We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb inventive food & great service”
Review of L'Arome

L'Arome
Ranked #59 of 588 Restaurants in Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Superb inventive food & great service”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

When I travel I always research where I plan to eat. L'Arome is a case in point where research pays off big time.

There's no chance we would have chosen this restaurant without knowing about it. It's on an innocuous street in downtown Tours. But what a find.

Right from the amuse bouche through to the dessert everything was exceptional. This was the work of a chef who understands flavour.

The amuse bouche of sardine spread with croutons was addictive as was the delicious bread. Both the starters of Marbré de cèpes and the Artichoke Conchiglie with Ham were fabulous.

My main of Gambas (prawns) with Cauliflower Risotto was delicious and my wife declared her Pork Mignons with smoky aubergine as brilliant.

Desserts were also fantastic with both of us rating them 10/10.

I find it hard to believe the comments about poor service by a previous reviewer. The service we had was exemplary. Everybody was happy to speak some English and they were genuinely interested in ensuring we enjoyed ourselves.

The old town of Tours is worth a nights stay and if you do go there then beat a path to L'Arome (having made sure to book first). You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingEpicurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    119
    40
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice food, rude arrogant staff”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Went on the recommendation from a friend. The food was really good, but that goes for a lot of restaurants down that particular road. The staff, on the other hand, were quite rude and weren't very helpful. I would recommend having a look at some other restaurants in the area before settling on this one.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hazzadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennett Square, PA USA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“An incredible dining experience!”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We had a party of 8 the night we dined in this restaurant. I was most impressed with the arrangement of 4 tables pushed together to make a large square. This allowed us to all see each other for easy conversation. The food was outstanding from start to finish and fairly priced.

Please treat yourself to a wonderful meal and dine at L'Arome!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bouncingbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal and service of honeymoon”
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

This place was a real find. Jerome was amazing and by far the best service we received in a 10 day trip in France. The food was great and his wine knowledge was second to none.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kateb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

We came here for our last night in Tours and were very glad that we did. Everything from the food to the service was superb. The prices were also very reasonable which was a pleasant surprise. We had three courses and a lovely bottle of wine and it only came to around 30 euros. Considering that the night previous we had eaten in the awful Hippopotamus restaurant and paid 20 euros for a horrible burger and a martini, I am relieved that we came here for our last night and experienced fine French cuisine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Sim494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Arome also viewed

Tours, Loire Valley
Tours, Loire Valley
 
Tours, Loire Valley
Tours, Loire Valley
 

Been to L'Arome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing