We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As the overall offer in chapagne, quite poor”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Epernay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chez Eric et Sylvie
Ranked #12 of 16 Epernay B&B and Inns
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level Contributor
829 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,421 helpful votes
“As the overall offer in chapagne, quite poor”
Reviewed 20 November 2010

We slept in the gite. The rooms are small and either too cold (no heating) or too hot (with heating on). no middle way. The bathroom is incredibly unfriendly. Breakfast is not bad... a lot of stuff, but seldom of good quality. And the display of kitsch and bad taster in the furniture and details is quite impressive!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apalmero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    19
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

We had the opportunity to stay in Eric and Sylvie's great Cramant gite. We had our own place and were able to enjoy some quiet time cooking and enjoying chamgagne while staying there. Eric and Sylvie provided an outstanding breakfast each morning. What a great way to start off the day! Eric and Sylvie are very friendly and easy to get along with. The whole experience was great. Would gladly go back and stay at their gite.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonse01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed three days in Eric and Sylie's Apartment in the absolute centre of Epernay. It was a delight.

From the warm greeting, to a huge roof top apartment, 3 beds, 2 baths, we never felt more at home in France in our entire 5 week visit. The service was impeccable! Sylvie met us to direct us despite being almost on top of it. The views were stunning of surrounding country and village.

However the best part was her local advice (markets, champagne houses, night spectacular, etc.) which added immensely to our trip. We saw more in 3 days then 5 days elsewhere because of this local knowledge. We were even invited to hunting lodge BnB for complimentary champagne tasting. Superb!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaFamilyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Arriving to a welcome by the ducks was so amazing. Eric was so friendly and full of advice and help. He organised the evening meal for us with the local restaurant, which was delivered to the door and what a wonderful feast it turned out to be for 17 euros per person. The lady even helped us set the oven so that we could keep the food warm. Breakfast was great, plenty of it with home made jams. The only problem I found was it was so dark so would recommend a torch. Would definate visit again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We arrived in early evening and were met by Eric who took us to Avize. The hunting lodge is a delight and is in a lovely setting on the edge of the forest . Eric gave us lots of information about the area and where to eat traditional French cuisine. A huge breakfast of delicious bread, croissants, cheese, jam, fresh fruit, etc. could not be faulted. Eat as much as you like, otherwise the geese get a feast!!! The bedrooms are fresh and the bathrobes fluffy. We would definitely stay again and would heartily recommend this house to anyone wanting traditional French hospitality in an authentic setting and not concerned at being outside the village.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferndownkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2010

A warm welcome, a quirky place, friendly ducks, comfortable bed, great shower. A wonderful place to spend a long week-end or week, away from it all.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbobnewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, UK
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Having found Chez Eric & Sylvie on the Internet we will not need anywhere else to stay in the Epernay area again. Travelling by motorbike from the UK to the Black Forest this was the first of two overnight stays on the way. The weather was wet and rainy but Eric & Sylvie are great hosts. On arrival I mentioned that I was very low on petrol and Eric promised to bring his jerry can when he brought breakfast in the morning. He was as good as his word and we had to force him to accept some payment for about 3 litres of fuel. We took the option of eating in. Eric rang the restaurant in Cramant who brought over a wonderful meal for the 5 of us. Full three course affair - no soggy pizzas here!
The rooms are comfortable and very clean. A word of warning - if you are used to town living it is really quiet and dark here.
Breakfast is filling and sets you up for the day.
The only regret we have is that we were only staying one night. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewarkSeadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Epernay hotels
1.0 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
470 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa Saint Pierre
La Villa Saint Pierre
#7 of 14 in Epernay
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
438 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Suites du 33
Les Suites du 33
#9 of 16 in Epernay
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Eric et Sylvie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Eric et Sylvie

Property: Chez Eric et Sylvie
Address: Chemin de la Tuilerie | Avize, 51530, Epernay, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Epernay
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B during the week and cottage for 10 people during the weekend In the heart of the Grand Cru of Cote des Blancs, spend one or several nights dur-ing the week in our guest room. We will be delighted to give you tourist advice over generous breakfasts. You can rent all the house the week-end such as a gite (breakfasts non served on request. In almost 30 acres of wooded grounds, this former hunting lodge and true ha-ven of peace has been converted into a modern guesthouse the week and into a gite of 10 persons the week-end.  4 En suite rooms with shower and its own toilet : 3 double rooms (1 double or 2 singles) and 1 room sleeping 4 (2 singles and 1 double).  Small living area with pool table and fireplace. Large lounge/Dinning room with large table, piano, sofas, children's games and fireplace.  Large fully-equipped kitchen (oven, microwave, hobs, dishwasher...), Table. Price in B&B_ Household and bathroom linen and breakfasts included Bedroom for 1 pers: 75 euros Bedroom for 2 pers: 85 euros Familial bedroom : 85 euros for 2 pers 105 euros for 3 pers 115 euros for 4 pers Price for the house in cottage during the weend:(from friday to sunday evening: 800euros, Housheold and bathroom included. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing