We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Well Located Boutique Style Hotel with Excellent Staff and Comfortable Rooms”
Review of Hotel Jean Moet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Jean Moet
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Stayed overnight to break long journey on return from Eastern Alps. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was very clean, well appointed, with most facilities you could wish for and bed was very comfortable. Bathroom had all modern facilities although because its a small hotel I understand that the rooms are all different. Only downside was somewhat noisy airconditioning unit outside our window which prevented sleeping with fresh air available, but aircon was good and this is a small price to pay for staying in a very nice hotel in the center of Epernay. No parking facilities is a bit of a hassel but if you are lucky you might get a space on the road right outside, if not its a public carpark not too far away. The breakfast is extra 12.50 euros but of an excellent standard for a typical continental one with the opportunity to order cooked eggs of various types should you wish. I was a bit surprised that there was an extra charge of 5 euros for using the tea and coffee facilities in the room. Despite these few small negative points the overall experience was very good and I would use this hotel again. (For information if you become a friend of the hotel on Facebook you get 5% discount on your booking)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonJRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEANMOET, Propriétaire at Hotel Jean Moet, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2011
Google Translation

cher (e) simonJRH

Merci pour vos chaleureux commentaires, nous ne manqueront pas de les transmettre à nos collaborateurs.
J'espère avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau dans un futur proche à L'Hôtel Jean Moet.
Sincères salutations,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2011

We had a good stay at this hotel. Found the staff to be helpful on several accounts in arranging for dinner reservations and a tasting in a champagne house. They do not have a parking lot, so you can either park on the street and move the car in the AM (or pay) or park in a public lot a few blocks away. We were only there one night, and it wasn't the busy time of the year, so it wasn't that much of a problem. The breakfast was 12euros, and for you what you got, I would skip it for that price (about $30 US for two!). We found our room to be nice - comfortable bed, clean with a decent bathroom. I would imagine there are various types of rooms, after reading other reviews. It seemed pretty comparable to the prices of the other hotels in the country, as most hotels in town seemed to be in this range. We had a very good dinner in town at Bistrot 7.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pupsdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEANMOET, Propriétaire at Hotel Jean Moet, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2011
Google Translation

cher (e) pupsdc

Nous tenons vivement à vous remercier d’avoir pris le temps de nous faire part de vos impressions suite à votre récent séjour.
J'espère avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau dans un futur proche à L'Hôtel Jean Moet.
Sincères salutations,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

The hotel is cozy and in a very convenient location to visit the Moet&Ch. cave.
Everything was spotless and recently renewed.
Anyway I think it is overpriced: rooms and bathrooms are very small.
I was not satisfied by the breakfast quality/cost.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEANMOET, Propriétaire at Hotel Jean Moet, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2011
Google Translation

cher (e) edna1

Nous tenons vivement à vous remercier d’avoir pris le temps de nous faire part de vos impressions suite à votre récent séjour à l’Hôtel Jean Moet.
J'ai pris bonne note concernant les désagréments qui ont contrarié votre séjour.
après avoir testé un autre établissement à Épernay, J'espère que nous aurons le plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau à L'Hôtel Jean Moet. Meilleures salutations.
Très sincèrement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

As a previous reviewer has noted (& I wish I'd known when I booked the room), the lower-priced rooms are uncomfortable & poor value for money. We had room #11, an attic room with sloping beams where it is impossible to stand upright as you move around the room, no matter how short you are! Not only that, but the room was stuffy and overheated, which meant either opening a window or shutting the heat off entirely (during snowy weather in December). The shower, over the bathtub, couldn't be adjusted for height and sprayed water directly on to the bathroom floor. And the room is directly across from the elevator, which means constant noise. Not to mention the heating apparatus which runs like a jet engine in the ceiling all night long.

All of this would have been bearable if it hadn't been for the unprofessional attitude and poor service of the day receptionist (the evening one, in our brief encounter with her, seemed friendly and professional). This lackadaisical young woman was supposed to be overseeing the breakfast buffet, but failed to do so, disappearing from the scene, so that the tables weren't set for later guests, essential items weren't replenished, & the buffet even ran out of bread! When we finally tracked the hostess down, we had to wait while she sent someone out to the bakery to get more. The hotel was not even half full, so there was no excuse for this. To her credit, she apologized and didn't charge us for our breakfasts, but by that time the hotel had lost its charm for us.

All in all, highly unprofessional and not at all a pleasant or welcoming experience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JPSRWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEANMOET, Propriétaire at Hotel Jean Moet, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2011
Google Translation

cher (e) JPSRWW
Nous tenons à vous remercier d’avoir pris le temps de nous faire part de vos impressions suite à votre récent séjour à l’Hôtel Jean Moet,
J'ai pris bonne note concernant les désagréments qui ont contrarié votre séjour et vous présente à ce titre mes plus sincères excuses.
RAS
Très sincèrement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 4 nights. As part of this time fell on the weekend the Jean Moet was close to full when I booked so, on the last night we had to move. This meant we had 3 nights in a Mathusalem room and 1 night in a Jeroboam room. The difference is huge.

The Mathusalem room was quite spacious, with a comfortable bed, tv with several English channels, in room safe, wardrobe, a bathroom with separate bath and an 8 jet shower that was amazing. There is no cupboard or storage space in the bathroom however, so toileteries bags sat on the edge of the bath which was not a problem. A desk and chair and separate toilet complete the lovely room. Except that we could hear the guests in the room above stomping around, the room was quiet with windows opening to a space between the hotel and the apartments next door.

Our last night in the Jeroboam room was quiet different. An attic style room with sloped ceilings in the living area/bedroom and bathroom. The shower is over the bath, with no curtain or screen so water covers the floor. The toilet was in the bathroom. There is little storage space except for a cupboard and walking anywhere but in the door or around the bed required crouching, and I am not that tall! The bed was comfortable and the room quiet, there was a safe in the room and a small desk however we could not find an English channel on the tv.

Overall the hotel is wonderful. Less than 10 minutes walk from the train station and
less than 5 minutes to some wonderful restaurants. The Avenue De Champagne is around the corner where the champagne houses line the street.

Staff are extremely friendly and speak great English. Breakfast is great with eggs, ham, cereal, breads, pastries, juice, etc all on offer. Eventhough there are café’s and bistro’s nearby, the breakfast is well worth the 12 Euros.

Would certainly stay there again and for just one night the Jeroboam room was fine, but for more than a night, be sure to pay a little extra for one of the other style of rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SAM585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEANMOET, Propriétaire at Hotel Jean Moet, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2011
Google Translation

cher (e) sam585

Nous tenons vivement à vous remercier d’avoir pris le temps de nous faire part de vos impressions suite à votre récent séjour à l’Hôtel Jean Moet.
J'espère avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau dans un futur proche .
Sincères salutations,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

This hotel has recently been refurbished and is perfectly located if you are planning to organise some cellar visits (200m from Moet et Chandon...). The staff is really welcoming and genuinely helpful. The bar aread attached to the hotel is also a great experience if you want to sample some less famous champagne from smaller producers, to buy or to drink on site. Apart from the noisy Dutch people who stayed there at the same time, we can not find one thing negative about this hotel...Place of hoice for Epernay

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Froggylondon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEANMOET, Propriétaire at Hotel Jean Moet, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2011
Google Translation

cher (e) Froggylo

Un grand merci pour vos chaleureux commentaires, nous ne manqueront pas de les transmettre à nos collaborateurs.
J'espère que nous aurons le plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau à L'Hôtel Jean Moet.
Meilleures salutations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

HJM is perfectly located just around the corner from the Avenue Champagne. No private parking so other use the metered parking outside, the car park close by or free parking around the corner near the cinema. The entrance is suitably exclusive with wrought iron gates. Receptionists are all very charming and helpful and make you feel very welcome. Our room was one of the less expensive on the third floor. Room 11 was our first try but the
lock needed fixing so we were moved to Room 12 which had a much bigger queen sized bed. These rooms are in the attic so if you aren't beam aware wear a crash helmet as you are sure to hit your head! The room was really nicely furnished, cosy, quiet and extremely comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and the service was excellent. Boutique, clubby and a little bit special.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yungkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEANMOET, Propriétaire at Hotel Jean Moet, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2011
Google Translation

cher (e) yungkara

Nous vous remercions de votre commentaire encourageant.
J'espère que nous aurons le plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau à L'Hôtel Jean Moet.
Meilleures salutations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epernay
0.8 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
1,213 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Villa Saint Pierre
La Villa Saint Pierre
#6 of 14 in Epernay
345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Epernay
Premiere Classe Epernay
#3 of 14 in Epernay
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jean Moet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jean Moet

Address: 7 rue Jean Moet, 51200, Epernay, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range: £151 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jean Moet 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Jean Moet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing