We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect situation for Villandry Chateau”
Review of Hotel Le Colombien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Colombien
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Villandry
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is ideally situated for both the chateau at Villandry (about 2 mins walk) and the Eurovelo route along the Loire (about 5 mins cycle). The room was very nicely decorated with lots of extra thoughtful touches: a fan for hot weather, bottle of water, even a sewing kit and shoe shine kit (!!!). The bathroom was very nice too and spotlessly clean throughout. The proprietor was very helpful and put our bikes in his garage and seemed very trusting. The hotel seems to offer at least 2 options to eat (bistro, restaurant and possibly a pizzeria??) and it was a bit confusing, we ate from the bistro menu- basically a fried chicken and chips meal. Dessert was very nice! Slightly overpriced for the quality but they have a captive market! The bed was very hard though! The breakfast was nice with the usual wide selection of croissants, yoghurts, juices etc- enough to fill you for the ride ahead! A quiet location.

Room Tip: The rooms are named after flowers- we slept in Pivione, very pretty room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sibike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

We (2 adults, 1 x 3 year old) stopped over here for one night on the way from St Malo down to the Quercy region - and it turned out to be a great choice. We had the Jonquille loft room - which is massive and practically two rooms, as the area with the single bed is separated off from the main part with the double bed. Staff were v friendly and accomodating. The hotel's own descriptions on their website are v honest and accurate. Parking is just across the main street - plenty of space. The hotel's own restaurant is v good, and there is also a separate brasserie (forget the name) in the hotel frontage that stays open slightly later than the hotel's own restaurant. It is a v short walk up to the chateau - which is definitely worth a visit - even with small children - there is a good play area up at the top of the gardens to tire them out. If I had a niggle (and it is only a niggle) the shower was not v high pressure - adequate but not brilliant (classic French plumbing or because we were up in the loft?!) but we would definitely stay again if in the area

Room Tip: Jonquille is v goof for families - I believe they can put another bed in there if required
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JabotOX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We are four couples traveling together and we had trouble finding appropriate accommodations in the Angers, Le Mans, Tours area booking several months in advance. We settled on this hotel and it proved to be an excellent choice. Each room was different but with comfortable beds and nice showers. Breakfast was the usual continental but with some pluses. Dinner was good and we especially enjoyed the house wines, particularly the rose. The hotel was central to the vineyards we wanted to visit in Cheverny, Bourgueil, and Saumur-Champigny. We had hoped to visit the Villandry gardens and the Azai-de-Rideau chateau but it rained and was cold.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Wine_enthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This hotel is situated a short way from Villandry chateau and gardens. Our room Violette was delightful, facing away from the river, overlooking a small road, it was very quiet and cool. The staff were very friendly and efficient and we enjoyed the food without having to wait between courses. It is in an excellent location for visiting many places of interest within a short distance. A lovely walk along the river made having our dogs with us so easy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lbkswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

For those of you who don't know the word "terroir", it doesn't mean terror, it just refers to traditional, true products, especially referred to food. If you are used to Paris, this place is quiet, clean, people are polite and take their time (even too much for dinner...) but if you're not in a hurry for your next meeting, who cares! The hotel is set in an ancient building, completely renovated in walking distance from Villandry castle and gardens. Family run with no frills but the charm of a true place, not just a hotel you would find anywhere. Food is excellent, maybe a bit expensive overall but worthwhile. Well located for hikes by bike and on foot, and easy to get to other chateaux and Tours.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EruptVolcano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

Warm welcome. Cyclist friendly. Clean and spacious room with comfortable bed. Restaurant was very good- locally sourced food and nicely presented. No airs or graces, just very good value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bootess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

An OK place for a 1 or 2 night stay. The room was clean and comfortable, but quite small, but the location above the hotel restaurant meant sleep was only possible once the diners had gone.
Breakfast was not up to the standard of other equivalent hotels we stayed in on this trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villandry
0.3 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
318 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Cheval Rouge
Hotel Le Cheval Rouge
#3 of 3 in Villandry
181 reviews
5.8 mi away
Le Grand Monarque
Le Grand Monarque
#3 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel des Chateaux
Hotel des Chateaux
#4 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
102 reviews
3.7 mi away
Le XII de Luynes
Le XII de Luynes
#1 of 1 in Luynes
94 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel de Biencourt
Hotel de Biencourt
#1 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Colombien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Colombien

Address: 2 rue de la Mairie, 37510 Villandry, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Villandry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Villandry
Price Range: £72 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Colombien 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Colombien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing