We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to stay and eat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Le Relais Du Moulin
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Valencay
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great to stay and eat”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here with friends as a one night stop over. From the beginning to end we had a lovely experience. The staff were very friendly, the rooms were clean and the wifi was great! We ate at the restaurant for dinner and then breakfast the next morning. Dinner was delicious, our table ordered meals of beef tenderloin, suckling pork and lamb shanks - everyone was very happy with the quality of their meals, it was also very well priced! Breakfast wasn't gourmet but it was good and definitely sufficient croissants, brioche, yoghurt, stewed fruits, cereal, spreads and tea and coffee. Would stay here again for sure!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    41
    33
    16
    7
See reviews for
37
42
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montlucon, France
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This is a pleasant enough hotel but when we stayed it was mid 30sC. The room was very stuffy and the restaurant unbearable with not enough tables on the terrace. For 3 stars it was disappointing not to have air-con. The food was OK, although the salad dressing could have been tastier. The bathroom needs work too as there is nowhere to hook the shower head up which is pretty appalling in this day and age :-(

Room Tip: Not overlooking the patio (restaurant) if it's warm as the noise from diners is loud when the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rougepasmort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed here with group and thought it excellent, very reasonable price, clean room, good food and friendly staff. The chateau of Chaumont is very near and worth visiting, was residence of Talleyrand and his furniture etc., is still there. Very well preserved.

Room Tip: some rooms have view of the chateau
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wishyouwerehere17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We were travelling and booking as we went and this was the only hotel open in Valencay.
The room was fairly clean although there was a line of dust along the carpet by the wardrobes.
The sink in the bathroom was cracked right across. The bath was tiny and the shower screen scruffy.
The steak and chips in the restaurant was dreadful although service was fast. We washed it down with some good red wine.
Breakfast was the usual buffet.
They did allow us to park the motorbike in the fenced area by the kitchen and we appreciated that.
As a one off it did the job and was cheap, 160 Euros for dinner, B&B and wine.
I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCTilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This place is the most tasteless hotel I have ever visited in France, by far!
If you have some trace of taste less, stay far away from this disaster. The room was
extremely charmless, though perfectly clean. The food was really not good, with all respect. Oh no, the desert was good. Therefore our suspicion that maybe the actual cook was a desert cook. The pool including the jacuzzi is nice, so is the garden/surroundings! It is some 500ms from the Château which is worth visiting. We were very happy to leave this place!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucasDattelbecher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Valencay hotels

uk
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This hotel is good for a stay over, although I would not want to stay more than one night. The food in the restaurant was very good and the service very good. The room was pretty basic, small bathroom and the decor is disappointing.
There is however a very nice pool (heated) which is open til 10 p.m. and a pool table in reception area.
The walk to the Chateau is only 5-10 mins and there are some shows on in the evening during August (we heard the fireworks at midnight!). The chateau is beautiful and worth a look.
This hotel is good value, comfortable, not luxury and you might be disappointed by the outer appearance which is a bit plain. There are some nice grounds and our room did have a nice outlook.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valencay
11.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Saint Aignan
Grand Hotel Saint Aignan
#3 of 3 in Saint-Aignan
191 reviews
22.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Bellevue
Hotel Restaurant Le Bellevue
#3 of 4 in Montrichard
151 reviews
23.8 mi away
Chateau de Chissay
Chateau de Chissay
#1 of 2 in Chissay-en-Touraine
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Chateau de la Menaudiere
Chateau de la Menaudiere
#2 of 2 in Chissay-en-Touraine
103 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de l'Ecole
18.0 mi away
Hotel Le Vieux Fusil
Hotel Le Vieux Fusil
#1 of 1 in Soings-en-Sologne
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Le Relais Du Moulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Le Relais Du Moulin

Property: Hotel Restaurant Le Relais Du Moulin
Address: 94 rue Nationale, 36600 Valencay, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Indre > Valencay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Valencay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Le Relais Du Moulin 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Relais Du Moulin is located in Valencay, close to the Nahon River and features comfortable and affordable accommodation.Guestrooms are cosy and spacious and offer different views of the surrounding area including Talleyrand Castle, the river and the surrounding vineyards.All of the rooms are equipped with modern en suite facilities and Wi-Fi internet access is available in the hotel’s public areas and is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Le Relais Du Moulin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing