We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antique value”
Review of Hotel de L'Europe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de L'Europe
Ranked #40 of 87 Hotels in Tours
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel is across the street from the rail station and this alone reduces the hassle of travel. My tiny room was adequate, furnishings old, but all, basic and clean. I had a few twists, turns, and steps to get to my room, a disadvantage when carrying.luggage, bags, et al. I am a senior and traveling alone. I probably would not return here for this reason alone. Next I contemplate how I am going to safely navigate my steps upon leaving.

The breakfast is adequate, juice, prepackaged fruit compote, coffee, tea, cold cereal, ham, cheese, croissants, French bread and old apples.

Room Tip: Elder travelers should avoid due to the steps.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eiram55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de L'Europe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel is located across the street from Tours Center train station. There are several trains each hour from Tours Center to Tours - St Pierre to transfer other places. Hotel is a block away from the DaVinci conference center and Tourist office. USE the tourist office to book the minibus/van tours to the Chateaus and castles. The prices for souvenirs at the tourist office is actually the best I found.

The ONLY thing about the hotel that I found lacking was the Wifi signal was poor when the hotel was full in the late afternoon/evening. When everyone was at conference, it was fine.

Now all the GREAT stuff with the hotel. The bakery next door is the best in France, it is not open on the weekends though. Try the strawberry tart, it is AWESOME. Back to the hotel...it is VERY CLEAN, and the staff is great. They do take your key when you leave the hotel, that way you don't lose it. The rooms are kinda strange. One room is the sink, another room is the shower, and another the toilet. The building itself is very old, but kept immaculate.

Try Chef Duong's for Chinese food if you are in Tours.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank decon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

It is a last minute booking. My boyfriend and I popped in to the hotel, been quoted €72 (excluded VAT) for a room with bath. The room was amazingly big and with balcony. Seperate bathroom and toilet. Their room keys were quite a design. Love it!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Naomi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed here for three weeks when studying in Tours. After travelling around Europe, I realise how good this place was!! The room is quite small but is has everything that you need - double bed, shower, sink, toilet, desk and a cupboard. The breakfast is excellent and there is a wide variety of croissants, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, baguette bread roll, jams, meat, cheese, juice, tea and coffee. The hotel is family run and they are very friendly. It is also located very centrally - across the road from the train station and a short walk from the main shopping street in Tours. I will definitely stay here when I come back!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Excellent value for money. Great location next to the station and close to all facilities, clean, comfortable rooms, friendly staff who speak English and a reception that is open 24 hours a day. Perfect for my regular visits to Tours.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Citotel Hotels
Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I just loved the quaint old place. The bathroom hiding behind what looked like the wardrobe door. The funny old key, the stairwell, the lift stopping at the half landing. Very clean, staff welcoming (mostly family) and friendly. We stayed four nights. Superbly close to the train station which was just marvellous as Tours was a base for visiting various places in the area.

The bed was hard and the wifi was a big problem. Even when reported to staff that it had stopped working they either said it was fine, or didn't know how to reboot the struggling system.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flica3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My daughter and I stayed here one night while visiting the chateaux of the Loire. It is right across from the train station and very convenient for spending a day in the city. The staff was welcoming and the breakfast was excellent. Our room was clean and cozy. The restaurant next door, L'Odeon, was outstanding.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlaskanSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tours hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Rosny
Hotel de Rosny
#57 of 87 in Tours
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel de Tours
Grand Hotel de Tours
#16 of 87 in Tours
948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Citotel Criden
Citotel Criden
#18 of 87 in Tours
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Val de Loire Hotel
Val de Loire Hotel
#32 of 87 in Tours
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colbert
Hotel Colbert
#4 of 87 in Tours
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Theatre
Hotel du Theatre
#41 of 87 in Tours
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de L'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de L'Europe

Address: 12 Place du General Leclerc, 37000, Tours, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 87 Hotels in Tours
Price Range: £58 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de L'Europe 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de L'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing