We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast was perhaps my favorite ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Chateau Belmont
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Breakfast was perhaps my favorite ever”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

OK, this hotel overall is probably only a 4 dot review, but the breakfast made me up my rating.
The restaurant in general had top notch service and very good food. The breakfast, seemed to be the usual European hotel thing, where everything is set out and you help yourself. However, each little thing I ate was exceptionally good. The juice (orange and grapefruit) was fresh squeezed. The yogurt was amazing, it was not prepackaged and seemed to have fresh fruit puree of different flavors on top, in little individual jars. The croissant was the best one I had in France. The hot cocoa was delicious. It didn't seem like it was anything special, but each item was super high quality and this breakfast really stood out.

The service was OK. As others have said, it was not what I would expect from a 4 star hotel, but it also wasn't bad. We weren't able to get a taxi from the train station, after a long wait I called the hotel and they told me wait longer. Also, our tour company supposedly sent all our travel documents to the hotel, but they didn't know anything about it at the hotel. Passable service, certainly not great.

The hotel is really pretty, and we did get a room in the "chateau" part, and not in one of the modern buildings. The room was decorated very nicely, sparse but soothing. The bed was super comfy, with nice linens. The air conditioning didn't keep the room as cool as I would like, but it wasn't too bad. Nice bathroom.

Overall, I would give the place probably a 4 dot rating, but the breakfast seemed to warrant some extra recognition.

Room Tip: I would try to get a room in the Chateau part, and not the modern building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlsybrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    235
    56
    19
    2
See reviews for
102
373
4
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
University Park
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Don’t expect four-star service at this hotel, even if you pay four-star prices for the (spacious) suites in the main building. There is no evening linen replacement, no turndown service, and no chocolates on the pillows. We were on the first floor, and had a good bit of noise from the service areas on the second floor until late in the evening. Breakfast is expensive, but there is an excellent buffet, and you can eat on the outside terrace in good weather. The hotel is a bit out of the center of Tours, about a 20-minute walk from the south bank of the Loire. The main reason to stay here is the parking, which is either outside or in the smallish garage. If you are taking day trips to Loire châteaux, it is relatively easy to get to and from the hotel without negotiating the maze of one-way streets in the old city. One caveat: the hotel does not provide adequate directions for finding your way there to check in. The hotel web site directions (in late July) led us to a bridge that was by then permanently closed to traffic in the direction we needed to go. It took about an hour of driving in circles in rush-hour traffic to find the place.

Room Tip: I would have to agree with other reviews that the main house rooms are noisy; perhaps the annex is q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were on a family holiday, and had moved from Paris to begin our 4 city France tour. This hotel was recommended by a friend, and we simply took it on. On arrival we were warmly received and upgraded to bigger rooms. And what rooms! My family was ecstatic, and I breathed easy, as the Paris stay was not so joyful. The 3 nights here were amongst our best hotel stays, and we do travel a fair bit. The entire place is magical. The dinner menu, though minimal, is just super. each dish is very well prepared. And then the options are all around too. The walk to the city center and the sights can be an effort for some, but the tram was about to begin commercial runs, and the tram station is hardly a distance. In any case, these people will fix your pick and drop for chateau visits, and that is actually far better. If you want to be charmed by Tours, staying at City center is avoidable, for this place brings the entire charm right to you!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajay1964_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Easy to find at the end of a long day driving. Lots of secure parking space as the hotel is gated with an intercom to gain access. Very helpful,friendly staff. We had a family suite in the new extension. Very clean, very well equipped, tiny kitchenette, large bathroom, small 'lounge' area, tv in each 'bedroom', ideal space for family with 12 and 14 year olds. Very quiet, I'm a light sleeper and never heard other guests. Dinner in the restaurant was good,lovely to sit outside,good service. Excellent breakfast in the room. Pool great for kids after being in the car. We all liked the calm of the hotel,it was sweet seeing the residents of the old people's home sitting in the shade enjoying playing scrabble. The walk into town takes 20mins,longer coming back because its uphill. However a tram is due to open in August going direct into town. Loved our 2 night stay. In a different league to stopovers like novotels, which are great value, but this was a real treat.

Room Tip: We stayed in the modern part,family suite provided a little bit of privacy between kids and parents...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiat500Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived here - the hotel is very attractive, lovely grounds and a pleasant terrace where we enjoyed a late lunch. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived, but that was no real problem as we were happy to have lunch first. We had booked a family suite, with two double beds and, as we have teenage kids, I asked for an extra bed, which was there as requested. However, one of the double beds already in the room was actually two singles pushed together so that was completely fine for our girls so we didn't really need the extra bed. The room was very clean, the bathroom was nice and big and the air conditioning worked well - a real blessing overnight!!! It was a fantastic experience and I only wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Family suites have 1 double bed and one super king (ie two singles pushed together) which is ideal f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

When we booked here we thought that the whole hotel was inside a fascinating old "chateau" building. When we arrived, we found out that our room was inside a modern structure that wasn't fascinating at all. Beside this, the room was surprisingly large, but we didn't really appreciate the fact that a piece furniture was located at the end of the bed (I'm quite tall so sometimes I got hurt because of my feet knocking against it) and that wc and bathroom were located in two separated spaces, very far from the other.
Also, the room telephone didn't appear to work so I had to walk 7am in the morning in my pyjamas to the reception, which perhaps was located in the other building, and this because they forgot to restore coffee on my last day...
Beside being disappointed with these points of our stay, we found out that staff was kind with us, and that the restaurant was VERY nice. We ate there 3 times, and generally we never go more than twice to the same place during the same vacation.
Regarding the position, it is just close enough to city centre, but not in the city centre. But that could be a positive thing..

Room Tip: Book one of the suites, as they're inside the chateau. Don't book other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralphmosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights mid August in the "annexe" - a junior suite.
Room, service, food and facilities were without fault.
Wish we had realised that there was a mini fridge and cooking facilities - but then we may not have eaten in the restaurant - which was a treat in itself.
Hopefully for you the evenings will also be gloriously warm so you can eat on the gravel court yard.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tours
1.2 mi away
Hotel L'Univers Tours
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus L'Artist Hotel
7.4 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Inter-Hotel Le Garden Tours-Sud
Inter-Hotel Le Garden Tours-Sud
#1 of 10 in Chambray-Les-Tours
292 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Tours Nord
Mercure Tours Nord
#6 of 88 in Tours
552 reviews
8.7 mi away
Chateau d'Artigny
Chateau d'Artigny
#2 of 4 in Montbazon
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Chateau Belmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Chateau Belmont

Property: Clarion Hotel Chateau Belmont
Address: 57 rue Groison, 37100, Tours, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tours
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tours
#4 Business Hotel in Tours
#8 Family Hotel in Tours
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Chateau Belmont 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Depuis Avril 2011, le Clarion Hotel Chateau Belmont a ouvert ses portes et le site s'est vu transforme. 65 Chambres et suites acceuillent une clientele touristique mais egalement d'affaires dans un decor tour a tour moderne ou romantique mais toujours elegant.L'espace bien etre avec piscine couverte, hammam, sauna, salle de fitness et cabine de soins, invite a la detente. Derriere la verriere on decouvre un bar et un restaurant dont la carte change au gre des saisons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel Chateau Belmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Belmont Tours
Chateau Belmont Hotel Tours

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing