We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Hotel Colbert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Colbert
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I loved this place and only regret that I couldn't stay longer. The owners were very lovely and helpful. Spacious and clean rooms. Mine had a balcony overlooking the street below. Located on a busy little laneway with great restaurants and within walking distance to the attractions. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erskine1762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

Hotel Colbert had the friendliest most helpful owner we’ve ever encountered, he just could not do enough to make our stay wonderful. Location is brilliant, right in the centre of things, but our courtyard facing room was very quiet. The owner gave us a selection of recommendations for dinner. Loved our room (which seemed especially huge after Paris), and slept very well. Modern bathroom with huge shower head. Breakfast was fabulous, well worth the price (which from memory I think was €7). Only a 2min walk to the Loire River, with its lovely bridges and also close to the Tours Cathedral. We arrived after 5pm and were able to find onstreet parking nearby. All in all, a great hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMBHL_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with friends for a night and we are so glad we did.
I will say it is a little tired but the current owner has owned it for two years and is self renovating it. We stayed in the red room, being Europe you have to climb stairs (be prepared) this is one of the renovated rooms, might not be quite my thing, but it was well done.
They have the most lovely courtyard where we enjoyed a drink before heading out for the evening.
Breakfast was lovely served by the owner, he was really lovely and took time to chat and help us any way he could.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PIKMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Emmanuelle and Olivier Marbotte run their 30 room hotel with a great deal of attention and care. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms have plenty of hot water. Everything is spotlessly clean. It is a great starting point to discover Tours. The hôtel is situated on a pedestrian street with plenty of restaurants. It is close to the City centre and the university. I was in town for 2 nights with my 11 year old son and we were well looked after...restaurant recommandations, sites to visit, taxis ordered and early breakfasts. And the rates are really reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This hotel is a great deal located in the center of Tours within walking distance of pretty much everything. Large rooms, recently renovated, free wifi and a very welcoming host/hostess. Very nice if a little sparse and very reasonably priced. Received a great restaurant recommendation from the hotel owner.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank GoneDivingVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The Hotel Colbert is a nice, affordable little hotel in the center of Tours. It is on a pedestrian street with the closest parking around the corner. We were there on a Sunday night, so luckily the parking was relatively available. The hotel owner was very pleasant and friendly, he gave us recommendations for restaurants that evening and suggested walking around the Old Town of Tours, which we really enjoyed. The rooms themselves are fairly standard, nothing incredibly luxurious, but comfortable. The hotel is superbly located for heading out to the nearby chateaux, specifically Chenonceau, which is about 30 minutes to the East of Tours.
One thing I would recommend is a hairdryer in the room. As we were there in winter, having wet hair and then touring chateaux was a recipe for quite a bad cold!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAK314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Stayed here three nights and enjoyed our stay. The rooms are very neat and tidy - some seem to be a little overpowered by dark wall paint but ours was papered with a blue / white stripe which made the room seem lighter. Bathroom was small but recently renovated and more than adequate. Breakfast is typical French continental style - good coffee, great bread, preserves, croissants plus juice and yoghurt were also available. The host is friendly and very helpful - the charming little cavalier King Charles spaniel is welcoming as well. This hotel grows on you but bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper as the front rooms overlook the street and people seem to talk very loudly at 2 am.
Location is central and an easy walk to and from the train with luggage.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook a street that has noise from late night revellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harry036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tours hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel L'Univers Tours
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus L'Artist Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ronsard
Hotel Ronsard
#7 of 88 in Tours
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#9 of 88 in Tours
349 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Chateau Belmont
0.1 mi away
Best Western Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colbert

Address: 78 rue Colbert, 37000, Tours, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tours
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tours
Price Range: £55 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Colbert 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Colbert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colbert Hotel Tours

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing