We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and acceptable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Colombien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Colombien
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Villandry
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
318 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Convenient and acceptable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We did not stay at the hotel, but had lunch in the small outside terrace. The hotel was rather busy and the service, while ok, was a bit rushed. We had the impression the kitchen was also a bit overwhelmed by the number of diners (a tour group perhaps?). Still, the food was not bad and the place is pleasant enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGumnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    37
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
42
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Chosen because of its location as a base for the Loire Chateaux in that area, particularly Chateau Villandry.
Hotel is typically French - no frills. During the summer, dining in its tiny courtyard is very pleasant, and there is also a nice dining room. Food ok, but nothing special.
Beware parking - the hotel has no car park of its own & you have to use a (free) public car park across the road. This is also used by camper vans for overnight parking & is VERY dusty.
Terrace restaurant at Chateau Villandry is recommended - usually lunch only, but during "nuits de mille feux" remains open during the evening.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phil1828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Our night here was a good experience, comfortable spacious clean room, good evening meal and breakfast. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NadiaStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

This isn't a bad little Logis; our room was clean and quiet and our meal was properly prepared and as expected, to a high standard but nothing special (dismiss their Rabelais hype). Service was quite good and amicable. The two best things I can point out are to note its proximity to the Chateau (best time to see those gardens are absolutely 1st thing in the morning!), and the fact that at dinner one can order good wine by the glass, at fair prices.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stoic_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villandry
0.3 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Cheval Rouge
Hotel Le Cheval Rouge
#2 of 3 in Villandry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel de Biencourt
Hotel de Biencourt
#1 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel des Chateaux
Hotel des Chateaux
#4 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
24.4 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
5.3 mi away
L'auberge Pom'poire
L'auberge Pom'poire
#5 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Colombien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Colombien

Property: Hotel Le Colombien
Address: 2 rue de la Mairie, 37510 Villandry, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Villandry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Villandry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Colombien 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HRS, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Colombien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing