We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Villa Saint Pierre
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights, very clean and comfortable. Pierre works so hard and made made us feel very welcome. Our room ( 10 ) was on the second floor, it was a good size, the bathroom wasn't modern but it was clean and there was a good shower over the bath. Plenty of hot water. The loo was separate it was a bit noisy especially in the middle of the night, but we didn't find this a problem. Although the hotel is on a main road we didn't notice the traffic and our room was at the front. There is a restaurant but the menu is somewhat limited, just a starter, main course, and dessert. We ate in the first evening, the wines are very good value and we sat outside and enjoyed a bottle of Champagne first. Unfortunately there is no comfortable area to sit downstairs.
The hotel is in a good location about 10 minutes stroll from the town centre. We walked to find a restaurant on the second evening,an excellent place called Chez Max, but it was the far side or the town and took about 20 mins.
The surrounding countryside is lovely and the Champagne Trail is worth doing, although we didn't actually find anywhere open to do any tastings, probably because everyone was out working tending the vines. The champagne tours in the town are also very good, we found the most interesting one was the Castellane tour
Would definitely recommend this hotel, and we hope to return one day.

Room Tip: We had room 10 which was a good size and had a bath with a shower over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Me, my wife and our two friends stayed in this charming little hotel during our 3-night-stay in Épernay. We enjoyed our stay a lot, the owner Pierre was very polite and helpful and the athmosphere of the place was great. Villa Saint Pierre is situated just few hundred meters off Avenue of Champagne where most champagne houses are. Last night in Épernay we ate in Villa Saint Pierre (they have a possibility to dine there, too) and the experience was great - tasty food, good champagne from family friends and nice rare red wine from Champagne region available, too. And we must also mention petit dejeuners, breakfasts, they were very good and plentiful, great cheeses. Only minor problem in the place was sometimes slow wi-fi but this seems to be a problem in most places in France (compared to Finland where we live).

Room Tip: Both couples had chambre conforts, comfort rooms. They were nice and bathrooms were clean and spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jari J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is not a 4 star find. We asked for a suite- and it was one of the rooms not updated. Dirty carpet, ripped wall paper. Hallway dirty etc. very hot in the afternoon. No fan or air con. No elevators (but this is typical in small hotels) Hotel was booked so there were no other rooms. The rooms across the hotel were by the street and very noisy per our friends. The owner would not recommend restaurants as there was one on premise nor would he give any recommendations on sightseeing. Best part of hotel were the cute little dogs. Breakfast was reasonable and just fine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank luvdesserts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavillasaintpierre, Propriétaire at La Villa Saint Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Hello and thank you for your comment. It is your image that is bad. None of what you say is true, except that I have not been kind to you, but you do not deserve. On aiileurs you a good laugh an Australian couple when you made some remarks screaming. They did not think that this situation was possible. And they told me that I was right. Ever dear sir, at least I hope so.
Cordially
Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We only stayed one night while passing through the area, but it was lovely! The rooms had clearly been recently updated and were absolutely charming and clean. We wished we had stayed longer.
A couple quick notes to echo other travelers - no elevator/lift and it's a hike up that staircase, there are dogs so if you have allergies be aware and you can only check in during specific times so be aware of what times they are!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavillasaintpierre, Propriétaire at La Villa Saint Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour, merci d'avoir donné de votre temps pour rédiger ce commentaires et laisser vos impressions. Nous sommes heureux que vous ayez apprécié votre séjour chez nous. Oui il n'y a pas d’ascenseur, c'est une maison bourgeoise datant de 1913 et transformée en hôtel en 1970. Il serait dommage de casser l'architecture intérieure avec la pose d'un ascenseur et puis il n'y a que 2 étages. Comme vous l'avez remarqué, nos petits chiens ne sont présents qu'au rez de chaussée en dehors de la prise des petits déjeuners ou des repas, jamais vous ne les verrez dans les étages, encore moins dans les chambres même si quelquefois certains clients voudraient les prendre pour les câliner. De plus, ne nous les cachons pas, ils apparaissent sur des photos de l'établissement prise par des clients ou par nous même.
Au plaisir de vous revoir.
Bernadette et Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were on a family trip but I was unable to get a room where the others were staying so booked into La Villa St Pierre as it was close to the other hotel. Booking.com listed the check-in time as 3pm but this was not correct with the later time being listed on the hotel's website.
The foyer and stairs are rather shabby with old, worn carpet but the friendly host made one very welcome. There is no lift so if you are on the top (second) floor, be prepared to haul your luggage up there. My room was a very agreeable surprise as it was large, light and airy and seemed to have been recently redecorated. There was a shower room with a basin and a separate toilet room. There was also plenty of space to store luggage and hang clothes. One surprise was that there was no hair drier in my room but they lent me one for the length of my stay. The quiet street had virtually no traffic noise. Breakfast was first rate, with meats, cheese, yogurts, juice, the usual bread and pastries and a variety of French fruit.
La Villa Saint Pierre is extremely good value for money, costing only €70 a night including breakfast. I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just spend some fantastic days in Villa St Pierre in Épernay. The room was qute, clean and very cosy. The manager, Pierre, is surely one of the friendliest people in the world. He is also the cook and as we had half-board we had the pleasue of enyoing his talent at the stove.
We will absolutely return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed here just for a weekend. The couple are efficient, friendly and have a great little hotel. The rooms are a bit odd and quirky but the area is quiet and away from the main road, rooms are nice and naturally cool but don't have air conditioning.
No lift so, heavy packers be prepared to carry your own kit up stairs.
great breakfast and plenty of good tips for touring about the town.
My only gripe is the bed is a little on the squidgy side and too small for guys above 6ft like myself.

Room Tip: Double rooms on the top floor provide the most amount of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AD P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Epernay hotels
1 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
472 reviews
2.3 mi away
Auberge Champenoise
Auberge Champenoise
#11 of 14 in Epernay
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premiere Classe Epernay
Premiere Classe Epernay
#3 of 14 in Epernay
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
0.3 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Saint Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Saint Pierre

Address: 1 rue Jeanne D Arc | 51200, 51200, Epernay, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range: £45 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Villa Saint Pierre 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic building (1913)with all the charms of the past, Hôtel Villa Saint Pierre opens its doors to you, offering you comfort and a warm welcome... The hotel is located in a quiet area but only 2 minutes from downtown by foot and 5 minutes from prestigious houses of champagne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your La Villa Saint Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing