We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Villa Saint Pierre
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Southampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for a short stay”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed here just for a weekend. The couple are efficient, friendly and have a great little hotel. The rooms are a bit odd and quirky but the area is quiet and away from the main road, rooms are nice and naturally cool but don't have air conditioning.
No lift so, heavy packers be prepared to carry your own kit up stairs.
great breakfast and plenty of good tips for touring about the town.
My only gripe is the bed is a little on the squidgy side and too small for guys above 6ft like myself.

Room Tip: Double rooms on the top floor provide the most amount of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AD P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    139
    54
    12
    23
See reviews for
43
182
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Excellent value - very friendly & helpful husband and wife hosts, convenient location and superb dining at the restaurant. Yes, you have to carry your luggage up a few flights of stairs if you are on the top level and yes, the 'ensuite' in our room was behind a curtain in the corner of the room (def. not designed for big bottoms or romance), but we'd happily stay there again if we wanted that price bracket, and either way, we'd definitely go back to eat the daily specials at the restaurant - fabulous freshly cooked seasonal food by your host Pierre, and excellent price for the menu of the day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueLester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavillasaintpierre, Propriétaire at La Villa Saint Pierre, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hello and thank you for taking your time to write your impressions. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and Epernay. Your room was not the most spacious but cozy. For the kitchen, we strive to discover the traditional French cuisine prepared from products of the day and meals, we are glad you enjoyed and thank you.
friendly
Bernadette and Pierre
Bonjour et merci d'avoir pris de votre temps pour rédiger vos impressions. Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez apprécié votre séjour à Epernay et dans notre hôtel. Votre chambre n'était pas la plus spacieuse mais confortable. Pour la cuisine, nous nous attachons à faire découvrir la cuisine traditionnelle Française élaborée à partir de produits du jour et cuisinés, nous sommes heureux que vous ayez apprécié et nous vous remercions.
Amicalement
Bernadette et Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Bernadette and Pierre were amazing. They looked after us so well giving us very good recommendations for dinner and sight seeing. Pierre got us a cab on our last day for some sight seeing at Hautvilliers. The cab driver gave us a huge discount and was incredibly helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend the villa.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MJ_SG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavillasaintpierre, Propriétaire at La Villa Saint Pierre, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour et merci pour votre commentaires. Nous sommes heureux d'avoir répondu à toutes vos attentes et vous méritez l'accueil et le dévouement que nous vous avons accordé, c'est avec grand plaisir que nous vous accueillerons de nouveau si vous revenez à Epernay. Bernadette et moi avons souhaité une ambiance familiale pour notre établissement qui n'est pas un bed and breakfast mais bien un hôtel. Cela fait du bien de retrouver des personnes aussi agréables que vous, car depuis quelques temps nous avons eu des clients pas très agréables et qui je vous assure n'ont pas eu le même service, juste le strict nécessaire de part leur comportement très désagréable. Au risque de me répéter je vais dire: : "On récolte ce que l'on sème" . Un grand merci pour votre bonne humeur, ce fût un grand rayon de soleil.
Bernadette et Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I did not completely read all the reviews for the Villa before I booked, as basically I was attracted by the price, booked through hotels.com for 38.29 euros, and I only wanted a cheap hotel for one night, en route back to the UK. The most infuriating thing was, that on my hotels .com confirmation, the check in was 3pm. We arrived at the hotel, after a five hour drive, at 4pm, only to find a notice pinned to the front door, saying in different languages, check in was 5 30pm !!! This information needs to be put out there! We did not like to leave our car, as we had all our luggage and possessions in the back, so just had to sit it out. Parking in the street is not expensive, something like euros 1 50, and there is a free car park somewhere I believe. Parking in the street is free overnight. Anyway, when we finally got in, we were given the code for the front door, so were free to come and go as we pleased. The hotel appears to be a fine old building, that has been chopped up, pretty badly, to make guest rooms. We were allocated room 3 which overlooked the street, and at the end of a long gloomy corridor. NO lift. There was just enough room to walk around the bed. At the end of the bed was, what I can only describe as a sort of cupboard, that housed the WC, wash basin and shower. There was a high step up to this cupboard, obviously due to the plumbing underneath. We did not venture in to the shower! To be fair, the sink had a mirror over it and was well lit. The toilet was a macerator, and made the most incredible noise when you pushed the button! As to the other review, that says the hotel was filthy, I dispute this. It has not been maintained, and there was peeling wallpaper in our room, stains on the ceiling and the wooden shutters in our room were rotting and paint peeling, but our bed linen was all snowy white and fresh, as were the towels. It was clean shabby! We took breakfast in the dining room, for an extra 7 27 euros each, and I had a good look around. I caught a brief glimpse of the kitchen which looked fairly modern and clean. The dining room and everything was clean. The breakfast consisted of some cheese and meats, and a nice basket of croissants and bread, and a yoghurt. If you can overlook the quirks of the bathing facilities, and are looking for a cheap place to stay practically in the centre of Epernay, then this is a bargain, albeit I would not want to spend more than one night in that particular room! We did not have any problems with the owner either, he was perfectly pleasant to us.

Room Tip: Maybe a more expensive room? I believe there are better ones than 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funkymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavillasaintpierre, Propriétaire at La Villa Saint Pierre, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write your review on our individual institution. Enough said. You made some comments and the answers I have given you. I 'll just add some clarification on some points that you would have known if you had asked us questions .
Check-in: For several months the time has changed is 17.30 all platforms market forms have been informed, you can check on booking.com for example. Since the change, more than two weeks before that , I send an email to our customers to inform them so that they are available and it is very welcome . It is also the role of these platforms to inform you , is not it . But some of them do not tell us the details of clients and therefore we can not inform .
On the room you have chosen the most economical hotel and therefore smaller , if you return one day with us I invite you to choose one that is more spacious and more comfortable but not at this price . Many customer rents the room and are satisfied with the value. About the wallpaper, it is in this state for a client in the room above went to 5am forgot to close the water basin and we found the room above with 10cm of water sol . The water seeped into the room you have and this is why there is a halo ceiling and the paper is peeled off in some places. But soon, we will modify the room to give him more space, but you can imagine will not be at this price.
What I gather from your comments I am satisfied and I thank you. Welcome, cleanliness, quality of breakfast.
Thank you very much and pleasure.
stone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I had booked a room at the hotel La Villa Saint Pierre in Eperney on the Saturday before Easter and it was the most horrible hotel experience we ever had!
First of all the hotel is so dirty that it is unbelievable it’s even open! We had insect on our bad (please see pictures) the bathroom was unbelievable dirty ( again see pictures) with no door but only a curtain to close it. There was a window facing east with no curtain to cover it and please see what they left just outside our room door! It was by far the most dirty room/ hotel we ever seen but unfortunately this is not all !!
The worst part of the hotel are the owners, husband and wife!
Once we got to the room (of course no one shows it to you , you have to found it yourself), given the condition, we came back downstairs (there is no lift only unpleasant stairs) and tried to explain them that I am allergic to dust, that there were insect on the bed and then we asked to kindly change the room or at least clean it. The owners started to be aggressive and abusive, saying that we were layer and the were no insects in the room (I am not fluent in French but I do understand it a bit while she wasn’t speaking a word of English).
Anyway in order to make them lessen to us we showed the pictures we took of the room and the insects in our bed, while, in order to receive help I called Booking.com (we booked with them).
When we finally managed to show them the pictures they went even more mad and started to hysterically yell at us ( it seemed like they were going to murder us) and they told us to GET OUT of the hotel !!! They literally thrown us out of their hotel, we had to run out because these people didn't stop yelling at us!

Thankfully while all of this was happening I was still over the phone with booking.com which even tried to speak with them but they refused to take the phone from me booking.com tried to call them but they weren’t picking up their own phone either!

Anyway, as if all this wasn’t bad enough: the owners of the hotel charged our debit card of 90 + £ as soon as we left !!!!! Can you believe it ? They thrown us out of their hotel because we kindly asked to clean our room and straight after throwing us out they charged us!

Booking.com tried to speak with them and told us we will receive a refund, also the hotel owner wrote to us saying he will refund us, but guess what? One day after receiving the owner email Booking.com wrote to us that we won’t have any refund because the hotel changed his mind!!!!!!!!!!!

Long story short, do NOT go to La Villa Saint Pierre and do NOT book a room with Booking.com!! we are now processing legally against the hotel!

Room Tip: "rooms are TERRIBLE!!!!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank barbaratartamella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavillasaintpierre, Propriétaire at La Villa Saint Pierre, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Mrs. Barbara Tartamella . I have taken note of your comment, but be aware that when writing , we must do so objectively and clarify all the facts and not just what suits you. First, because there is a beginning to this situation, you got with your husband and my wife gave you the keys to the room that you had booked on booking.com. That is a classic Twin. So far everything was courteous. But you back down claiming that you had booked a double standard . My wife showed up in black and white your booking. At this moment you are swept away and you screamed and insulted my wife. You immediately called booking.com to notify you on your reservation and they confirmed you a classic Twin. I was with your husband on the second floor and he told me that you were going to hotel may change , it is your right and my wife you propose to go to a colleague . I ran to try to understand the situation and we explained calmly in ENGLISH . You recognized your mistake, but you want to stay with us. Then your husband joined us and told me that there was no curtain to hide the window. The curtain is useless since all the windows are integrated store. I asked your husband to follow me to show him the operation which he refused to do. You should at all costs a pretext for not fulfilling your cancellation fee. 30 minutes after you are back down , claiming the presence of an insect with supporting photographs . You need to know now, as I have specified in our various exchanges that it is you who brought us this insect in your luggage without your knowledge of course I hope. We closed on the room and contacted a company specializing Pest confirms my words , the certificate is available , costs too if you want ( Off joke ) . This room has been rented all previous days and no client noticed anything , there's no doubt about the origin . We reopened two days after your stay once the processing performed and again more concern . We had concerted with my wife and we decided to pay because we said that these are things that can happen to everyone quelquesoit the precautions we take . However we will do even if you do not deserve to share your attitude and your bad faith. But we have given you our word and commercially we will. But also you do not say very definitely. People like you, there are very few and fortunately it is part of the job, but do not ask us to be courteous when you're not, we're not animals. I always say, you reap what you sow. I leave you to ponder. Do not worry your money is going to happen. I know times are tough. I do not even worry me your threats of litigation, it will cost you dear (Pest, immobilization of the room ......), you can imagine and I do not have time to waste with you.
Here the situation is more clear for our readers when all is really said it all.
Very cordially.
Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaca, Spain
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Short walk to the champagne caves. Staff is friendly. We had dinner at the hotel as part of a half-board. The food was great but wine expensive. Breakfast was OK. Free parking on the street, but limited at times.No maps in office. We picked one up at a nearby hotel and then a better one at the tourist office. No elevator and had to carry suitcases up two steep and narrow stairways. Room is ridiculous with toilet door that could not be closed when using the facility because it was too small.We don't regret staying here, but we would not do it again.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the top floor unless you are in great physical shape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wfredhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavillasaintpierre, Propriétaire at La Villa Saint Pierre, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour et merci d'avoir donné de votre temps pour exprimer votre ressenti. Tout d'abords je suis surpris, vous aviez l'air très satisfaits et nous avez fait aucune remarque lors de votre départ.
Merci d'avoir apprécié notre dîner qui est élaboré à base de produits du jour, petite précision concernant le vin, vous m'aviez demandé de choisir pour vous un vin d'une excellente qualité, je vous ai proposé un Saint-Emilion millésimé de plus de dix ans que je veux vous ai fais goûter, vous m'avez confirmer ce choix et si vous trouvez un vin de cette qualité à moins de 40 euros, donnez moi l'adresse je suis preneur, j'avais aussi du vin en carafe à 3 euros, mais ce n'était pas votre choix. Quant à la chambre je pense que plus de 40 mètres carrés est loin d'être ridicule. Il est vrai que les toilettes sont un peu juste c'est une erreur de conception. Mais ce n'est pas un espace à vivre et nous n'y séjournons pas un long moment, en France nous appelons aussi ce lieu le petit-coin. Vous avez choisi de stationner votre voiture sur l'avenue payante alors que dans la rue de l'hôtel le stationnement est gratuit, je ne peux prendre de décision sur ce sujet à votre place.
Cordialement
Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

You won't find more thoughtful or friendly hosts---don't miss La Villa Saint Pierre (LVSP). Our visit to La Villa Saint Pierre landed midway through a 3 week trip of Italy and France. We were welcomed by Bernadette after easily parking on the street in the evening (parking was a breeze throughout our stay). Bernadette was lovely, welcoming and despite our lack of French language skills, we had no problem communicating.

**The pictures of LVSP do NOT do the house and rooms justice.** We easily made it to our room and were more than pleasantly surprised at how lovely it was---simple but plenty of space and a serene atmosphere for the 2 adults and 1 baby. We stayed in room 4---delightful!

We teetered about breakfast after having been disappointed by other establishments---but breakfast was a delight! Yogurt, charcuterie, assortment of breads, cheese, cereal and coffee and juice---perfect way to start the day and well worth it.

LVSP was an easy walking distance from Moet and Chandon and the center city of Epernay. Pierre and Bernadette provided excellent recommendations for champagne houses, including Godart and Cartier, We loved Godart and can't thank Pierre enough for introducing it to us!

Dinner at LVSP is not to be missed. At first, we weren't sure if there were other restaurants we'd be disappointed in not visiting, but Pierre's culinary skills and convivial hosting are unparalleled. Dinner was by far one of my favorite on the trip. Pierre's happy to meet dietary restrictions or other preferences with a little notice. And, we were able to dine in the evening without having pre-reserved days in advance. Incredibly convenient! Not to mention that Pierre was thoughtful in suggesting we dine with another couple we'd been talking to earlier that day---very sweet and a lot of fun for the 4 of us.

Pierre and Bernadette, thank you for a couple of days of perfection during our trip! We hope to visit again.

Room Tip: We loved room 4, I'm not sure if all rooms have been redone but they have been working on refurb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicollestec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavillasaintpierre, Propriétaire at La Villa Saint Pierre, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hello , Bernadette and I are very touched by your comment, you quite understand the spirit that want our business . Your comment particularly affects us and is quite the opposite of what clients expect of a two star hotel . We have worked hard to make our welcoming and comfortable rooms , you chose the room you want and not a price and you have been satisfied . Bernadette has welcomed you as she always does and it was very nice with people as charming as you . We want our school to be a place of conviviality and exchange our customers find this sensation in different menus every day ( and not an extension card with the same food every day ) we develop products with day , our goal is to make you discover all aspects of the real traditional French cuisine. In this way , you can enjoy a gourmet meal or a more rustic recipe at a reasonable price . We are very pleased that your stay in Epernay has been a success and we hope to welcome you to a new residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Epernay hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
452 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Magellan
Hotel Le Magellan
#12 of 14 in Epernay
86 reviews
2.3 mi away
Auberge Champenoise
Auberge Champenoise
#10 of 14 in Epernay
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Saint Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Saint Pierre

Property: La Villa Saint Pierre
Address: 1 rue Jeanne D Arc | 51200, 51200, Epernay, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Villa Saint Pierre 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic building (1913)with all the charms of the past, Hôtel Villa Saint Pierre opens its doors to you, offering you comfort and a warm welcome... The hotel is located in a quiet area but only 2 minutes from downtown by foot and 5 minutes from prestigious houses of champagne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Villa Saint Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing