We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like a 3 star”
Review of Citotel Criden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citotel Criden
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
207 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Feels like a 3 star”
Reviewed 13 August 2011

New rooms, good bed, great breakfast, pretty well located. Rather impersonal, otherwise, but very comfortable

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PickyTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    113
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
54
85
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I stayed here for four nights in late June 2011. The hotel is an easy walk from the train station (Tours, not St. Pierre des Corps!). The side I stayed on was open to a courtyard and so was quieter than the front. It was nearly 38C (100F) on two days I stayed so lack of A/C was a bit rough but was fine with windows open. The hotel is clean and the breakfast for euro 7.5 is a good deal with good variety of options. The decorations and construction pictures on walls of Paris and the Tour d'Eifel are interesting and amusing!

The price was very reasonable for a two star hotel and I found the staff very accomodating of my poor French. If you are expecting a 24-hour full service hotel you'll need to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CLLtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

we stayed for 2 nights(1st and 2nd Sept), the triple room was clean and bedding was comfortable. The hotel has private car park. We enjoyed the breakfast at the outdoor platform. Most impressed was hotel receptionists (We meet two ladys who are pleasant, very helpful and patient).

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReinieWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esslingen am Neckar, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We booked this hotel months in advance using Booking.com as we needed a 1 night stay overnight, on the way to a wedding in France.

We were a party of
1) Two adults and a baby
2) Two adults
and
3) Two adults and two children

When the first group in the party arrived to check in, they were told that we had telephoned to cancel and that the rooms had consequently been given to other guests. NOT TRUE - NO ONE IN THE PARTY HAD TELEPHONED

When the second group arrived, the hotel produced a copy of an email that they had alledgedly sent asking us to cancel the booking because they had no baby beds anymore. WE NEVER RECEIVED THIS EMAIL -and anyway had our own baby bed.

NOW WE ARE BEING CHARGED AS A NO-SHOW - SCANDALOUS!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PrincessLeia_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

After reading all these positive views I booked this hotel for one night while I was visiting the Loire valley with my mother. My stay was well below my expectations. The hotel is located on a busy road. Although most of the rooms are facing the backyard, at night you can clearly hear traffic noise (even with earplugs). The reception is clean and modern, the receptionist was a nice but very laid-back guy. The pillows were very soft, so I asked for an extra pillow, he told me no worries, but he forgot to send them in the room. As I arrived the hotel after the reception was closed (11 pm) I did not have any extra pillows. When I reminded this to the new receptionist in the morning, she did not even feel obliged to say sorry. She did not care. Room was very simple with no air-conditioning (and in August it is very hot, it was 35 degrees when we were there). There was a wifi but I did not use, so cannot comment. Breakfast is served in a nice terrace, but it is also very simple with small variety of choices. It is not included in the rate. It finishes at 10 am, so if you wake up late, be careful. There is free public parking on front of the hotel, so it was nice. The location of the hotel is not great, as it is a walking distance of more than 20 minutes to main attractions (which is a lot in a small city like Tours). Finally, I would not really say it is value-for-money, as you add up breakfast to the rates it is not the cheapest place you could stay for what they offer.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bahadir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Am increasingly impressed with this Citotel chain in France and Criden is no exception. They all strike me as older hotels getting trendy modern overhauls and Criden is a work in progress. Small, personable, family owned and operated seem to characterise this chain and the private parking, central location and helpful staff here in Tours fit the bill. Whioe our room was a little tired, the ensuite was recenty renovated and impressive and the hotel certainly feels like it's on the up - would definately recommend it for a short stay in Tours.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2009

After one hour of searching a good hotel and not too expensive in Tours, we already almost gave up, we luckily found this hotel. Compared to the other hotels in the same category in Tours this hotel is really a treasure. The hotel is renovated, clean and the rooms are spacious with a little balcony. And the price is great too for what you get. I would love to come back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tours hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus L'Artist Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel de Tours
Grand Hotel de Tours
#16 of 88 in Tours
817 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Univers Tours
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#13 of 88 in Tours
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ronsard
Hotel Ronsard
#8 of 88 in Tours
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Tours Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citotel Criden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citotel Criden

Property: Citotel Criden
Address: 65 boulevard Heurteloup, 37000, Tours, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Tours
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Citotel Criden 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Citotel Criden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citotel Criden Tours
Citotel Criden Hotel Tours

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing