We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A poor choice in Epernay, not clean, smelly...”
Review of Hotel de La Cloche

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de La Cloche
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed here for four nights because the reviews on this site were OK and there were no other options. We could not wait to leave.

Unfortunately, even at 55 EUR a night - which is incredibly cheap - this place is not good value. The rooms are dirty (including the sheets), the walls are thin so you can hear everything in the rooms around you and the restaurant\kitchen in the lobby area means that the entire entrance smell like a kitchen and not a particularly good one either.

Rooms are small, bathrooms poorly laid out. Hot water runs out fast in the morning (but at least you can hear when the other people are getting up so you can beat them to the shower)!!

The ceilings in the lobby are a health hazard as they are seriously damaged by water and the pain is peeling off them.

The staff is friendly enough. It's not their fault, they just work there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SODA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de La Cloche
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

This quaint hotel is perfect for a couple vacationing in Epernay! It is in the center square and blocks away from everything. The owner is friendly and very helpful! The rooms are small but clean. I found the bathroom to have a lot of space and one of the biggest showers we have had during our trip to France. Definitely worth more than the small price. It is nothing fancy, but very home like and we will stay here the next time we are in Epernay. I have read some of the bad reviews on this hotel and must say, did they expect the Ritz for under 50 Euros?? We loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed in low season, parking was no problem.
Small room, but perfect hygiëne.
Very friendly and helpful personal.
Will return.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We arrived into Epernay late and decided on this place to stay as it was very central and well priced. For the price i was very happy, had all i needed. Nothing flash but if you want flash you are more than happy to pay the four times as much that is easily found in this town. The owners don't try to palm this off as five star, they are happy with what they have and so was I. We also dined down stairs and was quite impressed with the food. Staff where friendly from hotel reception to the staff in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimmyJames79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I had read others' reviews of this hotel prior to booking and I fully agree with what most of them say. The hotel itself is subpar. Wallpaper is peeling and laminate floors bubble as you walk. There was also an issue with the sheets which, after we had notified the reception was fixed by the time we got back from dinner. Also, the room smelled of mildew. However, the location cannot be surpassed. We had a beautiful view of a cathedral outside our window, there were many restaurants and champagne bars close by and it was within very easy walking distance of many champagne houses.

Room Tip: IF you are going to stay here ask for a corner room to get a nice view...but be prepared they are on...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Worldwidelunas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed as a family of 5 at this hotel on the very top level. Really enjoyed our stay, love this part of France. Room wasn't flash but fine for our needs, friendly and great location for exploring by foot some of the wineries. Only thing was a strange smell from the bathroom, we just kept the door closed. The restaurant is so so good, go there!! Do not go to the Chinese restaurant just around the corner - he is a really rude Chinese french man and hates non-french speaking people, even if you are trying your hardest. Foods not great either (we had a craving and regretted not eating at the hotel restaurant instead). I would stay here again (maybe not the same room). Don't be afraid if you have children to go to the wineries - our young children were fascinated.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSJAKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

OK, so my wife and I are American and have lived in Europe for a decade or so. We have driven through Champagne dozens of times always saying "we should really stop one of these days". Well we are very glad that we did. While many reviews on-line about Epernay say there is little to do, if you focus on the champagne, there is plenty to keep an adult crowd's interest. We decided to do just that and opted to save about $100 per night by staying at the Hotel de La Cloche based on its decent reviews for a 2 Star hotel. Normally, it is 4-5 stars for us so we arrived with a bit of trepedation. We found that the hotel is exceptionally located, within walking distance of the champagne houses, restaurants, a tasting bar, and even a night-club or two. The rooms are old but are adequate for sleeping. The shower is indeed, the smallest in the world (as noted by several other reviewers) so if you are large, this is not the place to stay if you want to shower. For average sized folks however, this is not an issue. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. This is a great place to stay if you are on a budget or if just coming for a night or two to taste some champagne. The champagne bar around the corner (C Comme Champagne) has a wonderful flight of 6 local small vintage champagnes for 33.50 Euro which allows you to compare different grape combinations side by side...worth it for sure, and they of course are happy to sell to you by the bottle or case at what we deemed to be incredible values for the quality of the product. For us, staying in the Hotel de la Cloche enabled us to splurge on great champagne with dinner and after several coupe, who noticed that the walls in the hotel were thin...not us :-)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve_Cynthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Epernay hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Magellan
Hotel Le Magellan
#12 of 14 in Epernay
87 reviews
2.7 mi away
Auberge Champenoise
Auberge Champenoise
#11 of 14 in Epernay
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kyriad Epernay
Kyriad Epernay
#8 of 14 in Epernay
175 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Epernay
Comfort Suites Epernay
#9 of 14 in Epernay
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de La Cloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de La Cloche

Address: 3 Place Pierre Mendes France, 51200, Epernay, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range: £47 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de La Cloche 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de La Cloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing