T0urist2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
151 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very nice french food, place and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have lived in Tours for some months and this was one of the best restaurants we have gone. The bread, the main course and the desert (tarte fine) were really delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clicia-Leite-Antao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“excellent local cuisíne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Found this place through chowhound. It was awesome in so many ways: excellent ingredients, attentive service, good value with their set menu, and above all, it was full of locals. Amazing cheese course. Good wine selection. Al so glad it was more casually dressed crowd since we were on vacation.

So glad we trekked here tonight.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EBY_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Saint Honore also viewed

Tours, Loire Valley
Saint Avertin, Tours
 
Tours, Loire Valley
Tours, Loire Valley
 

Been to Le Saint Honore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing