We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay not as good as the first”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Villa Saint Pierre
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Lincs
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Second stay not as good as the first”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I was looking forward to our stay at La Villa Saint Pierre after staying here for the first time last year. I did write a review then and felt, compared to other places we had stayed on our drive across France that this hotel deserved a 4 star rating at the time. However this year, comparing the hotel to the 12 other places we stayed, I feel a 3 star is more fair. Our room, whilst larger than last year, was a bit tired and the curtains didn't fit the window. The breakfast this year wasn't as good as last year, instead of our own little basket we were sharing cheese and meat with other residents and there was only a few scraps left so we ended up not having much of a breakfast. The position is good and the owners seem nice enough but I'm afraid to say that next year we will be looking for a new place to stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank billie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    135
    54
    11
    23
See reviews for
42
178
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights and had a lovely time. Room was fine although the bathroom shower had no holder which made showering a little difficult but the owners were very friendly and the breakfast (8 euros) lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danclay77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here last week for one night.....we had the "comfort" rooms upstairs...clean and nice bathroom....good value..didnt eat dinner there but nice continental breakfast with good variety....great position...short walk to Ave De Champagne where all the champagne houses live....we did the Mercier tour...very worthwhile...happy holidays....David P

Room Tip: Top Floor rooms have been updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

NO GO AREA! 3 rooms pre-booked and confirmed, 1 room given away; beds apart in 1 room confirmed by mail, not available when arriving; careless reaction: 'it is like it is'. Restaurant closed, although confirmed. Proprietress didn't care at all. Rude and brutal reaction on our complaints. We left and had to look for a hotel with normal service and friendlyness!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Criticus_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavillasaintpierre, Propriétaire at La Villa Saint Pierre, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour, merci d'avoir donné de votre temps pour rédiger ce commentaire. Il faut cependant y apporter quelques précisions. Vous aviez réservé deux chambres pour 4 personnes, vous vous êtes présentés à 4 mais vous vouliez trois chambres ce que je n'ai pu faire puisque l'hôtel était complet. Dans l'état d’énervement et d'agressivité ou vous étiez, certainement dû à de trop nombreuses dégustations je vous ai montré vos réservations faites par l'intermédiaire de booking.com mais vous ne vouliez rien entendre. Dans l'état d'ébriété ou vous étiez, j'ai apprécié le fait que vous quittiez mon hôtel et que vous alliez vous défoulez ailleurs. Si toutefois vous voulez à nouveau réserver chez nous ce sera un plaisir de vous accueillir.
Cordialement
Bernadette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is your basic hotel in a good location. Check-in is later than most (5:30 pm) and there is free street parking in this residential neighborhood (we easily found a spot in front of the hotel). The hotel halls are old and dark, but we had what looked to be a recently renovated Rm #9 which was very nice - bright with hardwood floors. While not marked "no smoking" (I noticed 2 rooms that were) there was no sign of it which was important since I have severe asthma. The updated shower had great water pressure and the wifi was strong in the room. There is no air conditioning in this room, but the large window allowed great ventilation. There are two friendly Pomeranians (Chanel and Calvin) that greet you but quickly become bored with you and go about their business. Overall a good choice for our one-night stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel itself is a rather quaint townhouse with good rooms, in a good location.
Breakfast was adequate, and the coffee was good. There is free wifi in the lobby and weak access on the floor above.
It is however unhelpful that they ‘welcome guests between 1730 and 2100’. This means that the door is locked until 5:30pm, and after a long drive in the rain, and carrying all our bags to the door we then had to carry them back again, and amuse ourselves before we were able to gain access and dry off.
I have no idea why the cleaner needed to hoover the floor above our ceiling at 6am the following morning, but it was noisy and inconsiderate.

Room Tip: Lock the vacuum cleaner in your room... you might get a rest in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GingerBeer1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavillasaintpierre, Propriétaire at La Villa Saint Pierre, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hello. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of our establishment. I just wanted to clarify a few things you said.
I'm sorry that you waited with your luggage, if you had taken the time to read all the information on the establishment, you could see the check-in times and the solutions we offer to deposit your luggage before check-in or simply contact us to arrange a solution adapted to your needs.
For vacuuming, I'm sorry too but we are not yet at this point. We work 17 hours a day and 6 am, I'm still in my bed and no other that we ensure these spots. We control all positions of our hotel. But maybe you have dreamed, or a very helpful customer has started work to help us with his personal effects. Joking aside, we hope to see you soon.
Cordially
Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverdale, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was a good hotel with a good breakfast, and great location for exploring Epernay, the epicenter of the Champagne world. However, be aware that when they say they ‘welcome guests between 1730 and 2100’, they mean the door is locked until 5:30pm. This grated on me a bit as we were tired after a long drive, and like to relax before heading out for the evening. Also, even though the restaurant was not open at 5:30pm, they would not let us sit outside with our own wine, etc. Further, if you want to eat at the ‘restaurant’ you have to make a reservation before hand so they can get the food on hand. I would look for a different place if there is a next time.

Room Tip: I would ask for a 'first' floor (up one flight of stairs) room, not on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulTraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavillasaintpierre, Propriétaire at La Villa Saint Pierre, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hello there. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of our establishment. I just wanted to clarify a few things you said.
With respect to hours, I think you should read all the information that is at your disposal at all sites where our property is referenced. Everything is there, so you can stay organized.
For your drinks, it is the same everywhere. Try a few places whether you sit on the terrace with drinks and tell me. Perhaps I should give you an empty room so that you install your cot to sleep, it would perhaps be a success but not economically viable.
It is the same for the restaurant, we have chosen to develop menus with quality products in a day more than reasonable price. We intentionally limit the number of seats, so do not throw food to control costs. But still, you had the opportunity to book at the same time as your room and it was even more interesting in terms of price. Or when you have made your check-in. But at the last moment when you saw the proposed menu for that price, you said: We eat there. I'm sorry, but you had all the cards. To me your rating is not objective. You made ​​from the mistakes you made: Not considered information, but the positive side is that despite all have had a good time here, I thank you.
Cordially
Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Epernay hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
2.3 mi away
Auberge Champenoise
Auberge Champenoise
#9 of 14 in Epernay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Epernay
Comfort Suites Epernay
#8 of 14 in Epernay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Saint Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Saint Pierre

Property: La Villa Saint Pierre
Address: 1 rue Jeanne D Arc | 51200, 51200, Epernay, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Villa Saint Pierre 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic building (1913)with all the charms of the past, Hôtel Villa Saint Pierre opens its doors to you, offering you comfort and a warm welcome... The hotel is located in a quiet area but only 2 minutes from downtown by foot and 5 minutes from prestigious houses of champagne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your La Villa Saint Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing